We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay in our hometown” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hermitage Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hermitage Hotel to your Saves list
Hermitage Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   231 Sixth Ave N, Nashville, TN 37219 (Downtown Nashville)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 151 Hotels in Nashville
Franklin, Tennessee
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Great Stay in our hometown”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

My husband surprised me with a Romance Package at this historical hotel last night for our anniversary. The lobby of the hotel is exquisite with amazing architectural details, especially the ceiling. The ballroom and veranda are both spectacular. Our room was vey nice and very well thought out, with thoughtful details such as a shoe horn, an umbrella, robes, a book rack in the big bath tub and a nice little bag that held the newspapers on the door in the morning. There was nice relaxing music playing when we arrived. We had a spectacular view of the TN State Capitol and War Memorial and my husband enjoyed a gorgeous sunset while I went downstairs for my massage. The spa was small but sufficient. It is next to the workout facility and there is a locker room with a shower and toiletries for before or after your spa treatments. There is a small spa lobby and then I saw 2 treatment rooms. I enjoyed a 90 minutes massage that was very relaxing. We were happy to not be leaving the hotel but if you were here to see our beautiful city, the Hermitage Hotel is very close to TPAC, The Ryman, War Memorial and the Capitol. We went downstairs to the Capitol Grille for dinner. The Capitol Grille grows much of its food on in a sustainable garden about 5 miles from the hotel on a plot of land owned by the Land Trust for TN. Because we were using the Romance Package, our table was covered in rose petals. We had a onion bisque that was insanely delicious! The Fall Farm pear and pumpkin seed salad was also very good. The Coho salmon was great, served with bok choy, pearl onions and a lonely little slice of grapefruit. The buttermilk potatoes were eaten quickly and the fall vegetable crumble was good as well. My husband enjoyed his steak. They insisted we have a dessert on the house so we split a chocolate creme brûlée which was, of course, divine. Later, they brought champagne, chocolate covered strawberries and truffles to our room. I have never met a chocolate covered strawberry that didn't make me happy. Because the hotel is smack in the middle of the city, there was some noise that reached our room. The street cleaner came around midnight and then again at 4:10am. It sounded like a ghost both times and I was glad I had earplug to pop in. The bathroom is stone and had nice toiletries. We woke up very late and figured we had missed our breakfast that was included but they were happy to bring us up a very very satisfying breakfast that included eggs, potatoes, croissant, toast, turkey bacon, coffee and fresh squeezed OJ. They were very gracious about extending our checkout time. The valet was a little slow and our vehicle was not ready after calling ahead and waiting about 15 minutes but as soon as we mentioned it, they got it immediately. We had a really fun stay and I hope we will go back next time we need a little R&R, a great meal and a chance to sleep in!

Room Tip: Since our view was of the Legislative Plaza, we wondered how that would be during times when there w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,042 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    872
    109
    23
    21
    17
See reviews for
177
447
35
173
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bossier City, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

The only thing I am sorry about with my stay at the Hermitage is that is was only for one night. The service is exceptional without being overbearing. The staff is friendly and ready to take care of you because they seem to truly want to do it - not because they are forced to. Everything is exceptionally clean, the lobby is great and the rooms are comfortable. We didn't have a chance to eat in either restaurant but hopefully we will on our next trip.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

Excellent hotel. Don't stay by an elevator, can be noisy, but otherwise first class all the way! Would stay again. For the price compared to the other nearby hotels, it can't be beat. Maybe see a celeb while you are there.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

Forget the Grand Ole Opry ( looking very, very tired and in need of management who care ), this hotel alone is worth the trip to Nashville. It's got history, tradition, style, and exudes a sense of good, old fashioned hospitality. Sitting in the lobby on our 4th and final day as I write these notes, enjoying the usual afternoon complimentary cup of hot spiced tea and cookie in front of a glowing fire in vaulted marble elegance. Lovely !

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed in a junior suite for 2 nights nice room good facilities but the noise from the building site outside front of hotel starts at 7am which you are not told about, also while we were there both morning there were explosions which if you are not expecting rather frightening
We ate in the Capital Grill which lacked in atmosphere and food average, we eat in the Capital Grille in Tampa regularly and there is no comparison.
The morning we left the tactics applied were, a lot of door banging,and at 8am a knock at the door to make sure we were up,check out not until 11am,also they turn the air conditioning turned off so as to make room warm so we won't hang around.
This is a beautiful hotel but do not sit back and think you can rest on your laurels, we spend a lot of time traveling and this could be a lot better. Out of town people beware taxes do add on a lot more than expected.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baltimore
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Many of the nice amenities that have been cut out of other 5 star hotels. One negative- would have liked to sit in the beautiful lobby but it was used for a wedding cocktail hour! Felt uncomfortable even going to the front desk in the middle of someone's wedding.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed in August 2012 for a long weekend getaway. Great hotel. Location was convenient. Staff was always polite and accommodating. Rooms were clean. It was a great stay, but just so expensive. I didn't think it was worth the money.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hermitage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermitage Hotel

Address: 231 Sixth Ave N, Nashville, TN 37219
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Nashville > Downtown Nashville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 151 Hotels in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hermitage Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 1910 The Hermitage Hotel is Tennessee's only Forbes Five Star and AAA Five Diamond Hotel. Reborn in 2003 The Hermitage Hotel is again a Sanctuary for travelers in the heart of Music City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your Hermitage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hermitage Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.