We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Historic Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hermitage Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hermitage Hotel to your Saves list
Hermitage Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   231 Sixth Ave N, Nashville, TN 37219 (Downtown Nashville)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 151 Hotels in Nashville
Laguna Niguel, California
Level Contributor
191 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
“Great Historic Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

If you like grand historic hotels, look no further. Our corner room was spacious, top rate and had a great view of the Capitol across the street. The lobby is stunning, the restaurant good and the bar atmospheric and fun. Al Gore was there on the day we visited but we just missed seeing him. Centrally located and within walking distance of the honky tonk bars and music scene.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,077 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    901
    113
    25
    21
    17
See reviews for
182
464
37
177
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

The place to stay in Nashville.We were in the US on holidays and was recommended this excellent hotel. Arrived to a smiling welcoming from the valet who assisted with our heavy luggage. You cannot help but be impressed on entering the lobby of the Hermitage.If this was what the old south was about I wish I was there.The staff were all very happy and helpful, The rooms are large and comfortable and the restaurant is lovely. The food at breakfast and dinner was excellent.If you go to the restaurant you must see the mens restrooms.Since the first visit we have returned and it was just like returning home.A warm felling of comfort provided by the staff and the beautiful building. No complaints here we loved it.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
41 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

My husband and I were not able to travel to Mexico or the Caribbean over the holidays, like we normally do, so we decided to head "south" of Indianapolis for a mini-vacation instead. The Hermitage Hotel was the second of three stops on a Louisville-Nashville-Memphis grand tour.
We stayed here several years ago and were so happy with our stay that we decided to stay here again. The staff at the Hermitage make it extremely difficult to find anything wrong with your experience while staying there. The hotel is historic and beautiful, but it is truly the staff that makes guests return again and again. All of our interactions with the staff at the Hermitage were gracious and warm.
Like other reviewers have said, the rooms are very spacious, with bathrooms that are large and well appointed. They provide great toiletries and luxurious towels. The water pressure is outstanding and I just didn't want to leave my room!
However, one must eat and drink, right? The bar located in the lower level is beautiful and very clubby in its feel. We had a drink there after we had finished dinner at Park Cafe (in west end neighborhood). We also had breakfast the next morning in the Capital Grill. We received coffee right away, but it took forever for my husband to get his waffle. I received my breakfast right away (continental). I think it was just an oversight by our waiter who may have not picked up the waffle when it was made and then had to reorder it again? The restaurant was not busy when this happened, but it was delicious when he did receive it. Not a dealbreaker, but it was odd.
The Hermitage is located a short walk from literally everything (restaurants, entertainment and bars).
The Hermitage is a great hotel that is definitely worth the extra dollars to stay here. With the exception of the "waffle incident" the stay was literally perfect, as always.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

My hubby & I went for a concert at 3rd & Lindsley to see Beth Hart. We arrived and the valet guy was right there and helped us w/ luggage.Once inside, the first thing you notice is the beautiful Lobby w/ Fireplace burning. Our room was extra nice. Large, with lots of surprises; like a weight scale in the bathroom, robes & Slippers, comp bottles of water as well as all you would expect. All the staff is very friendly & helpful . Free complimentary coffee & mini muffins in lobby in the mrning. We had to pay $26.00 for the overnight parking but noticed after ,that there is a nice public parking lot just accross the street . Centrally located for easy walking to everything. When we stayed our view out our window was Occupy Nashville in the park w/ tents everywhere. Ask about a AAA member discount.... We got a really good rate. Also we never had to wait very long for the elevator.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

My wife and I did a little Valentine's escape here last year. They actually have a special package designed just for this. The lobby of the hotel is absolutely stunning and the fragrance immediately makes you feel welcomed and invited. The staff is top notch, very attentive to the guests. Our room was large and beautifully decorated. Dinner at the Capitol Grille was excellent. If you are coming to Nashville and want an upscale experience within walking distance to most of the downtown attractions then you can do no better than the Hermitage Hotel.

Room Tip: the Suite heart package is perfect for couples wanting a romantic getaway
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

We stopped by the Hermitage Hotel on a visit to Nashville in November and instantly fell for the place. It was decked out for Christmas, you could smell cider when you walked in and the entire staff made us feel as welcomed as if we were staying there. We found ourselves enjoying breakfast in the Capitol Grille multiple mornings and starting each evening at the Oak Bar for Happy Hour.

Since we were going to be in the area at Christmas we made reservations to stay at the hotel for the Christmas weekend. It was glorious!!! Service is exceptional. We brought our cat with us for the first time ($50/extra/night) which made for a special stay. If you bring a cat, do check to make sure they include a litter box in the room. We had a small snafu with that part which got remedied immediately and the staff went overboard in ensuring we had what was needed for her. We even enjoyed bringing her with us for drinks in the lobby which seemed a positive experience for us and many guests.

Breakfast service and food in the Capitol Grille are terrific. Prices are in line as well and they accommodated numerous requests from us throughout multiple breakfasts. We also enjoyed the Oak Bar (sister bar to Capitol Grille) twice. The happy hour pricing (1/2 priced food) for a small yet interesting menu and nice vibe make it worth a stop. The fried green tomatoes with pimento are the best I have tried and the trio of different bbq sandwiches can make a meal. (I was only mixed on the cheese with ham bowl.) The Hermitage "house" wines are very good and a bargain at happy hour pricing. Service in the Oak Bar is solid yet doesn't reach the level of what we found in the Capitol Grille.

The concierge is top notch and David and Vicki both help you find solutions that fit your needs. They aren't trying to sell you on anything that doesn't resonate well with what you want to do.

The Sunday Christmas brunch at $47 with bottomless champagne was amazing and we ended our stay on that very high note. We have stayed at many nice places yet this hotel was different in that it had multiple employees that really stood out to us and warranted special recognition which we gave to the hotel. Now that I live in Nashville, I will look for reasons to come back, enjoy both the Oak Bar and Capitol Grille and stay here again. We found the pricing to be in line with the services delivered and would encourage others to come try this special place. It has the elegance of a grand historic hotel without any snobbiness. Feels like a perfect representation of the great city Nashville.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

Built at the turn of the previous century and extensively renovated, the Hermitage manages to retain an old-world sumptuous elegance and yet be totally up to date. Nice perks such as free wi-fi in rooms and a great bar where we spent a wonderful evening. Loved the bathroom with a soak-in tub and separate shower. We stayed one night, left to tour the rest of TN and returned 6 days later to catch our flight. The front door staff remembered us and made us feel like we were coming back home.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hermitage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermitage Hotel

Address: 231 Sixth Ave N, Nashville, TN 37219
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Nashville > Downtown Nashville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 151 Hotels in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hermitage Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 1910 The Hermitage Hotel is Tennessee's only Forbes Five Star and AAA Five Diamond Hotel. Reborn in 2003 The Hermitage Hotel is again a Sanctuary for travelers in the heart of Music City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hermitage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hermitage Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.