We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hermitage Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hermitage Hotel to your Saves list
Hermitage Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   231 Sixth Ave N, Nashville, TN 37219 (Downtown Nashville)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 149 Hotels in Nashville
boston
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Exceptional”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We had a quick stop over in Nashville and had the pleasure to stay at the Hermitage. From Brad's (the doorman) warm welcome, enthusiasm and expert advice to the stunning room and exceptional housekeeping staff, we had a wonderful time. Concierge dinner recommendations were spot on and Damiam at the bar gave us a informative (and tasty) lesson on bourbons. The scent of the lobby was refreshing and the atmosphere exuded a pleasant calm along with the sincerity of the helpful staff. We wouldn't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

980 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    824
    98
    21
    21
    16
See reviews for
168
422
32
157
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

This hotel was updated in the past few years and it's a pleasure to stay there. It's located close to all in downtown Nashville. Our room was very spacious with a large bath with soaking tub. After a long day of driving and sightseeing, that was a plus.
Very attentive staff at check-in and out. We would definitely recommend this spot and stay there againi.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Only stayed one night bit thoroughly enjoyed our visit.Room was beautifully decorated,bathroom was luxurious.Loved the bar.Staff were very friendly and helpful.We had a bar lunch and breakfast and both were excellent.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

I swear that room would be at The Hermitage. Perfectly perfect, staff, room and amenities. Gracious and courteous staff, impeccably clean rooms. Worth every nickle. Don't bother staying anywhere else!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
211 reviews 211 reviews
135 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

The Hermitage epitomizes elegance, sophistication, and Southern charm. Service was absolutely first rate, without exception. The public areas in this historic hotel are magnificent. I almost never use a hotel’s public sitting areas, but my wife and I found the Hermitage’s soaring atrium to be so inviting that we just sat in large, comfortable chairs relaxing for almost an hour without realizing how long we had been there. The rooms also are first rate. Ours was spacious and immaculately maintained, with classically styled furniture and a comfortable sitting area you could actually use. The work space was adequate, but the internet signal was weak (I ended up using my air card instead). The bathrooms are large, with separate tub and shower areas, a large TV, and other upscale amenities. The hotel offered freshly squeezed lemonade and cookies in the afternoon (great on a hot Nashville day) and coffee and teas in the morning. Breakfast in the hotel restaurant was absolutely wonderful (try the sock sausage). The Hermitage is located about a block from the Tennessee state capitol, and about six blocks or so from the clubs and stores of Broadway, the Ryman Auditorium, and the Bridgestone Arena. Hotel valet parking was $24 a night. I did not see self-parking (didn’t look) but there are a number of public parking garages in the vicinity. There are less expensive hotels in Nashville, but to me, it was worth every penny. I’ve stayed at a number of hotels in Nashville, and this is my favorite, hands down.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

This is a must see while visiting Nashville. Stunning decor. Awesome not terribly expensive little shop. Loved the pimento cheese and fried green tomato sandwich. House Chardonnay was very good. Staff was excellent.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel in the upgraded old southern style. Well located to the major attractions. Terrific, professional, courteous, helpful and knowledgable staff. Excellent restaurant for breakfast, lunch and dinner. If you are going to Nashville it is a must stay.

Stayed June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hermitage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermitage Hotel

Address: 231 Sixth Ave N, Nashville, TN 37219
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Nashville > Downtown Nashville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 149 Hotels in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hermitage Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 1910 The Hermitage Hotel is Tennessee's only Forbes Five Star and AAA Five Diamond Hotel. Reborn in 2003 The Hermitage Hotel is again a Sanctuary for travelers in the heart of Music City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Hermitage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hermitage Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.