We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous hotel, stinky room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hermitage Hotel

Best prices from these 2 sites
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Hermitage Hotel to your Saves list
Hermitage Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   231 Sixth Ave N, Nashville, TN 37219 (Downtown Nashville)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 150 Hotels in Nashville
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Gorgeous hotel, stinky room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

My husband and I had an unexpected overnight stay at the Hermitage when our flight to Atlanta was re-routed due to weather. It was the highlight of our 10+ hour travel day and made our disturbed travel plans actually enjoyable. The lobby of the hotel is absolutely breathtaking and has a lovely fragrance, probably from all of the fresh cut flowers. The architecture and decor make it feel as if you are stepping back in time. The staff was very pleasant and we were thrilled to be able to book a room on such short notice. We enjoyed a late dinner at the Capitol Grille- delicious! I did have a couple issues with our room, however. The AC did not seem to work well and even with the fan on full blast and the thermostat set to 65 I never used the comforter. Also, I detected a faint odor of cigarette smoke. I'm sure they would have let us change rooms if we had complained, but after the horrendous day of travel we didn't want to bother with it. Overall I would probably stay here again, but I would request a room higher up (we were on the 2nd floor) with a view of the Capitol.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet K, Public Relations Manager at Hermitage Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Thank you so much for visiting us recently. So sorry to hear of your travels. Long days in airports with delays and cancellations can be beyond exhausting. Most visitors to this website can absolutely relate to those experiences. It can be stressful, emotional, and sometimes, a lot of work to get where we are going. We do appreciate you staying with us and are sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations of creating a sanctuary for you to rest after a long day of travel. Please know that we do take the environment of our rooms seriously and would have been happy to move your room. (Though I completely understand being exhausted after a long day.) We would be delighted to welcome you back on your next visit through Music City - on a higher floor, as reuested.

Warm Regards,
Janet Kurtz
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

933 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    788
    90
    20
    19
    16
See reviews for
166
396
32
148
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Perched above the Downtown area of Nashville, we found the Hermitage to be in a pretty good but not great location for our tourist visit. The hotel is of grand proportions, a lovely ornate olde-worldly lobby, and cute touches such as the fee cookies every afternoon. The room was spacious (the view atrocious, but you get what you pay for) and the bathroom was bigger than some hotel rooms we've stayed in.

All the staff on arrival were very helpful, doormen, front desk and concierge. We did get an unexpected visit from a maid without knocking when we arrived, luckily (for her) we were fully clad.

Had room service one night and it was fine. The breakfast was pretty average. Their signature-ish Tennessee Jack Egg Sandwich was egg on toast with no sign Jack and as for "sock sausage" it tasted like an ashtray, and an oily ashtray at that. Perhaps I don’t have the palate for smoked food like Tennesseeans. However, the worst thing about breakfast was the service. I travel a lot for work and so eat in a great many hotels for breakfast but I have never had to knock on the kitchen door to get the attention of a waiter.

Their daily parking charge is high considering there is a lot directly across the road which only charges $10 a day.

In summary, a nice property but not a great hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina del Rey, California
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

This was my second time staying at The Hermitage Hotel in Nashville, and it was as great of an experience as the first. The rooms are large, well appointed, and offer every type of modern convenience one would expect from a top city hotel. But where the Hermitage really stands out is in its service. This is the kind of service one generally expects from the South, but doesn't always get – gracious, casual, and eager to make your stay as good as possible. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet K, Public Relations Manager at Hermitage Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Thank you so much for visiting. We are thrilled to have such a great community of friends and fans who continue to visit each time they are in Music City. Hurry back and visit us soon!

Warm Regards,
Janet Kurtz
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

The Hermitage may be the most beautiful hotel I ever stayed in. The lobby and common rooms are magnificent. Our room was absolutely lovely - king bed, amazing bathroom, view of the capitol. Fresh-baked cookies and lemonade every afternoon in the lobby. And a couple of special little cookies left in the room in the evening. The service was amazing - the desk staff, David the concierge, all the guys in the front. And the location was perfect to walk to the district, the waterfront, the Frist visual arts museum. And last but not least - Keith Urban was walking in as we were getting our car to drive to the airport.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet K, Public Relations Manager at Hermitage Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Thank you so much for visiting us and for taking the time to write your great review. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your visit. Hurry back and visit us soon.

Warm Regards,
Janet Kurtz
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014 via mobile

This was a splurge, but we loved this hotel and the amazing service we received. We so enjoyed our room service breakfast and the individual pot of French press coffee, that we stayed in and ordered breakfast every day in our room. Luxurious!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet K, Public Relations Manager at Hermitage Hotel, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to visit and post about your stay. It was a pleasure having you visit. We love hearing the individual stories of our guests. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Janet Kurtz
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

From the minute we arrived at the front street level door two bell men came quickly to our car to handle our luggage, park our car, and told us to proceed to the registration desk in the upper lobby, AND WHAT A MAGNIFICENT LOBBY IT IS!!!!!!! It just took our breath away, again since this was our fifth stay return visit.
Our lovely suite was not ready and they suggested we go to the OAK BAR for a quick drink. Well, we had been to the OAK BAR before . It is a very attractive, comfortable setting for us to have our favorite drinks ; and, some outstanding food choices. I particularly like the hard boiled egg dishes. The special nuts were super. We were very comfortable and in no hurry for the bar experience to end. But, alas, our room was ready.
Two bellmen assisted us to our lovely corner room on the ninth floor. The room was very comfortable, impressive, with all the sitting area very nicely spaced.
The bathroom was large and spacious, with a neat large shower as well as a bath tub.
By all means, do not miss a dinner in their main dinning room. The selections were plenty; and, the wine list large and world wide. Service was a TEN!!!!

When in Nashville this has to be YOUR HOTEL!! OLD WORLD ELEGANT AND CHARM.

Room Tip: Top floors are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

My sister and I stayed here on a cross-country road trip, and had a marvelous experience! It's truly a 5-star experience. Concierge is attentive and more than happy to give recommendations, and the rooms are lovely and comfortable. We even got a complimentary bottle of champagne since we were celebrating my sister's admittance to law school! Location is ideal - a few blocks from Honky Tonk Row so you don't get any of the noise, but incredibly convenient to walk to/from for a night out. The hotel itself is gorgeous, and the fantastic staff makes it feel like a real treat. The only downside we found is you're required to pay for valet parking, but they let us keep our car there a bit longer the next day so we could spend a few hours exploring Nashville, which was much appreciated. Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hermitage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermitage Hotel

Address: 231 Sixth Ave N, Nashville, TN 37219
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Nashville > Downtown Nashville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 150 Hotels in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hermitage Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 1910 The Hermitage Hotel is Tennessee's only Forbes Five Star and AAA Five Diamond Hotel. Reborn in 2003 The Hermitage Hotel is again a Sanctuary for travelers in the heart of Music City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and T4B so you can book your Hermitage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hermitage Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.