We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic 5 star hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hermitage Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hermitage Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hermitage Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   231 Sixth Ave N, Nashville, TN 37219 (Downtown Nashville)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 150 hotels in Nashville
Central, NJ
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Classic 5 star hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Hermitage is a historic property in Nashville located within walking distance of most of the downtown sites and attractions. It is about a 15 minute drive from the airport. The hotel itself is meticulously maintained - from the beautiful lobby to hallways and the guest rooms. The staff is extremely gracious and responsive. Check in was quick, elevators were fast.

The furnishings are classic and understated, yet updated. The rooms are a very nice size with a king sized bed, nice natural light and plenty of lighting fixtures as well. The only comments I would make is that there could have been some more outlets placed near the bed and desk for charging electronic devices - and the climate control was almost completely silent. It kept the room perfectly comfortable, but I like a little 'white noise' from the fan, and that was not audible. Just a personal preference.

The bathroom was nicely updated with an excellent shower and a luxurious soaking tub. Molton Brown shampoos and lotions were a nice touch as well. Shower head and pressure were excellent as were other fixtures in the bath. Toilet has its own room within the bathroom. There is a flat screen TV in the bathroom as well for those who wish to soak in the tub and watch TV.

Did not try room service but did enjoy hotel catered meals at the business function I was attending and the food was very good.

All in all I would highly recommend the Hermitage as a place to stay on a visit to Nashville.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

882 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    746
    83
    18
    19
    16
See reviews for
152
375
32
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Weston, Connecticut, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The Hermitage Hotel is truly remarkable!! The 5 star and 5 diamond ratings are certainly correct - the hotel far surpassed our expectations. From the magnificent lobby, to the attentive and professional staff, to the luxuriously appointed rooms, The Hermitage is a first class hotel not to be reckoned with!! We felt so welcome every time we walked up to the hotel and were greeted by the helpful and charming bellmen. Just walking up the steps into the lobby made you feel like you were going back to another time. If you are visiting Nashville, you must stay at the Hermitage! We can't wait to go back again - it was so hard to leave!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mundelein, Illinois
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

My best friend and I we're here over the CMA Fan Fest. We made dinner reservations for Monday at 7:30pm. We were seated right away very nice table for 2 in the middle of the room but also out of the way nice and private. This is a very up scaled restaurant but I must say everyone makes you feel comfortable and just very friendly and NICE!! We enjoyed wine, dinner and a great desert everything was very very good and the presentation was beautiful. Must say William Jones was so nice made us feel very welcoming - because he thought our food was taking a little long and seeing this was our first time in Nashville he gave us another glass of wine what great customer service so thank you again William. Also Lori Gibson waited on us she was excellent explained all the items and how everything was prepared did a good job. This restaurant is beautiful, the food is great and the service is very good!!! Give the Capitol Grill 5stars. If your in Nashville I would defiantly stop you will ENJOY

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Went to see the famous "men's restroom". Staff could not have been more gracious or friendly. They were welcoming and gave us a "tour". Beautiful restoration and great location. Felt like stepping back in time to visit this amazing hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

This hotel is beautiful and perfectly located. The staff is fabulous and they think of everything. There were four of us ladies on a road trip of the south and this hotel was a highlight for sure. The architecture is breathtaking. I think I took twenty pictures of just the lobby. One of us was celebrating a birthday and they sent champagne to the room. There was turn down service consisting of delicious cookies. In the morning there was mini muffins and coffee in the lobby. Probably the nicest hotel I have ever stayed at.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We loved our stay last fall for our anniversary, all you would expect from a southern old school hotel, great location, attentive staff providing great service, great restaurant, and walking distance from Broadway honky tonks.

Concierge was able to recommend places to buy authentic cowboy boots, which we enjoyed exploring the city and surrounding area to check out each establishment.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manalapan, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Visited Nashville with my wife. Thus hotel is outstanding. From the valet to the fine dining at the Capitol Grille. Left a bag in my car after valeting. Called the front desk, ten minutes later the bag was brought up to my room. Through out the visit I was always referred to by my last name. We did have the deluxe suite which was beautifully beautifully appointed. If your budget allows, go for it. Slippers, robes, wonderful towels, two TV 's, a Bose radio, espresso machine, DVD player, umbrella, extra pillows, sofa, love seat, desk, bar, etc. all included. We spent very little time in the room , yet felt totally at home when there. The Oak bar is top shelf and the bartender a pro. 115 whiskeys available, and he was familiar with all of them. Perfectly made drinks. Dinner was quite and also perfect. This hotel was rated in 2014 by Forbes magazine as one on the finest hotels in the WORLD! Sit in the lobby for homemade lemonade or a cappuccino, take in the architecture. Later, walk out and enjoy Nashville ,,,,,,,a wonderful place!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hermitage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermitage Hotel

Address: 231 Sixth Ave N, Nashville, TN 37219
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Nashville > Downtown Nashville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 150 hotels in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hermitage Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 1910 The Hermitage Hotel is Tennessee's only Forbes Five Star and AAA Five Diamond Hotel. Reborn in 2003 The Hermitage Hotel is again a Sanctuary for travelers in the heart of Music City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Preferred Hotels, Otel and Travelocity so you can book your Hermitage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hermitage Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.