We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stick with the Thai!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thai Kitchen

Thai Kitchen
738 Thompson Ln, Nashville, TN 37204-3601
615-385-9854
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #903 of 1,724 Restaurants in Nashville
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
Dining options: Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Takeout
Lebanon, TN
1 review
“stick with the Thai!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

First, to avoid confusion -- Thai Kitchen is also known as Rice Bowl. Same place, two different names!

I've been eating here for more than 20 years. It's got WONDERFUL Thai food -- simple, freshly cooked, and FRESH ingredients. Do NOT bother with the "Chinese" selections, stick with the Thai dishes and the curries. Those little ladies standing at their woks know what they're doing!

This place is absolutely no frills -- no fancy decorations, no pretensions, no hiked up prices. Just great food!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    4
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nothing Fancy, but Good, Tasty Thai Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

I am fan of the Spicy Noodles with Tofu ... but then again the Lad Nar is also one of my favorites. I get take out at least once a week, and since in summer, when my herbs and peppers are blooming, I bring bags of basil, mint and peppers ... and the cooks take care of me :)

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russellville, Alabama
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Not bad...not great...but ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

The restaurant is located near the highway and easy to find if you look. The restaurant is in a store-front of a older building.The atmosphere is "functional." I did see many people of various ethnic backgrounds eating lunch there and this was encouraging. I ordered the "red curry" (curry chicken, vegetables, coconut milk). The curry was fresh and tasty but very tame. I have had much worse but I have also had better. I might be willing to give the place another shot but this experience was mediocre.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“I've loved this place for years”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Little hole in the wall place with great food and great prices. Not everything on the menu is spectacular, but once you find the dish you like, you'll be hooked. The same people have been working there for years, and consistency is one of their strong suits. The name is a bit misleading, though, as it's not really really a Thai restaurant, but they do have plenty of Thai dishes. Great casual place. Love it.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best Thai I have had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

This is the best Thai restaurants I have eaten at to date. My daughter took us here 4 months ago and we now go 3-4 times a month. Small, family owned and family operated. Our favorites are the panang curry, red curry and green curry. Ask for the special hot sauce.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Kitchen also viewed

 
Nashville, TN
 

Been to Thai Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thai Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.