We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hermitage Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hermitage Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hermitage Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   231 Sixth Ave N, Nashville, TN 37219 (Downtown Nashville)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Pappy Van Winkle Dinner
Ranked #1 of 150 hotels in Nashville
ny
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“Wonderful!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

My sister and I just stayed at the Hermitage for three nights. It was wonderful! The hotel has a great location -close to the downtown area - near Broadway, the bars with live music, the Ryman, The CM Hall of Fame, etc. It is about a 10 minute walk downhill to this area (10 minutes uphill!) We reserved a 2-queen bedded room and were very pleased with the room's comfort and cleanliness. Room had great lighting (for readers), choice of pillows, a chair and couch, high quality linens, and all the fittings expected in a luxury hotel. Bathroom was very large with a deep soaker tub, marble and glass shower, Molton Brown products, and large, quality towels. This historic hotel has a gorgeous lobby (as one can see from the pics on TA) and beautiful basement restaurant and bar.
We reserved this hotel and took advantage of a great deal with AmEx Platinum. This deal included "free" breakfast each morning and a gift certificate to spend $100 on food/beverages at the hotel. Our three breakfasts were great (two in restaurant, one delivered to room that included gratuities and tray charge). We spent the $100 on drinks and bar food one evening and all was superb. There is also complimentary coffee/tea and mini muffins in the lobby in the am. They put out lemonade and cookies in the afternoon in the same spot. Hotel also has chilled water bottles as you exit or return from a walk, run or begin your day. We chose to valet park and it was $27 per day for unlimited in/out privileges, out of a garage. (There is a public lot across the street and I believe it was only $10 per day.)
BUT, the best part about this hotel for me, was the superb service. The front desk, concierge, valets, servers in the restaurant/bar, and especially the doormen went above and beyond. Every time we exited/entered the hotel we were always greeted by staff in a warm, friendly, and professional manner. Very well done!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

919 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    776
    89
    19
    19
    16
See reviews for
161
389
32
147
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Yatte Yattah, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

This is a magnificent hotel in an awesome location, easy walking distance to live music and restaurants. Our room was spacious, spotless and beautifully decorated. We had a meal in the hotel bar - delicious food, welcoming and gracious service. The staff at this hotel were all absolutely fantastic. They were full of information about what to do, where to go and what to eat. The doorman, Steve and the valet attendant were especially helpful. This was the first hotel of our three week American holiday and nowhere else came close. If you are in Nashville - stay here, you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

This is certainly a very nice, upscale hotel, especially if you like older, restored, historic properties.
Another plus is that it is relatively small (approx. 100 rooms), so you don't get the large tour group or convention crowd.

While we certainly enjoyed our stay here, there were a few minor service issues. Also, some of the furnishings (e.g., carpeting) are showing wear. The hotel is somewhat of a hike (downhill going, uphill returning) from many of the downtown attractions.

Overall, I would rate the Hermitage somewhere between 4 and 5 stars.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet K, Public Relations Manager at Hermitage Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Thank you so much for visiting us during your time in Nashville. We are disappointed to hear that your visit did not entirely meet your expectations. However, we are delighted that you did, overall, enjoy your visit. We will certainly be sharing the service issues you mentioned with the team so that we can address those immediately.

Again, thank you so much for visiting us and for your post. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Janet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ctyankee20
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Gracious property with large comfortable rooms, good service and central downtown location. The property is a traditional upscale hotel with less of the nightclub bar/restaurant in the lobby and hip/cool vibe of a newer hotel but does an great job of delivering a gracious and distinctly southern hotel experience.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view of the state capital building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

I have now stayed at the Hermitage 3 or 4 times, and each experience is truly spectacular. The service is top notch without being over the top. The food in the restaurant is great. And, most importantly, the rooms are wonderful. On the last point, the rooms are large and functional, with great bathrooms and insanely comfortable beds. Every room comes stocked with a selection of pillow types, including traditional down, memory foam and buckwheat. The downside of all of this is it will be hard to wake up in the morning!

I suppose if I were to nit pick, the gym could be a bit larger. But I'm stretching to find counterpoints to the overwhelming positives. I look forward to my next stay(s) at this fabulous hotel. One of these times I hope it's for more than just one night!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina, Usa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Our recent stay at the Hermitage was very enjoyable. The hotel staff could not have been more accommodating, although we did have a couple of issues with housekeeping in our room. It is truly a beautiful hotel with much history and is located very convenient to the center of Nashville making it possible to walk to many attractions.

Room Tip: I won this trip while at the Sanctuary in Kiawah Island; The room was comparable to a garden view a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

It's unanimous-my family would like to live at the Hermitage. This is the most beautiful, most luxurious, cleanest, friendliest hotel we've ever visited. The bathroom, with its soaking tub and separate shower was phenomenal, and the beds and linens were amazing. But the best part of the experience is the relaxed, gracious vibe and the helpful staff. We usually don't stay at places that are so posh, but the AAA weekday rate was very reasonable. A great value and an unforgettable stay!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hermitage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermitage Hotel

Address: 231 Sixth Ave N, Nashville, TN 37219
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Nashville > Downtown Nashville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 150 hotels in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hermitage Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 1910 The Hermitage Hotel is Tennessee's only Forbes Five Star and AAA Five Diamond Hotel. Reborn in 2003 The Hermitage Hotel is again a Sanctuary for travelers in the heart of Music City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Otel so you can book your Hermitage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hermitage Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.