We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive but worth it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hermitage Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hermitage Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hermitage Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   231 Sixth Ave N, Nashville, TN 37219 (Downtown Nashville)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 150 hotels in Nashville
Florida
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Expensive but worth it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

Hermitage Hotel


A gorgeous luxury boutique hotel with a stunningly beautiful lobby (check out the photos on their Internet site). Our king bed room was large, spotlessly clean, and very comfortable with a huge bathroom with large tub, TV, separate shower, and private commode. The staff was friendly and helpful. There is a gourmet restaurant (The Capitol Grill) in a lovely room with large arching columns and artwork depicting the state Capitol. Expensive but something everybody should experience at least once. RGinTally

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

835 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    707
    78
    16
    19
    15
See reviews for
147
354
32
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We were a group of 10 friends who visited Nashville for two nights in April 2013. The entire hotel is lovely and welcoming. Our room was large enough to host the entire group for cocktails in the evening. The staff went out of their way to make us welcome and comfortable, providing umbrellas, securing our bags, arranging transportation, answering questions. The location was perfect for us to get out and explore. And the rooms were very quiet. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet K, Public Relations Manager at Hermitage Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Siddog,

Thank you so much for your kind review. It is always wonderful to hear from our fans. Each story is different and we enjoy hearing from you and learning your story. We would be delighted to have you back with us any time.

It sounds like you had a great time getting away from it all with friends which is what Nashville, and The Hermitage Hotel are all about. Please let us know that next time you will be visiting Music City.

Warm Regards,
Janet Kurtz
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I have stayed at many fine hotels including Ritz Carlton, Fairmont, etc. but the service level and the accomodations at this hotel were absolutely amazing. From the time I entered the front door and was greeted by name until I checked out, there was an aura of service. The rooms were exceptionally equipped and even had a hamper in the bathroom. They had a separate shower and bath. The location was good, walking distance to the main downtown area. I highly recommend and would gladly stay on my next trip.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet K, Public Relations Manager at Hermitage Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Sue R,

Thank you so much for taking your time to share your story. We were thrilled to hear you enjoyed your visit to Nashville and The Hermitage Hotel. Nashville is an ever-evolving city with a spirit all its own. Please let us know the next time you will be traveling our way.

Warm Regards,
Janet Kurtz
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

On a recent trip to Nashville we stayed at the Hermitage, which is located right in the center of the city. It proves special from the moment you walk into the foyer. Opened in the early 1900s, the building is classically gorgeous, with painted ceilings, detailed moldings, , and thoughtful furniture and carpets, classic to the era.

The room was very spacious and quiet and the bed was incredibly comfortable. Despite having stayed in hotels around the world, I had never before seen a special display inside of a hotel closet with a sign offering three different pillow options: Foam, Feather or Buck –filled. It was interesting to test out the options.

After fun long days touring the great city, listing to great music (Broadway is only a few short blocks away) it was nice to “come home” to the Hermitage, with comfortable bathrobes set out on the bed. The bathroom was really top of the line, with beautiful marble throughout, including the shower, and a separate, roomy bathtub. While it was definitely overboard, I did enjoy having a great quality small flat screen TV near the sin to catch up on the morning news.

The concierge, David Andrews, was extremely helpful. Having grown up in the area, he personally took the time to create a driving tour through the beautiful, historic Belle Meade. The estates were truly magnificent, and definitely worth an hour of your time.
We drove through Belle Meade to Franklin, a nice town not to check out.

Another great thing about the Hermitage is the gym. While not huge, it was nice and bright with lots of windows. It has 3-r treadmills, an elliptical, recumbent bike, two benches, free weights and between the spa area ( which I did not use) and the gym, are canisters with home-made fruit-incused water.

I highly recommend staying at the Hermitage for any trip to Nashville.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet K, Public Relations Manager at Hermitage Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Susan,

Thank you so much for your kind review. It is particularly fun to hear that you tried the various and extensive amenities that are in all of the rooms. The beds you mentioned are actually brand new. The beds are by Hypnos bedding which is the only mattress company to be given the seal of approval by the Queen of England. That said, they were actually made right here in Nashville. We have been getting rave reviews.

The next time you visit you will have to tell us what you think of the new Nespresso machines we have just put in the rooms.

Please do come back and visit us soon. We would be delighted to have you.

Warm Regards,
Janet Kurtz
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Top Contributor
454 reviews 454 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 121 cities Reviews in 121 cities
268 helpful votes 268 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We spent five nights at the Hermitage Hotel while enjoying the interesting Nashville area. We had a 450 sq ft room with very large bathroom, including separate shower and bath. The room was very clean and well appointed with comfortable furniture. We asked for non-feather pillows and bedding before arrival and we were delighted to have this in place when we arrived. If there is any criticism of the room, it would be that it is a little dark. The ceiling lights over the bed help offset this, however. The Hermitage is expensive but in our opinion it was worth it. The free morning coffee in the lobby and the free water bottles as you exit were appreciated. The basement has a nice bar. The concierge desk is a very important stop here. They can help you get oriented and have good maps and information on how to accomplish your goals here.

We did not eat in the hotel choosing instead to eat at nearby 417 Union for breakfast and assorted nearby restaurants such as Puckett's Grocery (it is not a grocery store!!). Puckett's has nightly entertainment and reasonable prices. It is very popular.
In Nashville for a vacation? We recommend you consider going to both Grand Ole Opry venues
(Grand Ole Opry by The Gaylord Hotel and the Ryman Auditorium, the original Opry site in the heart of the city. Also enjoyed by us was a tour to The Hermitage plantation home of Andy Jackson, the 7th USA president; the tour also went to Belle Meade plantation which was just okay in our opinion. Belle Meade was interesting for its race horse roots and bloodlines associated with great horses such as Sea Biscuit and Secretariat. The Country Music Hall of Fame is a must see. The history of country music is nicely presented. Get the audio phones to really enhance your visit. The Hall of Fame has a good restaurant on the premises for lunch! No trip to Nashville is complete without a walk down Broadway to duck into the numerous, tacky, country honky tonks. They serve food but we were not tempted to eat in any of these places.
There is another area called Printer's Alley which is a smaller version of Broadway. For a unique experience, go to Centennial Park and see the Parthenon replica (actual size of the original) and the statue of Athena, again the size of the original. We think you will enjoy Nashville and we found 5 days to be an ample time to see this city. To make your visit special think about staying at The Hermitage!

Room Tip: We stayed on the third floor and found it very quiet. The concierge service is very helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

My family and I were going to Nashville for a few days and after reading the reviews on Trip Advisor, we decided to stay at the Hermitage Hotel. We wanted some extra space, so we booked an Executive Suite with 2 bedrooms.
When we arrived, we found we had been upgraded to the Presidential Suite. What an amazing surprise! The suite actually took up one side of the entire floor. It was beautiful, luxurious, elegant and comfortable. We had an incredible view of the Capital from every window. The suite had every amenity you could desire and was immaculate. We arrived to a bottle of wine and chocolates. The hotel lobby was architecturally stunning. My kids enjoyed the freshly baked cookies and lemonade by the elevator and my husband and I loved their specially blended coffee. Everyone was incredibly helpful and full of information about the area. Very convenient location. Within walking distance from all downtown has to offer, yet just far enough away to avoid the ruckus. We will definitely stay at the Hermitage Hotel on every return trip to Nashville!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Why do I stay here? Its got a beautiful lobby? Rooms are nice? People are welcoming?
Yes all of that --- despite no contemporary cable T.V. offerings, absolutely the worst grits / biscuits on the planet and a dicey dinner menu. Its that little extra that will make me disciple.

I'm looking for an alternative that addresses those deficiencies and campaigning for television and culinary reform simultaneously.

Until then; its a very good choice.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the Capital and go to happy hour early because the lobbyist and politicians...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hermitage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermitage Hotel

Address: 231 Sixth Ave N, Nashville, TN 37219
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Nashville > Downtown Nashville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 150 hotels in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hermitage Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 1910 The Hermitage Hotel is Tennessee's only Forbes Five Star and AAA Five Diamond Hotel. Reborn in 2003 The Hermitage Hotel is again a Sanctuary for travelers in the heart of Music City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Preferred Hotels, Otel and Travelocity so you can book your Hermitage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hermitage Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.