We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic and modern at the same time!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hermitage Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hermitage Hotel to your Saves list
Hermitage Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   231 Sixth Ave N, Nashville, TN 37219 (Downtown Nashville)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Celebrate Five More Stars
Ranked #2 of 152 Hotels in Nashville
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Historic and modern at the same time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2009

This is a fantastic historic hotel with all the charm and character I hoped for. The rooms are large with all the modern conveniences. The service was exceptional....from the valet to the concierge to the housekeeping staff. The attention to detail in the lobby and in the rooms in unparalled. I was carefully examining the paint in the room and I couldn't get over how meticulously maintained it was. The bed was simply put one of the most comfortable beds I've ever slept in. Very romantic atmosphere. Excellent bathroom with the one exception -- the floor would get soaking wet when I took a shower. I tried moving the shower head all the way over away from the door and it still happened. Maybe it was just my bathroom but given the beauty and splendor of everything else, it's hardly worth mentioning. I did not eat in the Captial Grille restaurant since it's a chain but it was nice knowing it was there if I needed it. Walking distance to 6th Street and other areas.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    925
    114
    26
    21
    17
See reviews for
190
476
38
179
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2009

If I could rate everything 10 stars I would. We were passing through Nashville on a cross country vacation and stayed here because of the reviews. The hotel also had a summer promotion special. We arrived late due to an interstate closure and the staff could not have been more helpful. Many times at 5 star hotels the staff is a little snobby but everyone we encountered was so friendly and helpful. Breakfast at the Capital grille was outstanding you must get the grits! Our waiter Heath was wonderful and even took us in to see "the most famous bathroom" in the restaurant. I wish we could have stayed longer. I will definitely return to the hotel-next time for more than one night! I almost forgot to mention, the room, beds and bathroom were outstanding!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, WA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2009

From start to finish, the Hermitage is exceptional in every manner. Hotel owners should travel to this hotel to witness excellence in customer service. Our expectations were exceeded at every turn. We will definitely come back and recommend this hotel to all of our friends.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ealing
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2009

This hotel is simply the best. read others reviews which are completely true.
The sheer friendliness and kindness seemed effortless for the staff, it was a completely genuine welcome.
We at first thought that this would be just simply be a "really nice stay",but everything was done to enable us to have maximum leisure time, this in turn meant that we had the energy to do a lot more than we would have done.
The valeting service was brilliant, the car was available on demand, I cannot overestimate how wonderful our stay was. Top tip,do rent a car some things were further out
All in all this was money very well spent as to recap, we managed to fit so much more into our stay.
valet and consierge gave out little cards with directions to popular attractions,they were great for giving ideas of places to go and restaurants.
hotel has silk dressing gowns,delicacies for bedtime,handwritten weather forecast on pillow,umbrellas and cold water on returning on hot days,complimentary homemade lemonade and cakes in afternoon........I could go on but..do yourself a favour and treat yourself

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ravens30319
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2009

Incredible Hotel - Great service / Amazing rooms. I've traveled quite frequently for business in the United States and throughout the world and I must say The Hermitage ranks at the top.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trezevant, TN
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2009

On a recent trip to Nashville to see James Taylor at TPAC we wanted something within walking distance of the venue. The lady at TPAC suggested the Hermitage, I'm so glad she did. What a beautiful, graceful hotel, from the front door to the room everything was gorgeous, the staff was very gracious, the rooms were wonderful (especially the flat screen TV in the bathroom). We had a beautiful view of War Memorial Plaza and the Capitol from our window. We have stayed in hotels all over Nashville and this was definitely the "best the south has to offer"! The Oak Bar was also a nice place to have drinks and an appetizer before the show. If you're looking for something with alot of ambiance, the Hermitage is the place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2009

Great hotel, wonderful service, definitely worthy of it's Mobil Five Star rating.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nashville hotels
Downtown Nashville
Omni Nashville Hotel
Omni Nashville Hotel
#3 of 152 in Nashville
4.5 of 5 stars 2,853 reviews
Hutton Hotel
#10 of 152 in Nashville
4.5 of 5 stars 1,253 reviews
Downtown Nashville
Renaissance Nashville Hotel
Renaissance Nashville Hotel
#16 of 152 in Nashville
4.0 of 5 stars 1,625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Nashville
Sheraton Nashville Downtown Hotel
Downtown Nashville
Hotel Indigo Nashville
Hotel Indigo Nashville
#33 of 152 in Nashville
4.0 of 5 stars 637 reviews
Downtown Nashville
Hyatt Place Nashville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermitage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermitage Hotel

Address: 231 Sixth Ave N, Nashville, TN 37219
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Nashville > Downtown Nashville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 152 Hotels in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hermitage Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 1910 The Hermitage Hotel is Tennessee's only Forbes Five Star and AAA Five Diamond Hotel. Reborn in 2003 The Hermitage Hotel is again a Sanctuary for travelers in the heart of Music City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hermitage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hermitage Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.