We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of Nashville's Delights” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hermitage Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hermitage Hotel to your Saves list
Hermitage Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   231 Sixth Ave N, Nashville, TN 37219 (Downtown Nashville)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 149 Hotels in Nashville
Jackson, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“One of Nashville's Delights”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Pricey? Sure, but we're talking about a 5-star Grand Hotel. As you'd expect, you'll find the best of service. The lobby is like a cathedral and tea is served there each afternoon. Luxuriate in the large tub watching a flat screen t.v. in the bathroom. Great downtown location. The workout facility stands out to me - I always hit the workout room and it's among the best I've had.

Room Tip: I've stayed there a half dozen times and I can't say I've found a bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

980 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    824
    98
    21
    21
    16
See reviews for
168
422
32
157
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Piedmont, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Hermitage in a Grand Deluxe room 916 for 3 nights. Can't say enough about the staff and valet service. Pleased to no end. We celebrated our anniversary with dinner at the Capitol Grille, enjoyed everything , service was fantastic and our Conceirge (Matthew) presented us each with a dessert of our choice on him. The Club room was also excellent for lunch. Rooms where cleaned early in day and turndown was great. Would recommend to anyone wanting to celebrate a special occasion as its expensive but well worth it.

Room Tip: Ask for the ninth floor corner room and slurge on a Grand deluxe, requesting a view of the Capitol B...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

My husband and I had our wedding reception at the Hermitage Hotel on May 11th of 2013. It was everything and more than what we dreamt. Hannah Falkosky was brilliant. To all brides looking into the Hermitage, know that Hannah will remember everything you ask for and will make your day absolutely perfect. The hotel is stunningly breathtaking (part of the reason we chose the venue), and the staff, from the bartenders to the concierge to the bellmen, are wonderful. They go above and beyond to meet your requests and are so friendly and polite. The reception was perfect; everything was set up beautifully (the linens are incredible) and the food and drinks were delicious.

The Hermitage Hotel truly made our special day perfect, and we cannot thank them enough. The presidential suite had rose petals on the bed for us after the reception ended, and the suite came with part of our wedding cake, champagne, and my beautiful bouquet in a vase.

I would recommend the Hermitage to anyone traveling to Nashville and be sure to eat at the Capitole Grille and have a drink at the really cool Oak Bar.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We had such a great time at the Hermitage. The lobby is beautiful to see. Our room was comfortable, and they had upgraded us to a suite. It was fun to read the book on the history of the Hermitage Hotel, and I laughed at the stories and could picture so much of what was shared. That night we had reservations at the Grille and it was wonderful. Service was good and the food was creative and delicious. The onion and brie soup we both had was terrific, and we could have just had more of that and been happy. The breads were good. The wine was perfectly paired with our meat. I loved the scoop of popcorn salty ice cream.
The valets were so helpful. We got over to the Ryman Auditorium for a show and felt welcomed back. The next morning we literally bumped into LeeAnn Rimes as we came out of the hotel. I loved this place. It was discreet, lovely, and altogether wonderful. It deserves all of its five stars.

Room Tip: Great views of the city and capitol building from the 9th floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We have been fortunate to stay in some fine hotels across the world and I rate The Hermitage most highly. Lovely rooms, great service and an ambience that is friendly, refined but not stuffy. Highly recommended

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

This was my first time in Nashville and the Hermitage Hotel was an excellent choice. My family and I stayed for a weekend and we loved it. You enter into an exquisite lobby and are greeted by beautiful surroundings and a lovely staff. Our room was just wonderful. We had a great view of the State Capitol building. The bathroom was roomy, clean and modern. The beds were very comfortable. The Molton Brown toiletries were a big hit. The complimentary lemonade and cookies, coffee and muffins were lovely. We did not try the restaurant or bar in the hotel as we traveled with our children. Treat yourselves and stay at the Hermitage Hotel!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

The hotel is located in front of the Capital & 4-blocks from the honky tonks bars – great location, great hotel & great happy hour at the Oak Room Bar. Rates are higher than the norm but the rooms, restaurant, bar, lobby & the hotel location was wonderful. For this vacation we wanted a “fufu lala” hotel because this trip was going to be very relaxing. I have to say, that all the employees went out of their way to be helpful & friendly. I can’t say enough good things about them. At the concierge desk they have all the info & maps that you will need. They have printed 3x5 index cards with very easy & simple directions to every place that you want to go see in the Nashville area. We had breakfast at the Capitol Grill & happy hour at the Oak Bar every day and scrupulously enjoyed everything we had. Let me say that the Tennessee Jack Egg sandwich with Jack Daniel’s whiskey infused toast, fried egg, bacon & tomato gravy & the Egg & Gravy with a poach egg, tomato gravy served on grits were out of this world.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hermitage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermitage Hotel

Address: 231 Sixth Ave N, Nashville, TN 37219
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Nashville > Downtown Nashville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 149 Hotels in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hermitage Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 1910 The Hermitage Hotel is Tennessee's only Forbes Five Star and AAA Five Diamond Hotel. Reborn in 2003 The Hermitage Hotel is again a Sanctuary for travelers in the heart of Music City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Hermitage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hermitage Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.