We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The BEST” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hermitage Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hermitage Hotel to your Saves list
Hermitage Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   231 Sixth Ave N, Nashville, TN 37219 (Downtown Nashville)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 151 Hotels in Nashville
Brentwood, Tennessee
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The BEST”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

We could not be happier with our experience with the Hermitage Hotel. From the moment we arrived to check out the service staff were exemplary. Dining and food food service were fabulous. We received our morning coffee within 5 or 6 minutes of ordering it!! Can't say enough good about this hotel.

Darlene D

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,077 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    901
    113
    25
    21
    17
See reviews for
182
464
37
177
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Valley Stream, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

From the moment you arrive you are in for an extraordinary experience. The entire staff makes you feel right at home, there's never a gap in superb service, never. This was the finest experience in a magnifcent Hotel with incredible history and kept beautifully. The rooms, the amenities, the food and atmoshere were trully fantastic. I would not hesitate to recommend staying at the Hermitage. It was an incredible experience. My wife's nephew held their wedding reception in the hotel and it went off without a hitch. I would go out of my way to stay here a gain.. Thanks!

Room Tip: Our entire family stayed in a different rooms on different floors and in different locations and all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012 via mobile

Top of the line service. This has been one of my favorite hotel stays of all time. It is truly 5 star. We stopped by on a whim on the way to Ohio for an appointment for my husband. This has made a stressful trip very enjoyable for both of us. Thank you, we will be back for a longer stay sometime soon.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fenton, Missouri
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

This hotel will treat you like royalty. It was clean, beautiful, wonderfully appointed. Total attention to detail. I will definitely return to this hotel. The restaurant was great too. They have a sustainable garden not far from nashville where the chef trades in his chef white for overalls. They have some livestock, herbs, and vegetables that supply the restaurant. There was a write-up in Southern Living magazine about it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, Tennessee
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

This hotel is always the cleanest, nicest, most spectacular hotel to stay at while in Nashville. My wife and I try to go every couple of months just to stay there and get away from work. Staff is always helpful and rooms are fantastic. We sometimes just sit in the lobby by the fire for hours and enjoy the room. I have never had a bad experience there. You can also eat at Capitol Grille one of my favorite places to eat in the world. This is not the franchise "the capital grille". Capitol Grille is better.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

The Hermitage Hotel was awarded AAA's Five Diamond Award in 2012, and voted "one of the Finest Hotels in the World" by Forbes Travel Guide in 2012. After staying there for three nights I can see why. From the time I made reservations, until we checked out, Kimberly at the front desk was helpful, friendly, and professional. The doormen and valets assisted me with my mom's wheelchair and were pleasant each time we requested the car. When we needed a late check out, it was no problem. We rented two rooms that adjoined, and the space was amazing. One room had two queen beds, and a beautiful bathroom. It adjoined a King room with its own full bath also. The view of the Capitol with a lighted Christmas tree was special. Vickie, the concierge, assisted us with obtaining tickets to The Grand Ole Opry, and the ICE exhibit. Perfect service in every way. The rooms were comfortable and spacious--the amenities were the finest, the pillow options were great, the deep tub in the marble bathroom was relaxing.
The lobby of this over 100 year old hotel is breathtaking! The lighted Christmas tree, along with all the other Christmas decorations in the Grand Ballroom and the mirrored tiled hall give extra warmth to your holiday vacation.
We ate breakfast each morning at the Capital Grille, the restaurant on site. We also had lunch there on the day we arrived. Chancey was our waitress and was personable, and knowledgeable. Great sandwiches as well as entrees! Phillip was our waiter for breakfast and he, too, provided exceptional service. The homemade bisquits, along with Vermont's best preserves were delicious. In the afternoon snacks of spiced hot tea and delectable Christmas cookies were offered in the lobby.
The location was perfect for us to take my mom to the "Grand Ole Opry" as it was at the Ryman during this time of year. Also, we walked to church on Sunday only a couple blocks away. It was close to a great deal of action on Broadway also.
Suggestion: this is a "preferred hotel". Therefore, register with "I Prefer" and make your reservation through them to receive free extras. Also be aware of the costly overnight charge to park. It was $26 a night. Although, this hotel is expensive, for a special occasion, save a little more, and stay here. You will be glad you did.

Room Tip: Rooms on a higher floor looking at the Capitol are quieter with a beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BIRMINGHAM
Level Contributor
76 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We had a great 3 day weekend in Nashville staying at the Hermitage. Every staff person was EXCEPTIONALLY friendly, from Austin the doorman/valet to Chancey the waitress in the Capitol Grill. The lobby was beautifully decorated for the holiday season, and the rooms were perfect. Very comfortable bed, great water pressure in the shower, and luxurious bath sheets. In a word, Perfection!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hermitage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermitage Hotel

Address: 231 Sixth Ave N, Nashville, TN 37219
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Nashville > Downtown Nashville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 151 Hotels in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hermitage Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 1910 The Hermitage Hotel is Tennessee's only Forbes Five Star and AAA Five Diamond Hotel. Reborn in 2003 The Hermitage Hotel is again a Sanctuary for travelers in the heart of Music City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hermitage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hermitage Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.