We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old European Boutique Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hermitage Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hermitage Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hermitage Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   231 Sixth Ave N, Nashville, TN 37219 (Downtown Nashville)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 150 Hotels in Nashville
Windsor, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Old European Boutique Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

This is the only 5 star hotel in Nashville. I just spent 3 nights there. It is a 100+ year hotel and has a grand old world charm to it. You can feel the history in the walls. The hotel has been updated as much as possible but obviously cannot compare to a new hotel in terms of technology and the latest and greatest. Having said that, I enjoyed my stay other than the constant drilling hammering and exploding that is going on a few doors down.

The water pressure is good and the bath amenities and Molton Brown. The Capitol Grille in the basement of the hotel is good food at reasonable prices (dinner for 3 with 4 drinks, apps, entree and desert and tip was $296). One problem I had was that my salmon was raw. I didn't send it back however as my guests would have not been impressed. I mentioned it to the waitress "Chauncey" at breakfast the next day and she said she would take care of it, but nothing was done on my bill (although she was very lovely and sweet and attentive as a server).

I would return to this hotel if I need to come back to Nashville.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

927 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    782
    90
    20
    19
    16
See reviews for
163
393
32
148
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

If you're looking at the Hermitage, you know you'll be spending a decent chunk to stay there compared to other local lodgings. But when it comes to this place, you get what you pay for. The doormen and valets were all very helpful, personable, and friendly. The concierge was knowledgeable and able to help with most anything from a band-aid to the best places to go out without having to even get in a cab. Room service is quick and courteous, and they always had my morning paper there before I got up.

In terms of beauty, Hermitage is gorgeous. The lobby and sitting area is absolutely breathtaking, I was a big fan of the Capital Grille downstairs, and the rooms are very nice. Location-wise, it's also great. You're only about 4 blocks from Lower Broadway and all the fun Nashville has to offer. If you're willing to spend a few bucks, I highly advise staying here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We stayed at The Hermitage Hotel after our wedding several months ago. We took a fun afternoon ahead of the wedding to go look at the rooms and pick something special for our wedding night. We chose a corner room with views of the Capitol, but were pleasantly surprised when we arrived to have been moved to an enormous suite. We had two bathrooms, a living room, and a massive bedroom. Everything about this hotel is amazing. It is beautiful, spacious, accommodating and personal. They had put stationary in our room with our names on it (first time as a married couple), breakfast room service was prompt and delicious. I just wished we could have spent more time there! We will definitely be returning for anniversaries and special occasions for the rest of our lives; it will always be a special place to us and I couldn't speak more highly of the hotel. Don't even think twice about it, just stay here. It is the best hotel in Nashville.

Room Tip: If you go in advance, they will show you the rooms and help you pick one. A great idea if it is a sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

The Hermitage Hotelmis beautiful. And the rooms are absolutely lovely. That being said, my husband and I wear jeans to travel, we try to quietly move chairs in a bar to fit our group, etc. We are both classy young professionals who obviously make enough to
afford The Hermitage. However the behavior of several staff members was snooty and rude towards us and other parties we were around. This statement does exclude the doormen though as they were always extremely kind and gracious. Again, it's a lovely hotel and perhaps we caught staff in bad days but it definitely wasnt worth the prices charged for a room (or drink).

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Belgium
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

A luxury hotel in a rather unattractive part of Nashville. We loved the decor, the room (junior suite) and the hospitality. We were less struck with breakfast, which seemed to take an hour to arrive, although when it did it was tasty.
Comfortable beds, good internet wifi connection, and an historic ambiance. terrific hotel. We just weren't that struck on Nashville, to be honest....

Room Tip: Junior suites were nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We just got home from a three night stay at the Hermitage Hotel and I had to review immediately. What a truly lovely hotel. Friendly, courteous and regal staff. The hotel is beautifully ornate and spotless. Our room had 2 queen beds - really comfortable, plenty of pillows. We usually bring our pillow from home when we travel, but you don't need to here because you can find a pillow or two or three that you will love. Plenty of room to lounge in the room - there are the two queen beds, a desk, a really clear large screen TV and a couch and lounging chair. There 's a table set up for bar service or water....and then the bathroom. Lots of room and a great soaking tub. Shower is perfect - great pressure, good temperature, no weird handles, knobs or rotating heads! Nice location for walking to Broadway and all the fun venues. We had breakfast at the Capital Grill in the hotel each morning (not the chain restaurant). Our waiter Dale was friendly, quick, and kind....always a southern gentleman start to the day. We had never been to Nashville before, and we had fun....but this hotel was the best part of the trip. There isn't anything the staff wouldn't do for you!

Room Tip: We stayed in the last room near the stairvwell on the second floor. Very quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow, Ireland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Highly recommended - gorgeous hotel. The staff were very friendly and always helpful. the room was to amazing, lovely molton brown products in bathroom. loved it. worth every penny. So close to everything walking distance to downtown music. thanks to all at hermitage

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hermitage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermitage Hotel

Address: 231 Sixth Ave N, Nashville, TN 37219
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Nashville > Downtown Nashville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 150 Hotels in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hermitage Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 1910 The Hermitage Hotel is Tennessee's only Forbes Five Star and AAA Five Diamond Hotel. Reborn in 2003 The Hermitage Hotel is again a Sanctuary for travelers in the heart of Music City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, T4B and Otel so you can book your Hermitage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hermitage Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.