We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only place to stay in Nashville. Hands down!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hermitage Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hermitage Hotel to your Saves list
Hermitage Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   231 Sixth Ave N, Nashville, TN 37219 (Downtown Nashville)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 149 Hotels in Nashville
Hattiesburg
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“The only place to stay in Nashville. Hands down!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Hospitality plus! You will not find a nicer hotel in Nashville. Our room was very large , the bed was plush, the bathroom was exquisite. The staff treated us like we were their only guest! The lobby is absolutely beautiful! The location is convenient and in walking distance to many downtown points of interest. The Hermitage will definitely be our home away from home when we're in Nashville!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

982 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    826
    98
    21
    21
    16
See reviews for
168
424
32
157
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
jacksonville fl
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

Husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. Hotel was elegant yet comfortable, staff was professional, very attentive and helpful. Food at the Capitol Grill was excellent although slow one night. We liked the atmosphere in the Oak Bar better, but either way the steaks and wine list were excellent. Wonderful experience.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
361 reviews 361 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

Have enjoyed staying here on two different occasions. The rooms are elegant and come with stocked wet bar & Bose Stereo system. We had both our dogs and staff happily walked them outside whenever notified. The bar and lobby areas are awesome places to hang out and possible star sightings occur. The Capital Grille restaurant downstairs is awesome lunch location. The concierge is very knowledgeable and can answer your questions or make suggestions on the Nashville scene. Within easy walking distance to many eating establishment and tourist hotspots. I love this place and so will you.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crane Hill, Alabama
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We were walking down the street after a play and decided to have a drink in the Oak Bar. It was a great decision. On the way through the Hotel Lobby we viewed one of to most beautiful hotel lobbies in the U.S. The Oak Bar has beautiful decor restored to its historic style. The service was an experience you can only receive in an old line top notch bar. The drinks were excellent as well. It was a bit pricey though, but well worth it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise Valley, Arizona, USA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

Can't say enough great things about this hotel. Pictures on line do this fabulous gem justice. Beautiful hotel and great service. Try their restaurant--Fabulous! Not an enormous tourist trap like Gaylord Opryland. if you want a true Nashville experience, this is your hotel along with others in the area. Five stars!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada, eh
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We were in Nashville attending a Christmas concert and stayed at the Hermitage. We are sure glad we did! Their website doesn't really do the hotel justice as the pictures made the rooms look tacky. While the decor may not be to everyone's tastes, this hotel is elegant and charming and the service is top notch.

Our check in was fast, easy and convenient and the front desk staff were exceptionally polite. We decided to get a larger room with a view of the Capitol buildings. The room was very large with a spa like bathroom, complete with a good sized shower and a large soaker tub. The finishings were quite nice and the room was clean and tidy.

The hotel is close to all of the attractions in downtown Nashville. You can walk from there to the Ryman, the hockey arena, the Country Music Hall of Fame and Broadway and the bar scene. Even the Titans' stadium is walkable.

The food at the hotel was excellent. We had drinks and appetizers in the bar and ate breakfast and one dinner in the Capital Grille restaurant. Everything was top notch - tasty and plentiful.

The best part of the Hermitage? Easily the people. Everyone was friendly and accommodating. If you only looked like you needed help, you could be assured someone would come help you. The staff there helped us secure a rental car, with drop off at the hotel, and assisted us with other requests with plenty of smiles and "can do" attitudes. The pride and joy for their city was evident.

A great hotel with even better people.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

What a fabulous experience! My husband, myself and our two children (ages 7 and 10) only had the weekend to get away before school started back for my children.We chose Nashville, since we had never been there. We arrived at 10:00pm on Friday Jan 4. Upon arriving, we were greeted so warmly by the bellman, the valet, and the front desk. Everyone was so polite and you could sense that anything you wanted or needed, they would make it happen. Our room was gorgeous, and when we opened the curtain, the capitol building was staring right at us. It was amazing! The rooms were spotless, not one complaint.The bed was sooo...comfortable!! The next day we went sightseeing; the concierge was very kind and pointed us in the right direction. Wonderful day! I wanted to buy the coffee table book about the Hermitage, the history behind the hotel is unbelievable! At the end of the book is quite a lengthy list of famous people that have stayed there. EVERYONE has stayed there, and it felt so fun to have stayed there as well! I went down to the boutique in the hotel to buy it, and picked out some lovely gifts for the friend who was watching our dog. The young lady working the gift shop, wrapped them up so beautifully and had them delivered to our room. Very nice! That night, we had dinner downstairs at the Capitol Grille. Fabulous! You're really missing out if you don't eat there, The next morning, we checked out and went and had a wonderful breakfast per the bellman's advice. Wonderful weekend at the Hermitage! Everyone on their staff was very knowledgeable and professional. Whoever does the hiring and training ...you're doing a great job1 Exceptionable staff!

Room Tip: Ask for the grand deluxe king suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hermitage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermitage Hotel

Address: 231 Sixth Ave N, Nashville, TN 37219
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Nashville > Downtown Nashville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 149 Hotels in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hermitage Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 1910 The Hermitage Hotel is Tennessee's only Forbes Five Star and AAA Five Diamond Hotel. Reborn in 2003 The Hermitage Hotel is again a Sanctuary for travelers in the heart of Music City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hermitage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hermitage Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.