We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hermitage Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hermitage Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hermitage Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   231 Sixth Ave N, Nashville, TN 37219 (Downtown Nashville)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 150 hotels in Nashville
Koszalin, Poland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Hermitage is a beautiful hotel located just blocks away from Broadway Street in downtown Nashville. It is the place to be in Nashville. Great bars, restaurants, shopping, and entertainment are just a few blocks away. The rooms are large and very clean and the service was excellent.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

882 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    746
    83
    18
    19
    16
See reviews for
152
375
32
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We didn't stay at the hotel but we had drinks in the Oak Bar which is a great retreat from the action. It's a nice low key place to enjoy conversation and have a drink and or a light bite to eat. It is beautiful Oak panel room with comfortable seating. As a side note don't forget to go see the Art Deco, beautiful restored bathrooms! They are stunning...esp the men's room (I had a man stand guard so I could go look in it) Ladies see my pictures of it if you aren't daring enough to go in ;-)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Outstanding service at every level. Lots of room. If the little things matter this is your hotel. Great location to the new convention center, Broadway, stadium, and downtown country music venues.
Be ready to spent some coin for the room but the restaurant and bar are reasonable. One of the better hotels i've every stayed.

Room Tip: Corner rooms facing the capital building provide nice views. Good breakfast place: Pucketts and 417.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

My wife and I have stayed in many hotels, but the Hermitage has to be the best one we have stayed in. Our suite was really big and the bathroom was huge, with a walkin glass shower and a big sit down tube with a vanity with 2 sinks and all the extras. The place was immaculate not any dust or anything, it was spotless, the cleanest room we have ever stayed in. The bed was comfy and the linens were amazing. The breakfast we had at the Capitol Grill downstairs was really good and the service fast and the place was spotless just like the room. The lobby is something to behold with the marble and high ceilings. This place is really nice. You have to stay here when in Nashville.

Room Tip: "Get a room with a view of the Capitol building"
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Stayed here for a girls' getaway weekend at the end of August. Great location, easy walking distance to Broadway.
The rooms are spacious and comfortable. The bathroom is amazing - perfect for four girls getting ready at the same time.
We had breakfast every morning as part of our package. Food and service excellent. Also enjoyed drinks at the Oak Bar.
The service at the Hermitage is excellent. Everyone is very friendly and professional. Special thanks to Vickie the concierge, Brad and the bellman.
I would LOVE to stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood, Mississippi
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

My husband and I just visited the Hermitage and have to say it truly is a remarkable hotel! The staff is top notch in every way and make you feel like you are in the finest hotel in the world. The rooms are extremely comfortable with every amenity from robes and slippers to iPod docks. The bathroom is really where the room gets my top review, it is over the top! Trust me this hotel is a wonderful experience! Don't forget the Resturant ....wonderful food and again, top notch service!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richfield, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

This classic hotel is not new but the facilities are in perfect shape; elegant and comfortable.

I / we have stayed here three times. This past weekend being the most recent. The first time I was stranded in Nashville due to weather back home. AmEx recommended the Hermitage so I went there. I had no bags or accessories etc. Couldn't have been treated nicer. They even gave me a complimentary massage to help me recover from a long day on a bench at the airport. Needless to say, I won't ever visit Nashville without staying at the Hermitage.

My wife and I have been back twice and simply love this hotel (and we travel extensively and often). The decor, the beds, the TV's, etc. are excellent. And the bathroom is gorgeous. The water pressure and shower heads in the showers are amazing. This facility is top notch in all ways.

The restaurant is excellent but the Oak Bar is even better, extensive whiskey selection in an old clubroom atmosphere.

But what really brings us back is the customer service. I've spent 10 days camped there over the last 3 years and I have not a single complaint. The staff exude warmth and friendliness, always eager to go the extra mile.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hermitage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermitage Hotel

Address: 231 Sixth Ave N, Nashville, TN 37219
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Nashville > Downtown Nashville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 150 hotels in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hermitage Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 1910 The Hermitage Hotel is Tennessee's only Forbes Five Star and AAA Five Diamond Hotel. Reborn in 2003 The Hermitage Hotel is again a Sanctuary for travelers in the heart of Music City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Preferred Hotels, Otel and Travelocity so you can book your Hermitage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hermitage Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.