We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small, musty, loud - massive disappointment” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hutton Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hutton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hutton Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1808 West End, Nashville, TN 37203   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay More, Pay Less!
Ranked #9 of 150 hotels in Nashville
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Small, musty, loud - massive disappointment”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Right now, it's 7:01 and I'm listening to the incessant pounding of heavy machinery outside my "floor to ceiling windows." Note: floor to ceiling windows mean nothing if they are looking out over a construction site. Moreover - I'd prefer no windows if it meant no noise and a peaceful sleep.

Aside from the construction, the rooms and service are a huge disappointment. How this hotel is rated so highly is beyond my comprehension.

Upon arrival, I checked in to room 723 - a suite - to find a small, bland room with a desk that was smaller than the coffee table. (I'm here to work - for 8 days - in a hotel where I can't work....). A barren 'front room' (read: tiny area with couch) and overlook of the construction was bad enough, but it was the smell from the shower that cemented my decision to get a new room. The smell was disgusting.

The service has been nominal. Not terrible, but certainly not what others have described. No welcome when we came back to hotel, no apologies about having to switch the room, no offer to help move our stuff from room to room. Maybe they are annoyed by the noise all day too and in bad moods? Who could blame them. Regardless - very disappointing.

Now I'm in room 611, and it's not much better. The 'front room' is nicer - a much bigger desk, a full length mirror, and a chair - more appropriate for the type of room (suite) and price than the last. The "floor to ceiling windows" in the front room look directly at a beige wall of the building next door, blocking any light. And the shower. Wow. Shower controls outside of the shower? So that when the water temperature fluctuates, you must... step outside of the shower to warm it up? And after your shower, instead of standing and drying off in the steam, you have to... open the door, let the air rush in, and turn off the shower? At LEAST the door should open in, but nope... it opens out. Huge disappointment.

The location is also super sketchy. I love to walk in the cities I visit, and I don't feel safe walking around this hotel at night. After a lovely dinner in Germantown I decided to take a nice long walk home, and once I neared the hotel, the vibe and the people changed. Next time I'll grab a cab.

I'm going to try to switch hotels, and I'll never come back here again. Save yourself the hassle and don't book here - and if you HAVE to stay here, certainly don't stay during the construction.

Room Tip: Stay away from the construction if you have to stay here! And ask for one of the 'better' su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,002 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    660
    243
    53
    30
    16
See reviews for
135
378
60
256
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Georgia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

From the entire staff to our room itself - The Hutton is simply: excellent. In town for a short business trip, our room was quiet, comfortable, large, well lit, cool and equipped with a shower I would like to have taken home as a souvenir! Everyone was pleasant and helpful as well as knowledgeable about Nashville and anything you might want to know. Food was excellent both in the restaurant for breakfast and room service for sandwiches (try the turkey melt!). The Hutton is now our go-to place in Nashville. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spottsville, Kentucky, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

This stay was for our anniverary and it was nice.Parking cost money,but it sure was nice I loved the shower it was a rain shower didnt care for the see threw glass.The bed was nice but room was small and it had a snack bar and that was expensive.They had a restaurant on site,but we went to a steakhouse.the service was good but they was very busy.We didnt stay long due to a doctor appt.The staff did print out a map of different attraction.

Room Tip: parking was crazy and back-up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

My partner and I stayed 2 nights at the Hutton Hotel in April 2013 for the St. Jude Country Music Marathon. We picked it mostly because of it’s location to the starting line and high reviews / ranking on Trip Advisor.

The outside of the hotel is nothing to write home about – in fact it is pretty non-descript. Actually it does not fit the image of the hotel at all (once inside it is like a boutique hotel vibe). But, the cool thing is you can see the hotel when driving down Broadway / West End Avenue from Downtown Nashville – HUTTON is lit up on the tallest building in the immediate area. The location of the hotel I thought was awesome. I did not want to say downtown or on Music Row, I wanted to be near the starting line of the marathon and in a less ‘crazy’ area. Some people complain about the location, but I think that is still very close to downtown (like 13 blocks) and there are lots of good restaurants within walking distance of the hotel (Hattie B’s, The Tavern Midtown, Amerigo, and more). In fact, except for one meal, we walked to each restaurant from our hotel. Plenty of good eats in the immediate area! If you are concerned about going downtown - there is a shuttle which will take you downtown. We did not use this service as we had our own car and just drove as it was not far and we could find cheap parking.

From check in to check out – the service at this hotel was excellent. I have not once single complaint in that department and thank everyone at the hotel for providing such great customer service. As the marathon is a big draw in the area, the hotel even operated special hours for their room service, restaurant, and market place. Very much appreciated – especially when I am tired at 5 in the morning and need something on the go! The room itself was nice. Clean modern design, well-kept and cared for. The bathroom was pretty cool and modern – we loved the large walk in shower and the fact that there were speakers in the bathroom so you can hear what is on TV playing in the main room. Nice touch.

I did see the construction people are complaining about from our room, but I guess as it was the weekend, I did not hear it. Based on my experience, I would absolutely recommend this hotel to anyone considering staying in the area. If you want to stumble to and from bars on Music row – this might not be the spot for you as it would be too far walk. But if you want to be close to action but a bit removed – I could not recommend this hotel enough. Nicely appointed, clean rooms, surrounded by YUMMY restaurants, and a super friendly staff – what is not to like? Give the Hutton Hotel a chance!

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor facing downtown - some complain of construction noise but I did not have that p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

The Hutton Hotel was a great location for my first visit to Nashville. Location is a short cab ride or good walk (roughly 2 miles, up hill on the return) from Downtown and all its country music fun. Very convenient to hipper, more chilled-out midtown scene, including several bars and some great local favorites for food - Hattie B's being a must visit for Hot Chicken. Room was pleasant, reasonable size with good amenities and a great bed. Technology a little underwhelming, particularly music device connectivity. Service was outstanding, friendly and attentive. An expensive place in all, but probably worth the price. Visited for CMA Music Fest 2013 with my wife.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Francisville, Louisiana
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

This small hotel was nicely appointed with a very helpful and friendly staff. It was clean and modern and I didn't even mind the all the "green" hype. Our room was cleaned every morning and tidied every evening with turn down service. The room service breakfast was tasty and the bar and restaurant were very good with interesting field to table foods. One of my favorite things was the shuttle that would bring you any where you wanted to go and pick you up. The only complaint I would have is the business service area. It is not private or comfortable. Outside of that, the 4 days we stayed were a wonderful experience, and I would love to go back any time.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

My daughter and I were there for the CMA fan fest and the hotel was sold out. Nonetheless the staff was super. Each staff member was engaging , friendly and helpful. We own hotels as well and we strive to have our staff do as well as these folks.. Great job! We would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hutton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hutton Hotel

Address: 1808 West End, Nashville, TN 37203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Nashville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Nashville
#4 Luxury Hotel in Nashville
#5 Romantic Hotel in Nashville
#21 Family Hotel in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hutton Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A rising star on the Nashville hotel scene, experience the rise of a sophisticated and comfortable newcomer to Nashville, Tennessee - where four-star luxury as a Leading Hotel of the World adopts a stylish and accommodating new spirit. Centrally located to all of Nashville's attractions. Our hotel features custom designed furnishings, state-of-the-art technology, top-tier fitness center, and 24 hour room service. Experience our granite showers and plush bedding will add to your unique experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Jetsetter, LHW, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Reservation Counter, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hutton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hutton Hotel Nashville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hutton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.