We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hermitage Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hermitage Hotel to your Saves list
Hermitage Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   231 Sixth Ave N, Nashville, TN 37219 (Downtown Nashville)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 149 Hotels in Nashville
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

My family and I were going to Nashville for a few days and after reading the reviews on Trip Advisor, we decided to stay at the Hermitage Hotel. We wanted some extra space, so we booked an Executive Suite with 2 bedrooms.
When we arrived, we found we had been upgraded to the Presidential Suite. What an amazing surprise! The suite actually took up one side of the entire floor. It was beautiful, luxurious, elegant and comfortable. We had an incredible view of the Capital from every window. The suite had every amenity you could desire and was immaculate. We arrived to a bottle of wine and chocolates. The hotel lobby was architecturally stunning. My kids enjoyed the freshly baked cookies and lemonade by the elevator and my husband and I loved their specially blended coffee. Everyone was incredibly helpful and full of information about the area. Very convenient location. Within walking distance from all downtown has to offer, yet just far enough away to avoid the ruckus. We will definitely stay at the Hermitage Hotel on every return trip to Nashville!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

982 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    826
    98
    21
    21
    16
See reviews for
168
424
32
157
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Why do I stay here? Its got a beautiful lobby? Rooms are nice? People are welcoming?
Yes all of that --- despite no contemporary cable T.V. offerings, absolutely the worst grits / biscuits on the planet and a dicey dinner menu. Its that little extra that will make me disciple.

I'm looking for an alternative that addresses those deficiencies and campaigning for television and culinary reform simultaneously.

Until then; its a very good choice.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the Capital and go to happy hour early because the lobbyist and politicians...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles, Illinois
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Wow. The Hermitage is one of the best hotels I have stayed at in the US. Spacious and beautifully appointed rooms. Just about every amenity you could imagine. Everyone was friendly and very helpful with local information. The service was impeccable. Fresh coffee and muffins in the lobby in the morning, cookies and lemonade in the evening. Turn down service was a treat. Ice cold water bottles by the front door! The only downside is that they do not have a pool but there is so much to do within walking distance, it hardly mattered. We felt totally pampered during our entire stay!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in this Grand Dame of Nashville. The rooms are huge with everything you would expect-double hand basins, separate bath and shower lots of closet space free wifi and the list goes on.
The staff were very professional and helpful especially Vicki Hudson the Concierge she helped us make the most of our short stay in Nashville.
The bar and restaurant are also excellent and staff make you feel so welcome.
The hotel is located within an easy walk to Ryman Theatre and the Country Music Hall of Fame both worth a visit.
The only downside was construction right next door which began at 7.30 am, make sure your room is on the other side.
This hotel is aptly named The Hermitage reminds me of the one in St.Petersberg.

Room Tip: Check on construction work
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

What a beautiful hotel. Felt like Old South artistocracy. Beautiful, comfortable lobby with a fire going at all times and comfortable couches and armchairs, afternoon tea, cookies and lemonade and a friendly, accomodating staff. Delicious breakfast, spacious room with large bath and comfy bed and linens. Bed turn down each night with slippers and robes on the bed...doesn't get much better than this. Good location, about 5-10 minute walk to downtown, Printer's Alley, Tennessee State Museum. Would definitely return

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

This was my third stay at the Hermitage Nashville...and again not a complaint. Depending on what you are in town for, its a great downtown location just up the block from Broadway. Rooms are HUGE! Bathroom HUGE! Always super clean, There are plenty are good sized towels double spaced out sinks and there are extra pillows in the closet that are foam if thats an issue for you...so you can certainly ask to have the down removed and get all foam. The air conditioning is just right, doesn't blow on you in bed nor make excessive noise when the fans comes on/off. The shower pressure is amazing and theres also a great soaking tub with a tv (very relaxing at the end of the day). Large windows let in a ton of light. I personally prefer the high floor rooms that face the War Memorial. The lobby is massive and a great place for meeting up with the people. In the afternoon next to the elevators they set out the best soft cookies and lemon (personal favorite are the warm chocolate chip). Valet is quick and polite, its not cheap $26. a night. Worth looking for the area self park lots.
The basement restaurant is good but also expensive. And the room service menu pretty extensive in a working dinner pinch. And the bartenders are great at making suggestions.
Definitely stay here and look for a deal as they come around every so often!

Room Tip: High room facing the War Memorial.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The staff was excellent from top to bottom. I arrived past 10pm after being denied my confirmed room at Union Station (they had sold my room because I didn't specify late arrival, although I was told it was maintenance issues). At check-in, they were friendly and fast. I don't say that lightly because I'm from CA and we are used to warp speed. This was my second choice hotel and ended up working out better. The restaurant was excellent for breakfast. 4/5 for being an older hotel and the loud construction noise from across the street. Next time, I would return here for sure.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hermitage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermitage Hotel

Address: 231 Sixth Ave N, Nashville, TN 37219
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Nashville > Downtown Nashville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 149 Hotels in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hermitage Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 1910 The Hermitage Hotel is Tennessee's only Forbes Five Star and AAA Five Diamond Hotel. Reborn in 2003 The Hermitage Hotel is again a Sanctuary for travelers in the heart of Music City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Hermitage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hermitage Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.