We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay in a Music City” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hutton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hutton Hotel to your Saves list
Hutton Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1808 West End, Nashville, TN 37203   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay More, Pay Less!
Ranked #8 of 149 Hotels in Nashville
Oxford, Mississippi
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay in a Music City”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

Checked into the Hutton Hotel for a one night stay and found it to be well located to downtown, comfortable rooms and wonderful SOUTHERN HOSPITALITY! Warm welcome upon arrival, great valet service, and warm reception by all staff members. Room was clean, comfortable and quiet! Check out was simple and value for room was reasonable! Enjoy!

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPANashville, General Manager at Hutton Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Hutton with us and your kind review. We do pride ourselves at having a great friendly team at the Hutton that provide our guests with southern hospitality. I’m glad to hear you have a smooth overall stay and I will pass this information along to our staff and managers.

We look forward to having you back with us on your next visit to Music City!

Warm Regard,
Steven Andre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,071 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    707
    255
    57
    34
    18
See reviews for
144
400
64
279
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Stayed here on business working a Vanderbilt football game. Very good service from the front desk to the parking attendants. Very nice bar and restaurant. Actually had a Precor eliptical to work out on in my own room. Don't valet park, I think it was around $25 a day which is outrageous. It's not a long walk if you self park. Every kind of food is available within walking distance.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPANashville, General Manager at Hutton Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. I am glad to hear you enjoyed staying in one of our Cardio King rooms which have a Pre-Cor Elliptical Machine as well as a yoga mat and adjustable free-weights. Unfortunately our parking garage is managed by a third party and we do not have control over the prices. Self Park is $22.00, per day plus tax and valet is $28.00, per day plus tax.

It sounds like you had an overall great experience in 1808 Grille and the Hutton. We look forward to having you back with us on your next visit to Music City.

Bests,

Steven Andre
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Traveled to Nashville for a weekend with friends and the Hutton was a great choice. Surprisingly reasonable rates to upgrade to a suite with sitting area and desk space, which was well worth it. Modern rooms, very comfortable beds, and very friendly staff. Not downtown, the hotel is closer to Vanderbilt, but they also have a free shuttle within 3 miles which was great for dinner and shopping in "the Gulch."

Service was very good in the bar - as someone else mentioned they offered tastes of wine if you weren't sure - and late night room service was super fast. Fancy free coffee machine just down the hall was a nice touch.

Only thing I'd change on the room is to add a bathtub. Although the shower was spacious with an oversized shower head.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPANashville, General Manager at Hutton Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Hutton. Nashville is always a great place to escape to with friends! I’m glad you were happy with our friendly staff. The shuttle is a great amenity of the hotel and we certainly want our guests to utilize it as well as our Nespresso machines on each floor. Our restaurant, the 1808 Grille, has a fabulous wine selection and we also have complimentary wine hour Monday through Friday from 5:00pm to 6:00pm.

The majority of our rooms do have the rainfall showerheads but we do have a few rooms that have bathtubs. If you would like a tub next time when making a reservation please inform the reservation agent and if we have availability we would be happy to accommodate your request. Overall I am glad to hear you and your friends enjoyed your trip. We look forward to having you back with up on your next visit!

Bests,

Steven Andre
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willimantic, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

The Hutton is in a great location - about a 15 minute walk to Vanderbilt University in one direction, and another 15 minute walk to music row in the other direction. The hotel itself is gorgeous, the rooms are a good size and the bathrooms are spacious as well.
The shower was the best part - the shower head is oversized, and right in the center of the ceiling of the shower. This makes it so easy for 2 to shower at once without either people ever having to stand out in the cold, away from the water stream.
Turndown service was a nice surprise - they give you a complimentary water bottle and a chocolate every night around 9pm.
The staff was incredibly friendly (though I found the staff at every establishment I visited in Nashville to be incredibly friendly, so this is probably a Southern thing). If you get caught in an elevator with a staff person (they are kept very busy and are hard workers!) they will strike up a conversation with you. We found out everything we needed to find out about getting to tourist-type areas from a nice bellhop.
We were there for a conference, and the meeting rooms (though some were too small) were very nice and had comfortable chairs. The food was absolutely wonderful, and the buffets had plenty of vegetarian options.
One minor complaint - wifi was free, but in order to get faster service you had to pay a fee. This was no problem for checking emails, but if I had wanted to stream a video from netflix it would have been impossible without paying extra.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPANashville, General Manager at Hutton Hotel, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Hutton with us. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us! We do pride ourselves at having a great friendly team at the Hutton and I will certainly share your comments with them. They greatly appreciate hearing from guests who enjoyed their stay. Our rainfall showerheads are one of our guest’s favorite features of the hotel.
We do charge $9.95 for 24 hours of high-speed internet service because connectivity is very important to our guests and we want to ensure they are able to stay connected.

We look forward to having you back with us on your next visit to Music City.

Best Regards,
Steven Andre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermitage, Tennessee
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

This hotel is exceptional all around..from personalized service, to atmosphere, to amenities. A real boutique hotel in the mid town area of Nashville.Please note that The Hutton is NOT located in the heart of all the honky-tonks. It is a quick cab ride however to many Nashville areas including theGulch area as well as 'lower broad'.
Nashville is hilly so if you plan on walking from hotel anywhere, bring dependable walking shoes. The bar off the lobby has a cool vibe and very comfortable seating is everywhere in the lobby area. I would recommend this hotel for a truly romantic getaway, girl's trip or business.
Will return!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPANashville, General Manager at Hutton Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Thank you for your king review. I am delighted to hear enjoyed the modern design and atmosphere. Since we are located a little over a mile from the “heart of the honky-tonks” our valet staff is always willing to fetch a cap for you or we have our complimentary shuttle service which runs daily from 7:00am-10:30pm. Again, I am very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you come back on your next visit to Nashville!

Warmest Regards,
Steven Andre
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

Southern hospitality is wonderfully evidenced at the Hutton, where my family and I stayed for business. The Hutton has raised my standard for check in service by offering a warm and open welcome standing beside desks and hidden computer monitors - not behind them. This was matched by special assignment to the topmost 15th floor (in a double room) to enjoy the Nashville skyline, as this was our first visit. By being so high up, our view cleared the construction next door, though not necessarily the noise. We always travel with ear plugs though, which definitely helped with loud closing doors and hallway chatter in the late evenings and early mornings.

Odd to say, but enjoyable and roomy bathroom! The glass vanity, wall-mounted fixtures, square toilet, strong ceiling shower head and bathroom ceiling speaker (to the TV) were all firsts for us, too. We felt lavishly treated by details not typically practical in everyday homes.

Travelling in February, I personally enjoyed the illusion of rose petals falling on the bed, the convenience of a shared red pendant lamp for turn down evenings, and though unrelated, easily accessible free wifi. Our safe was broken (didn't need), and the snacks/ drinks were not on annoying sensors (also didn't need) but under lock and key. Thank you for the long shoe horn in (our kid uses one all the time at home) and the large golf umbrella in the closet. Again, thoughtful details! We also took the new slippers we used home - just as you reminded us to do at check in!

All meals - room service, restaurant service, conference banquet service - were all prompt and tastefully prepared and displayed. I appreciated being given a taste of the wine ordered before pouring - whether room service or restaurant service. Also very thoughtful was the 24-hour coffee Nespresso machine just a few doors down with organic syrups in three flavors, appeasing various coffee preferences within one family.

As a site for business travel, the lay out of the hotel is confusing - and even partly outdoors with light snow outside. So, if you're dressed in a light sweater, presumably to prepare for occasional fluctuations in indoor temps, you're absolutely not prepared to wait for elevators in freezing cold. No portable heaters?

Overall good stay for business, but excellent stay for a family traveling to Nashville for the first time. Sight seeing was easy, with cab rides less than $8 to downtown. Indeed, cabs were more reliable traveling in cold weather - with a cold kid - than the free hotel shuttle.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPANashville, General Manager at Hutton Hotel, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Thank you for the fabulous review and glad that you enjoyed your time with us! We strive to show true southern hospitality to all of our guests. We do pride ourselves at having a great friendly team at the Hutton and I will certainly share your comments with them.

Our rainfall showerheads, slippers, and the complimentary Nespresso machines are certainly one of the most popular features in the hotel. I will certainly pass along your comments to Chef Charles Phillips and Gary Crump the 1808 General Manager.

I do apologize you had issues with the layout of the hotel. I will address this issue with our maintenance department about potentially ordering better signage for directions and heaters.

We look forward to having you back with us on your next visit to Music City!!

Warmest Regards,
Steven Andre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coppersburg
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

Enjoyed a three night stay for business. Hotel staff was incredibly helpful and friendly, best I've seen in a long time. The rooms were a really nice size, beds were extremely comfortable. Room had a mini-fridge, coffee maker and nice desk. The bathroom was super nice, no tub and an awesome rainfall shower head. Everything was very clean and the bath products were really nice as well. I had a room that over looked the construction and while I was there there wasn't any noise going on, just a not so nice view, but that would be expected. The gym was a decent size, only two treadmills and two ellipticals, so if they are being used you're out of luck....a few bikes and a nice assortment of weight machines.....bottled water and apples available as well. I would stay here again for sure.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not overlooking the construction.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPANashville, General Manager at Hutton Hotel, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Hutton with us! I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I am very glad to hear that the Hutton team provided you with friendly helpful service.
The Molton Brown bath products are certainly one of my favorite amenities as well as the bathrooms. We do have a few rooms with tubs even though there are a limited number of them. Next time you come to stay with us and would like a room with a tub we would be happy to make that happen if we have those room types available.

Our fitness center is a great amenity of the hotel and we certainly want our guests to utilize it. The limited number of machines is an issue that has been brought up in the past and we are still in the process of addressing it.

Overall it sounds like you had a great experience with us and we look forward to having you back with us on your next trip to Music City.

Best,
Steven Andre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hutton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hutton Hotel

Address: 1808 West End, Nashville, TN 37203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Nashville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Nashville
#4 Business Hotel in Nashville
#5 Romantic Hotel in Nashville
#23 Family Hotel in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hutton Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A rising star on the Nashville hotel scene, experience the rise of a sophisticated and comfortable newcomer to Nashville, Tennessee - where four-star luxury as a Leading Hotel of the World adopts a stylish and accommodating new spirit. Centrally located to all of Nashville's attractions. Our hotel features custom designed furnishings, state-of-the-art technology, top-tier fitness center, and 24 hour room service. Experience our granite showers and plush bedding will add to your unique experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, LHW, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Amex, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hutton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hutton Hotel Nashville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hutton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.