We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High design, inhospitable penny-pinching style” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hutton Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hutton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Travelocity
and 12 more sites!
Hutton Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1808 West End, Nashville, TN 37203   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Best Hotels in Nashville!
Ranked #6 of 150 hotels in Nashville
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“High design, inhospitable penny-pinching style”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Apparently I’m the only person on earth who doesn’t like this hotel. Maybe I’m from the wrong demographic. It’s beautiful. It’s mean and smarmy. I believe “green” is an excuse for all sorts of anti-guest economies. Acoustics terrible—intense activity in hallway might as well be in your room. In-room eco-smart heater cycles on and off deafeningly unless you put it on some money-saving-for-the-hotel setting. Inadequate elevators for busy times. They charge for everything -- $5 to watch one episode of old tv show. Here is a petty but typical example of the nickel-and-diming economies that assault the guest at every point: In the very beautiful bathroom is a handsome Kleenex box and, next to it, a handsome matching box for cotton balls. At the bottom of the cotton ball box is a teeny plastic package with 3 cotton balls. Is this supposed to be greener than a boxful? Lovely toiletries and of course not in little ecologically incorrect little bottles, but in big bottles locked into holder in beautiful shower, but the PUMP MECHANISM WONT LET YOU GET MORE THAN A FEW MOLECULES OF SHAMPOO ETC. AT A TIME. The bathrobe is scratchy at the neck. In the lobby are two computers you can use but NO CHAIR, although the computers are at a height such that a chair is needed, so it hurts like torture to use for more than a minute or so. Although I love beautiful design, I hated the mean, hard-edged atmosphere of this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPANashville, General Manager at Hutton Hotel, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at the Hutton. We our very proud of our green initiatives and each one was designed to be green without detracting in any way from your stay. I am sorry you had issues with them and please be assured I will look into each one of them. Their should always be plenty of amenities in the rooms and the AC unit should not be cycling the way you described. We will also look at the pumps to ensure you are able to get plenty of product.

The computers in the lobby are meant for standing and we do have laptops for our guest if they do not wish to stand.

Please do let me know if you are traveling back to Music City and I am certain we have a nice quiet room that I am sure you will enjoy.

Best regards,
Steven Andre
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

913 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    610
    216
    47
    26
    14
See reviews for
120
348
57
234
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Blue Bell, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

I recently stayed at the Hutton Hotel in Nashville, TN. It's a lovely hotel but you will need a car or be prepared to take taxis everywhere - it is not too close to the "downtown" area and about a mile & 1/2 to the Vanderbilt campus. Although, it does seem to be close to the highway and easy & quick to get everywhere by vehicle. However, the hotel does offer a free shuttle, if that is available, just be sure to call & get on the list!

The best part (and MY favorite part) of The Hutton is the hotel bar! It had a lively crowd which was nice for an out-of -towner, but best of all was the amazing food. The burger was out of this world!!!

If you are looking for a hotel with a view, then this hotel probably isn't for you. But if you are looking for a comfortable & well appointed, centrally located hotel with friendly staff and great food, The Hutton is for you. Oh, I also saw some dogs in the elevators so it is apparently pet friendly, too. Glad that I stayed there.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Overall the Hutton is a nice hotel. The design is modern and nice. Most of the staff was extremely nice except the one tall woman who worked at the checkin was really rude to us. The other bad experience was we were startled awake when room service tried to come into our room around 10pm. It was scary because we were sleeping and we thought someone was breaking into our room. The food at the restaurant was fantastic. The location is good but not really in walking distance to major areas, so I would recommend renting a car or taking a lot of taxis

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Great option just a mile from Downtown Nashville. Tons to walk to. We walked to dinner and had a ton of options to choose from. Ended up at a great restaurant. Hotel sent a car to pick us up and provided great service!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

I surprised my husband with a night here for our anniversary. The room was nice but felt a little cramped. The bathroom and shower were great! I would highly recommend the 1808 grill. Food was wonderful. Very nice property but parking was expensive.

Room Tip: I would upgrade to a larger room next time instead of standard room. Parking garage is expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

When we walked into the Hutton's hotel, we could clearly hear construction noise. I was immediately worried, as I am a poor sleeper. However, we were upgraded to a room on the top floor, which was quiet and was literally awesome. The shower--rain forest head et al.--is as good as you can imagine. The hotel is in the West End, a shortish cab ride from Downtown. This might be a drawback for some visitors but for us it was perfect.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

I discovered the Hutton Hotel several years ago and it quickly became one of my favorite hotels. It is near the Vanderbilt campus and close to many good restaurants. It is an old remodeled building which is pretty non descript on the outside, but when you arrive you will find excellent service. The valet's who park your car are all very friendly and when you walk in the lobby is cool, funky in its own way. Very comfortable like an upscale living room. Wine hour at 5 pm is a good way to start the night sometimes before I even go to my room. The rooms are nicely appointed, spacious, comfortable. The bathroom could use a little more counter space, but the rain forest overhead shower is awesome. Towels are big and soft enough and the soaps, shampoos etc. a decent brand. WiFi is pretty easy to connect to in each room and there are plenty of electrical outlets so setting up for work is easy. Great place, great service. One of my favorite hotels.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hutton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hutton Hotel

Also Known As:
Hutton Hotel Nashville
Address: 1808 West End, Nashville, TN 37203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Nashville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Nashville
#4 Romantic Hotel in Nashville
#4 Business Hotel in Nashville
#19 Family Hotel in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hutton Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A rising star on the Nashville hotel scene, experience the rise of a sophisticated and comfortable newcomer to Nashville, Tennessee - where four-star luxury as a Leading Hotel of the World adopts a stylish and accommodating new spirit. Centrally located to all of Nashville's attractions. Our hotel features custom designed furnishings, state-of-the-art technology, top-tier fitness center, and 24 hour room service. Experience our granite showers and plush bedding will add to your unique experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, LHW, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Booking.com, Amex, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Otel, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Hutton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hutton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.