We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cheap and cherfull” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hermitage Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hermitage Hotel to your Saves list
Hermitage Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   231 Sixth Ave N, Nashville, TN 37219 (Downtown Nashville)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Star Treatment Package
Ranked #2 of 151 Hotels in Nashville
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“cheap and cherfull”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

very very good hotel, hotel's value is excellent. there are very good good service..hotel's room is very nice and big and very clean.location is perfect..overall i just say is perfect... staff is very honest.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,025 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    859
    106
    22
    21
    17
See reviews for
175
440
33
169
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Huntsville, Alabama
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Very nice old designed hotel in exceptional condition and decor. Personnel are very friendly and helpful. We had a corner King Room which was large. One negative was the room lighting was poor...wife could hardly see the make-up mirror even with it lighted. Actually, the electrical system in general was poor as couple of wall outlets did not work making it necessary to move furniture to get phone chargers plugged up.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Very nice hotel, emphasis on nice, there are no t-shirts worn around this hotel. Beautiful hotel rooms and a great restaurant on the bottom floor. Great location; it is right in the heart of Nashville and you can walk just about everywhere from the hotel. Also great service, everyone is friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittston, PA
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

First trip to the 'Music City' as it is known. In town for an Iron Maiden concert at the Bridgestone Arena.

Booked the hotel thru AMEX Centurion Fine Hotels & Resorts.

My friend and I were upgraded to a Suite with 2 Queen Beds. The hotel was very easy to find, everyone was very pleasant, helpful and attentive. Doorman actually ran out and picked me up a late night pizza (3am). Valet was exceptional, car was always available immediately and everyone seemed to do everything that they could to make our stay memorable.

Maybe the most memorable part was running into Steven Tyler in the hotel restaurant for lunch, apparently he was there supporting his American Idol buddy Keith Urban and his album debut. Mr Tyler was extremely pleasant and funny to our party and the wait staff. We were the only 2 parties in the restaurant at that time.

The hotel is magnificent, truly remarkable. Really a southern Gem. Some of the architecture is out of this world, many touches that you just don't see at other "5 star" hotels.

Water pressure is awesome in the shower, met some people that raved about the spa and the in room bath butler, television in the bathroom and a private toilet room. Beds were ridiculously comfortable and the housekeeping was very thorough and attentive. Not sure what the white linen laid at the foot of the bed on the floor was about, but the fresh cookies and chocolates were divine.

I struggle to find any complaints but I have a few, that are really not a big deal at all. There were no outlets available anywhere near the desk, none for the computer or charging the phones. there was one "courtesy outlet available in the ipod charging clock, but other than that very few available throughout the room. THis could be easily remedied and honestly other than some iPods/ipads on the floor charging, was not really a big deal.

Concierge was excellent, bellman and valet, doorman all knew the city well. Most guests were of the upper echelon of society, and all were very quick to converse and be really helpful to 2 out of towners.

maybe the weirdest thing was the downstairs restaurant bathroom which is famous apparently. it really is a cool bathroom, and maybe a must see, but it is still a bathroom and quite functional :-) .

The hotel is right next to the state capital so there are a bunch of politicians there during the day and with state business. Much state business is apparently conducted in the hotel bar and restaurant.

minibar was nicely stocked, ice was readily available on each floor, room service was great as well as the house restaurant that was really good. Cocktails in the bar were excellent as well as the staff, even though it closed somewhat early (10pm).

Nashville is a great city, even for those not into country music. I wouldn't hesitate to go back again and again and I am certain this would be the hotel I checked into.

Room Tip: make sure to check out the famous bathroom downstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beeville, tx
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

What a great hotel ! As a lover of old hotels, this was one of the best . As a photographer it was fun to capture all elegance in the lobby and meeting rooms. The concierge service got us in to the Grand Ole Opry and the General Jackson paddle boat, all with great seats . The rooms were large well furnished, good bed and plenty of tables to hold our things. I didn't find convenient desktop plugs to recharge our iphones and iPads but had to go to the floor plugs. The Capitol Grill and Oak bar downstairs were "way" too dark, in fact we ate a great breakfast two mornings , but had to use a flashlight to see the menu. The stairs going down were also very dark . The downstairs lobby bathroom was apparently quite famous and voted #1 nationally ,whatever that means , but was in fact spectacular w/ green and black tile. Our room bath was also very large w/ lots of water pressure in the shower a shower and a large tub. I'll surely stay there when returning to Nashville !

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

This hotel has the most fabulous lobby. Service from the minute we pulled up out front was exemplary. Everyone addresses you by name and remembers it during your visit. We were here for three days and they treated us like royalty, in spite of me wearing Iron Maiden shirts everyday (we were there for a concert).

The room was large and well appointed. The bed was extremely comfortable as were the pillows. The bathroom has a separate shower and large marble soaking tub and lots of counterspace for the ladies and their makeup, etc. A/C worked great.

We ate and had cocktails a couple times at the Oak Room Bar downstairs. Meredith and Deb were excellent bartenders and very friendly.

It is pricey, but worth it for the level of service and amenities provided. There were just a few minor issues with the room that needed attention. I let the front desk know about them and they offered to fix it right away, but I told them they could wait until we checked out. Only other minor issue was that they did not re-stock the lovely Molton Brown shampoo, etc. after the first night.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st. Louis
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

The Hermitage is ranked as a five star. I would have to say the front office does not make you feel as though you are special....I could have been checking in to any chain hotel with the lack of graciousness and engagement that the reception area offered. Perhaps I am too used to European hospitality where they give absolute personal service at check in and not mass production check in procedures.


What makes the Hermitage stand out is the I prefer benefits. If you sign up for I Prefer you get certain benefits at hotels across the country. This is where the Hermitage absolutely shines!
Having stayed at other I Prefer hotels, I can honestly say that this is where the Heritage shows the elegance of European style. As an I Preferred member you receive a complimentary breakfast for two. Big deal you say? The chefs at their kitchen are five star. The breakfast is cooked to order, with fresh ingredients and served with exemplary service and verve. It makes all the difference.

We enjoyed our stay, we had a room on the corner with a view of the capital. The room was more than spacious, well decorated, comfortable, and clean. The bathroom was just as spacious, well appointed and clean.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hermitage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermitage Hotel

Address: 231 Sixth Ave N, Nashville, TN 37219
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Nashville > Downtown Nashville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 151 Hotels in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hermitage Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 1910 The Hermitage Hotel is Tennessee's only Forbes Five Star and AAA Five Diamond Hotel. Reborn in 2003 The Hermitage Hotel is again a Sanctuary for travelers in the heart of Music City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, T4B, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hermitage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hermitage Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.