We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff is great, General Manager and Accounting Department NOT SO MUCH!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hutton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hutton Hotel to your Saves list
Hutton Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1808 West End Ave, Nashville, TN 37203   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 152 Hotels in Nashville
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Staff is great, General Manager and Accounting Department NOT SO MUCH!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Stayed at the hotel for three days and I have to say first and foremost, that the entire staff; valet, front desk, bellhops, and coffee shop are the most courteous and professional individuals. The rooms are spacious and clean; housekeeping does a great job. The rooms are eco-friendly meaning you need to keep the room key in a slot by the door in order to turn on lights. In my opinion, this can be annoying at times unless you requested two keys at check in.

A red flag arose the day before I was to check in from the Accounting Department called and indicated that the online reservation system does not always retain the full credit card number and since I was staying marathon weekend, the hotel will charge one night's stay. The employee requested I give her my credit card number over the phone and reluctantly I did so.

I requested a copy of bill at check out and thought everything was fine. Unfortunately, I checked my credit card statement a few days later and found that two charges were imposed and an extra $300 charge was assessed. After speaking to the Accounting Department, I was told that my credit card was charged for one night's stay OF ANOTHER GUEST! I requested to speak to the General Manager (Steven) and he certainly did not display the, shall we say, Southern hospitality in our conversation. He advised me that the person that called me the day before and requested my credit card number was disclipined. Huh? Management 101 would say the buck stops with you as GM and to not throw your employees under the bus. Secondly, he was at a loss to explain why someone else's room charges were put on my card. Lastly, I requested a receipt reflecting the credit card reversal emailed to me. Nice to see that they emailed me the bill of the person who my card was charged so now I have his name and address information!

I will say that the back office personnel, including the GM should probably allow his front line staff to train them on what true customer service is all about.

For those that do book here, check your credit card statements a few days after you check out!

Unfortunately I will not stay here again. Too many options in Nashville to deal with this nonsense again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    832
    296
    70
    35
    21
See reviews for
165
470
67
331
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
houston, tx
Level Contributor
72 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed here a couple times recently, and it has become our favorite hotel in Nashville. On one visit our suite was complimentary upgraded to a fabo penthouse suite at no extra charge. The staff are very accommodating, the restaurant is really good, room service breakfasrt is delicious, and while I rarely eat potatoes, the breakfast potatoes are worth the calories, brown, crispy, yumm. So far each of our rooms has been quiet.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Level Contributor
159 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

This hotel is very nice and the staff is great. The rooms are a little tight but still OK. The bed was comfortable and the large TV offered lots of channels. The desk had lots of space to work. The bathroom was very nice and fairly spacious. The shower was excellent with a large rain head and a large frosted glass window. The air conditioner worked great and kept the room comfortable. The hotel is located a bit of a ways away from the bars on Broadway in downtown Nashville, but there are plenty of bars and restaurants in the area of the hotel too. The hotel does offer shuttle rides to the downtown area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

First stay with Hutton Hotel in Nashville, was there for my first Rock and Roll Marathon and was very happy with our stay. The room was ready ahead of time, great bed/shower was amazing.
Bar/restaurant was fun and food and drink very good. I'd say the best part about this stay was the staff, so friendly and were willing to go out of there way, to make sure we were happy. Would stay again, and will recommend as well.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana Point, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed at the Hutton for a weekend getaway from Southern California. We stayed at the hotel for three nights. The hotel was having their nightly wine hour when we arrived (complimentary wine Monday through Friday). The hotel is centrally located, but if you were to go out of walking distance, there is a nice house car that will take you to your location. The house car was available for us every time we called. The concierge, Laura, was amazing. She took so much time with us to recommend restaurants, activities, etc. The rooms are nice, but on the smaller side. Although the rooms are smaller, the bathrooms are a great size and very well done, including a great rain shower. I would not hesitate to stay at the Hutton again. Great hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

The shower leaked at 3am- It took me 20 minutes to solve it. CBS was not available on TV-all other stations were ok. The shower controls are outside the shower and behind the door to the shower. This is very inconvenient.Not granted it is a cool and fancy shower with an overhead Kohler square head.

I had to wait 5 minutes to check in while the check in person was on the phone. I had a 3 hour layover and hated to wait while she was helping a guest with something that seemed trivial vs my arrival.

Glass shards on the 12 floor landing by elevator. I was greeted as welcome back but it was my first stay. I was not informed of my Leaders club free dining. When i brought this up i had to ask for them to comp my in room dining lunch--which they did.

The hotel is beautiful and the rooms luxurious. There is a construction project right next door whihc di dnot disturb us but we were there on a weekend so be forewarned.

Self park is $22/day i think and valet is $26.

The room service was good and food excellent.

Most all of the staff were very nice and hellpful

Room Tip: Room on south side will avoid construction
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon Valley, Pa.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I spent four nights at the Hutton. Beds were very comfortable. Loved the toiletries. Most of the staff went out of their way to help us, make sure we had everything we needed, etc. 1808 Grille was very good. Hotel is in a great location. Easy walk to downtown and nearby restaurants.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nashville hotels
Downtown Nashville
Omni Nashville Hotel
Omni Nashville Hotel
#3 of 152 in Nashville
4.5 of 5 stars 2,868 reviews
Downtown Nashville
Hotel Indigo Nashville
Hotel Indigo Nashville
#33 of 152 in Nashville
4.0 of 5 stars 640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Nashville
Sheraton Nashville Downtown Hotel
Loews Vanderbilt Hotel
#13 of 152 in Nashville
4.5 of 5 stars 751 reviews
Downtown Nashville
Renaissance Nashville Hotel
Renaissance Nashville Hotel
#15 of 152 in Nashville
4.0 of 5 stars 1,624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hutton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hutton Hotel

Address: 1808 West End Ave, Nashville, TN 37203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Nashville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Nashville
#5 Business Hotel in Nashville
#5 Luxury Hotel in Nashville
#17 Family Hotel in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hutton Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A rising star on the Nashville hotel scene, experience the rise of a sophisticated and comfortable newcomer to Nashville, Tennessee - where four-star luxury as a Leading Hotel of the World adopts a stylish and accommodating new spirit. Centrally located to all of Nashville's attractions. Our hotel features custom designed furnishings, state-of-the-art technology, top-tier fitness center, and 24 hour room service. Experience our granite showers and plush bedding will add to your unique experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hutton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hutton Hotel Nashville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hutton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.