We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel in the Heart of Nashville” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hermitage Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hermitage Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hermitage Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   231 Sixth Ave N, Nashville, TN 37219 (Downtown Nashville)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 150 hotels in Nashville
Nicholasville, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel in the Heart of Nashville”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

The Hermitage is a gorgeous property in downtown Nashville within walking distance of many businesses and attractions. The staff are exceptional and are wonderfully friendly. The standard rooms are quite spacious and the bathrooms are richly appointed in marble with a large soaking tub, flat screen TV, double shower, toilet closet, and dual sinks. The lobby is elegant and welcoming. Extra touches include classical music playing as you enter your room, turn-down service with slippers and chocolate, and a staff who remember your name.

The onsite restaurant, Capitol Grille, is a true farm-to-table operation where the chef is also a farmer and his kitchen staff participates in the gardens as well as the kitchen. Chef Brown uses his own organic produce and beef in his creative adaptations. In addition to the outstanding gourmet dishes, Capitol Grille is a lovely setting to dine.

All in all, I can't imagine staying anywhere else in Nashville. The Hermitage is definitely a luxury experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

891 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    754
    83
    19
    19
    16
See reviews for
152
379
32
145
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is nice and in great shape for such an old property. But the staff is exceptional. Everyone we came in contact with was kind and helpful. Whether it was directions or suggestions for dinner, no one was too busy to help. Will return.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

I am a travel agent in MIami.............I booked 3 rooms today and the Reservation Manager name Ally called me and told me that they could not honor the reservations. After, I insisted that she must do so ........ she stated she would call me back . She called me back and reluctantly confirmed the room alone with the bedding type. Later Mary, Reservation Agent called and stated that check out was at 11:00 am alhough the guest will not ariive to the hotel until around 9:30 am . After much debate she agreed to extend it until 1:00 pm . When I was in the hotel business No was permitted. Especially at a room rate in Nasheville of 400.00 per night. It's been two hours and the Concierge David have not been able to confirm a airport pick up. This whole ordeal have not been pleasant one and hope that this is not a reflection on how they treat there guest. If so AAA might need to revist the property very soon and take at least 3 of the diamonds away. I have been in this industry since 1986 and never experience such a difficult bookig in my whole career.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandnes, Norway
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful hotel! The lobby and decor was very impressive, pure luxury. The hotel staff were helpful and catered to all our needs. The rooms and all facilities were very clean, and well maintained. The hotel has a long history, which adds to the ambience and experience. Loved it!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkersburg, West Virginia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We went to Nashville last summer and stayed at the Hermitage Hotel for three nights. It was by far the nicest hotel in which I've stayed (and I've stayed in probably 100+ spanning from NYC to Waikiki). It exceeded all expectations. From the immaculate bathroom with flat screen TV, to the nightly turn-down service with personal foot towels and fresh baked cookies, the "extra mile" seems to go on and on. It's a splurge compared to other much more reasonable options in Nashville, but it's well worth it. And considering it's the same price as a mid-level hotel in some major cities, it's almost worth taking a trip to Nashville just to stay here.

Room Tip: It's worth purchasing a year of an AARP membership to get the discount at the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Springs, Mississippi
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My family and I loved everything about this historic hotel. LOVED, LOVED, LOVED it! If you have the opportunity you need to stay here. If that is not possible you need to at least drop in for a visit to see the lobby. The breakfast was delicious and the service was marvelous for both of the days we were there!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

In memphis now writing this review from another hotel. was at hermitage july 3-7 2013 and was awesome. i booked initially with mary gutshall at the hotel who was amazing and helped me book junior suite with my amex platinum card (for free upgrades). family of 4 with boys 15 and 20 so you need some space with big kids and boys during down time.

Planning:

mary in reservations did great job. we had junior suite i think reserved and she got us free amex upgrade to city suite. only one of those. went from 650 sq ft to over 1000 sq suite. 2 separate rooms and 2 separate bathrooms on top floor (four). mary did great job. room was awesome. we had separate spaces from boys and 1.5 bathrooms so didnt have to share much. each had own honor bar with anything you could need. suite had alcohol and food galore thoughout suite (for a charge of course). amazing room. great beds. great ac.


concierge:

worked with david andrews in advance. he also was amazing. helped me plan 4 days or so of events and tours. he helped me book all of them. he planned our meals outside of hotel and made reservations for all dinners etc that required it ahead of time. we had printed itinerary at check in of tours/dinners/events. helped us plan the july 4 big fireworks downtown. vickie also helped us with some daytime event and directions as well. they did all the work for us.

food:

capitol grill was amazing. dinner once was great but expensive. breakfast there was nice as well. food was best ever had. wait staff were very friendly and made us feel at home. timeliness of service was the only drawback. one day breakfast took so long and manager short staffed she gave to us free which was great (due to long waits). one day my smoothie came after meal. however, the waiters were so apologetic and the food so good it almost didnt matter. i really enjoyed the meals there. used room service few times and they did great job also.

attendants:

car service great. had to pay 28 per day to park car but always ready when called down. they always gave wonderful directions. it rained 3 of our days and they were always there handing us umbrellas as we left. loaded and unloaded our car very efficiently. bellman also did great job.

ambience:

hotel was beautiful. old but wonderful. the main entry room was gorgeous. spoke the the manager re: history and he was very nice and gave great overview. they had 2 weddings there and used ballroom. peeked in and they did great job with weddings. internet included which was nice. small business center on first floor as well. kids used gym every day.

overall:

5 star
had great time
staff wonderful
my teens loved it and the city.
would go back in heartbeat.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hermitage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermitage Hotel

Address: 231 Sixth Ave N, Nashville, TN 37219
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Nashville > Downtown Nashville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 150 hotels in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hermitage Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 1910 The Hermitage Hotel is Tennessee's only Forbes Five Star and AAA Five Diamond Hotel. Reborn in 2003 The Hermitage Hotel is again a Sanctuary for travelers in the heart of Music City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Preferred Hotels, Otel and Travelocity so you can book your Hermitage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hermitage Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.