We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, that is why you stay here” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Nashville Downtown

Save Saved
You added Hilton Nashville Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Nashville Downtown
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   121 4th Ave S, Nashville, TN 37201   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 150 hotels in Nashville
Georgia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Perfect location, that is why you stay here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

Picked hotel for closeness to Bridgestone Arena & walkable to Broadway. It's nice, good service, it's not a ritz Carlton but it's perfectly fine. Very spacious & comfortable rooms. One odd observation: in the lobby breakfast restaurant where the buffet is, the yellow chairs are DISGUSTINGLy FILTHY. Completely skeeved me out and chose to order room service next morning bc there was no way I'd sit in those yucky chairs again.
Lobby atrium is open & beautiful...but those chairs...blech!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

808 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    349
    276
    109
    46
    28
See reviews for
136
187
32
226
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

What an inappropriate wedding vendor! Everything was all smiles and collaboration when we first signed up to have our wedding at the Hilton Hotel in downtown Nashville. But once they got our deposit, things took a turn for the worst!

First let me note that I am not even fully explaining my experience since the Hilton had their lawyer call me about my original post on this site.

To start, they screwed up a ton of stuff, the biggest mistake being serving the wrong entree at dinner! They showed us this delicious almond and panko encrusted chicken breast with a fantastic sauce, served with a cute arrangement of carrots and asparagus wrapped together in spinach leaf. We had never tasted anything so good in our lives! Even our planner was raving about it. We bragged about this amazing chicken dish to all of our friends. What was served at dinner? a bone-in quarter of a very bland chicken with some kind of glaze and pecans on it and a miscellaneous assortment of vegetables without any arrangement. Nothing like the description on the menus. So embarrassing! When we complained about it the manager of the hotel told us (I kid you not!) that the bland chicken served at dinner was correct and they just accidentally served us the wrong entree at the tasting. He then informed me that I should have known that the chicken they showed us at the tasting was not what they were planning on serving. They couldn't even admit to their mistake!

What's worse is that the catering staff continually tried to trick us into paying more for things. They increased the price for everything from the drinks to the entrees, to even doubling the price of dessert. Then the catering manager demanded we prove they had promised us different prices. We had to show them their own contract and individually point out the pricing before the catering manager agreed to use the correct prices. The next round of bills we received only had some items changed, as if we wouldn't notice that they didn’t touch half of the pricing, and we had to go through the hoops all over again at least TWO more times before they finally got the bills straight. They tried to charge us for things that were specifically included as free in the contract. They offered us freebees and then changed their mind (e.g. free gift bag delivery). It was like trying to negotiate with a used car dealer. And just wait until you see the final bills. In addition to charging us for 10.5 alcoholic drinks per person, they charged us for things like bartenders when the contract specifically included these services.

The whole experience was just horrific. We couldn't believe what was happening. Luckily we made the best of it and the rest of our vendors were so awesome that we still had a good wedding, but with so many hotel choices downtown, there is just no reason to put yourself through the trauma of trying to have an event at the Hilton.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rwvw415, General Manager at Hilton Nashville Downtown, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Caitlyn D–

Based on the mutually agreed upon settlement that we made with you and your husband, we felt that this matter was resolved so I’m surprised that you have decided to criticize us so harshly on a public forum. The Hilton Nashville Downtown has hosted high-end weddings and events for 10+ years, and we consistently receive accolades from brides, families and attendees regarding our venue and our professional staff. Our events are usually flawless, but I admit that a mistake was made with your entrée during the taste testing and was different than what a portion of your guests received at the dinner. We reduced your bill based on a mutual agreement that was proposed by your husband .You and your husband seemed satisfied with that resolution based on your correspondence.

Although we acknowledge that your entrée was not as expected, this did not happen intentionally. We take offense to the other inaccurate assertions, Your recollection of the billing/negotiation process differs greatly from ours. We upheld every pricing assurance that was made to you. Our professional and experienced staff cares about our guests and works tirelessly to ensure their events are executed perfectly. Our stellar reputation is important to us and we have never padded our guests’ bar bills or added hidden fees to our guest bills. If you would like to continue this discussion further I would be happy to speak with you and your husband again.

Thanks Ray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

The hotel offered a great location to the downtown area of restaurants and bars. The breakfast was very nice in the morning, but about $18 per person. My only warning is that you may need to consider a room away from the main street, as the bars and music go late into the night and you can hear the music and banter extremely well. Overall, I would stay here again with no hesitations.

Room Tip: Tip noted above...you will be awake with the late night bar patrons if you choose a room on the main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

I work for a different hotel, and am constantly shipping packages around the country for my managers and the various trade-shows/events they attend. These packages are essential to the success of their trade-show and directly affect the amount of business they can secure while on the road (ie: their bonus).

A Manager was staying at the Hilton Nashville Downtown last night, and her package was to arrive yesterday. It didn't. Then it was to arrive this morning, but didn't. She couldn't wait any longer as the trade-show was to begin at noon. I received a frantic call from her, desperately looking for a solution. I called the operator and asked if there was a courier service, or any way to re-route the package and bill our company for the extra shipping cost. I was put into contact with Terry, in the security department.

I explained the situation to him... AND HE HANDLED IT!!

I mean he gave me a cell phone number, contacted my manager at the trade show, notified me the moment the package arrived at the hotel (actually called me when he was already in the car driving 30 minutes away to deliver it !!!!!!), met her in the lobby, and he did it all for free. Never once acknowledged my attempts to compensate his effort. He was polite, charming and professional. To work in the hospitality field, and be WOWED like this is not easy. The service was above and beyond what I could have ever imagined. Thank you Terry, you saved my A** and were the reason the trade-show was a success!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

The hotel was fair- the room we stayed in had not been properly cleaned. They did send someone up to fix the room after we complained. I was warned that the hotel was not great and I should have listened to the advice. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rwvw415, General Manager at Hilton Nashville Downtown, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Hilton Nashville Downtown. I am disappointed to hear that you were not satisfied with the cleanliness of your room. I assure you that we take great measures to insure that our rooms are spotless for our guests. In fact, we were recently recognized by Hilton Corporate for our consecutive stellar inspection scores. We also consistently receive high marks on guest surveys regarding the cleanliness of our rooms. I am not sure what your specific issues were but would welcome an opportunity to hear what they were so I can address them with my staff. Thank you again for sharing your thoughts.

Ray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We love staying at the Hilton in Nashville TN. It is within walking distance of the tourist area Broadway where all the honky tonks and live music plays in every bar. The sports bar is also very good to watch games in and have some decent food.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012 via mobile

Whether you are in Nashville for a hockey game, a football game, or just to visit the honkey tonks, this is the perfect location! We have stays in a queen room with a view of the Country Music Hall of Fame and once in an indoor king suite and both are nice. Reminds me of an Embassy Suites. Again, you are paying for location!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Nashville Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Nashville Downtown

Address: 121 4th Ave S, Nashville, TN 37201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Nashville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Nashville
#19 Romantic Hotel in Nashville
#23 Business Hotel in Nashville
#24 Family Hotel in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Nashville Downtown 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Nashville Downtown, a AAA Four Diamond hotel nestled in the heart of Music City emerges from a multi-million dollar re-invention. The only all-suites full service luxury hotel in downtown Nashville unveils chic and modern upgrades to all 330 suites, fitness center, grand ballroom, meeting rooms, atrium lobby and introduces a landmark executive lounge. Find yourself within steps of the Music City Center, Country Music Hall of Fame, Bridgestone Arena and the world famous entertainment district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hilton Nashville Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Nashville Downtown Hotel Nashville
Downtown Nashville Hilton
Nashville Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Nashville Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.