We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Place to Spend Your Wedding Night” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hermitage Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hermitage Hotel to your Saves list
Hermitage Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   231 Sixth Ave N, Nashville, TN 37219 (Downtown Nashville)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 151 Hotels in Nashville
Nashville
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Perfect Place to Spend Your Wedding Night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

My son was married on 8/13 and I booked he and his bride a room at the Hermitage Hotel for their wedding night. This is the perfect hotel. The lobby is spectacular with its stained glass ceiling and ornamentation of a bygone era. Elegance at its best. The door man in his top hat and tails sets the mood. When they arrived they were upgraded from a Junior Suite to a full one bedroom suite which was a very nice surprise! The suite had views of the Tennessee State Capital. The accommodations were lovely and the gift of champagne and chocolates was over the top. The Bride and Groom felt very special on a very special day.
This hotel is not just for newly weds. It is for anyone who wants a fabulous hotel with superior service and a staff who thinks of everything.....

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,043 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    873
    109
    23
    21
    17
See reviews for
178
447
35
173
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

If you are looking for a low key place to enjoy conversation and a fantastic mixed drink, head to the Oak Bar at the Hermitage. It is beautifully redone, lovely Oak paneling and classy comfortable seating. We sampled fried green tomatoes, "Sin Dip" and other treats while sipping drinks from heavy crystal glasses. Service was impeccable. And yes, my boyfriend took pictures of the rather impressive men's room.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

We stayed for two days at the Hermitage. We were all very impressed and about all I can say is that this is one of the few 5 star rated hotels that actually earns the rating.

This is an old historic hotel which usually means small rooms and even smaller bathrooms. However, our room on the 9th floor was quite large and the bathroom was very nice with a walk in shower seperate from the bathtub. It was much larger than I was expecting. The rooms have obviously been upgraded in the recent past and are very clean and the furniture is in great shape and comfortable. My only complaint on the room is that the windows do not open and I prefer fresh air when possible.

We used the AAA rate for our stay, and the value for the money was excellent. The only prices I would consider even the least bit high are for the valet parking and the mini-bar, but that is common with every hotel.

The lobby staff was friendly and efficient without being pushy. I also really liked how the front desk staff asked what would be the optimum time for housekeeping to service our room during our stay. This is actually the first place that has ever asked me that, and I like it!

The lobby had coffee, ice water and some cookies or muffins most of the day.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

Absolutely wonderful place to stay once again in Nashville!

The professional staff, the beautiful relaxing rooms, food, you name it, it was the best place that you must at when you visit Nashville-they will take care of you.

Thank you for making my stay wonderful!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

The rooms are very spacious. The bathroom was luxurious. We have a beautiful view of the capitol. We also liked that it was within walking distance to entertainment and restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

There is really nothing negative, and plenty positive to say about this fine histotic luxury hotel. Rooms are extremely nice and well-appointed. The amenities are of high quality and houskeeping never misses an opportunity to "straighten-up" the room. Friendly and accomodating staff. Room service meal was excellent. Ambience is marvelous. One can leave his shoes outside the door, and they will be polished and back at your room early the next morning.
Two cons. My wife and I met at the room and we both had to pay for parking. For the life of me I do not understand why these luxury hotels, given the price of the room, feel they have to make a exorbitant separate charge for the parking. Also, I received a separate charge on my bill for an expense I did not incur. However, this was easily and pleasantly resolved.
There is an exercise room but no pool. In the "basement" you can find a wonderful bar and one of, if not the best restaurants in Nashville. Be sure and check-out the men's art-deco bathroom.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville, Tennessee
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

What a wonderful treat! Everything from the hot apple cider and cookies in the lobby to the robes is just wonderful. We have stayed at the Hermitage on numerous occassions and have never been disappointed. The staff is always very courteous and helpful. The beds are beyond comfortable. The location is very convenient if you are attending any downtown event. You also have numerous restaurants options within walking distance including the Capitol Grille located within the Hotel. I wouldn't change a thing!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hermitage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermitage Hotel

Address: 231 Sixth Ave N, Nashville, TN 37219
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Nashville > Downtown Nashville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 151 Hotels in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hermitage Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 1910 The Hermitage Hotel is Tennessee's only Forbes Five Star and AAA Five Diamond Hotel. Reborn in 2003 The Hermitage Hotel is again a Sanctuary for travelers in the heart of Music City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your Hermitage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hermitage Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.