We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in Nashville” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hermitage Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hermitage Hotel to your Saves list
Hermitage Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   231 Sixth Ave N, Nashville, TN 37219 (Downtown Nashville)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 152 Hotels in Nashville
Johnson City, Tennessee
Level Contributor
61 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Best hotel in Nashville”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

Hands down, best hotel. They upgraded our room for free because it was our wedding night, and the entire staff was excellent. When there was a small mix up with breakfast, not only did they immediately resolve the issue, but they went way above and beyond and gave us vouchers to return! Absolutely amazing!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    943
    117
    26
    22
    17
See reviews for
194
487
38
180
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Within walking distance of all in-town sites and locales, from the Ryman to the honky tonk bars to museums and plazas, the Hermitage has to be a top pick in Nashville. The service is great and the staff very pleasant and helpful. Rooms are quiet and very well maintained. Don't expect a modern or a slick decor--the rooms are spacious, cozy and beautifully done, if a bit like your grandmother's house. Extremely comfortable and clean, very unlike the closet of a hotel room I stayed at in New York City the previous week. The only weird thing is the emptiness of the street at night--Nashville is one of those cities that seems to be evacuated at 6PM, at least in the vicinity of the hotel. Also, across the street in the plaza there's a fair contingent of homeless that hang out. And one more thing--a very large hotel is in the process of being constructed but the noise seems to be insulated from the confines of the hotel (Nov. 2013) but my room was in the back so not sure how those facing the street fared. All in all treat yourself to this gem.

Room Tip: Am not certain if noise of large construction project on street side gets into those rooms, but just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Impeccable hotel. Located within minutes from Lower Broadway, it is the ideal hotel for a weekend trip to Nashville. 5 minute walk from the Ryman and 10 min to the Country Music Hall of Fame. The rooms are gorgeous and include Molton Brown products. Great service. Definitely a 5 star. Can't wait to go back! Oh, and breakfast at the Capitol Grill was always the perfect start to the morning!

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We loved our 2 nights at the Hermitage. It's a beautifully preserved hotel with a lot of character and a great location (can walk to everything downtown). We found the service top-notch with a very helpful concierge and overall friendly staff. It was fun to observe the wedding festivities happening the weekend we stayed. Our room was very spacious and the bathroom was large and updated. We loved the Oak Bar in the basement and would end our evenings there. Also had to check out the unique and famous mens bathroom next to the bar (ladies, you can knock before going in). Definitely worth the money!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

This is how I imagine mid century South to have been like. Hermitage Hotel is a mix of old classic details with modern amentities. You feel like royalty when you stay in one of these rooms. I actually bought the soap in the gift shop! I did not eat at the Capital Grille down below but we did stop by for the deviled eggs which did not disappoint. Everyone was so polite and helpful. I intend to send everyone I know there!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I have stayed at the Hermitage several times a year for the last several years and have yet to have anything less than a perfect experience. The accomdoations, service, and food are all as good as it gets.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, Maryland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We just returned from a long weekend in Nashville with two other couples. We liked the Hermitage alot, but felt it was slightly over-priced for what it was. The service was great, the hotel was very clean, and it is in a location that is convenient to anything you would want to do downtown. The food at the Capitol Grill was excellent (only had breakfast there) and the Oak Bar was fun, too. The bar probably has the most extensive selection of bourbons that I've ever seen. That all being said, by the time fees taxes etc were charges we were $500+/night. In my opinion it didn't quite live up to other hotels we've visited in that price range, but maybe that's just what Nashville costs.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nashville hotels
Downtown Nashville
Omni Nashville Hotel
Omni Nashville Hotel
#3 of 152 in Nashville
4.5 of 5 stars 3,004 reviews
Hutton Hotel
#10 of 152 in Nashville
4.5 of 5 stars 1,280 reviews
Downtown Nashville
Renaissance Nashville Hotel
Renaissance Nashville Hotel
#15 of 152 in Nashville
4.5 of 5 stars 1,662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Nashville
Sheraton Nashville Downtown Hotel
Hilton Nashville Downtown
#9 of 152 in Nashville
4.5 of 5 stars 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermitage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermitage Hotel

Address: 231 Sixth Ave N, Nashville, TN 37219
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Nashville > Downtown Nashville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 152 Hotels in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hermitage Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 1910 The Hermitage Hotel is Tennessee's only Forbes Five Star and AAA Five Diamond Hotel. Reborn in 2003 The Hermitage Hotel is again a Sanctuary for travelers in the heart of Music City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hermitage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hermitage Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.