We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marvelous Experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hermitage Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hermitage Hotel to your Saves list
Hermitage Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   231 Sixth Ave N, Nashville, TN 37219 (Downtown Nashville)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 149 Hotels in Nashville
Memphis, Tennessee
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Marvelous Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

My husband booked a weekend trip for my birthday and we ended up staying at the Hermitage by chance. Our favorite hotel was booked as was this one, but they offered to put us on the wait list. When I received the call to offer us a room I was not sure we wanted to spend the amount of money for this hotel. He and I have absolutely no regrets as it was such a wonderful stay from the minute we walked in the door! The staff was exceedingly helpful, cheerful, polite, and lovely at every turn. The decor was classic and beautiful. Our room was quite large, beautifully appointed and very clean. It certainly lives up to expectations and we would love to stay here again as well as recommend to everyone else!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

981 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    825
    98
    21
    21
    16
See reviews for
168
423
32
157
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
nyc
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

this is old school - beyond gorgeous - HUGE rooms and lovely people
the doormen were super helpful and people could not do enough to help us - we were here on business and our whole group stayed here and no one had a bad thing to say about anything

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Have been staying here whenever I am in Nashville for over six yeas now and have never been disappointed, stay here every opportunity I can. I really like the personal service and especially the attentive and friendly staff. The Hermitage is a First Class luxury experience from the minute you walk in! On site there is an excellent restaurant and if you want to go out Morton's is a 5 minute walk around the corner.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

I stayed for four days at the Hermitage hotel in Nashville during a business trip and would rate this as one of the best hotels I have stayed in combining historic atmosphere with faultless service and a prime location. The lobby of the hotel makes a huge impression and the attention to detail apPlies to everything else in the hotel. The service was excellent and the hotel certainly justifies the southern states reputation for hospitality. The food in restaurant was excellent - for breakfast I can recommend the signature dish of Jack Daniels infused toast. The bar is also recommended and has a superb selection of bourbon whiskey. The location is very central and so a short walk from the music venues on Broadway and many restaurants. it also offers some good running routes nearby as well as An attractive gym. I can highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Ohio
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

Older hotel but very clean and nicely maintained. The staff is excellent and we will definitely return when back in Nashville. The only negative was the Capitol restaurant was not as good as we had expected.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Storrs, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

We stayed only one night and I regret that it was only one night at this fabulous hotel. Everyone from doormen to concierge and desk staff was extremely helpful and friendly. Our room was so comfortable and beautifully appointed. The bathroom was immaculate and very roomy We had breakfast at the restaurant in the hotel where we had requested some gluten free items for my husband the day before and the pancakes with fresh berries were delicious. Also loved the spiced tea and Christmas cookies in the late afternoon. Following our checkout we asked about keeping our car in the hotel garage and were able to do so while we continued to sight see with no further charge. This experience will make it very difficult to stay in lesser hotels in the future!

Room Tip: Our room faced in and did not have much of a view but it did not matter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

I have had two recent visits to Nashville, Tennessee, where I stayed at the Hermitage Hotel. On both occasions I was swept away by the quality of the experiences and the level of service. The hotel's staff was simply tremendous, along every dimension of my stay! Moreover, the food, both room-service and in the restaurant was fantastic! I recommend it highly!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hermitage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermitage Hotel

Address: 231 Sixth Ave N, Nashville, TN 37219
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Nashville > Downtown Nashville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 149 Hotels in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hermitage Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 1910 The Hermitage Hotel is Tennessee's only Forbes Five Star and AAA Five Diamond Hotel. Reborn in 2003 The Hermitage Hotel is again a Sanctuary for travelers in the heart of Music City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Hermitage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hermitage Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.