We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good surprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Music City Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sheraton Music City Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Music City Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   777 McGavock Pike, Nashville, TN 37214   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 150 hotels in Nashville
GreenLeadersBronze level
Florianopolis, SC
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“good surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

I stayed there because it is quite close to the airport and there is free shuttle. It is an old renovated hotel. The room is not big but ok. The staff was very kind and helpful. Our flight was very early and the wakeup call worked well. We appreciated it very much.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmorrissey, General Manager at Sheraton Music City Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you for your review of the hotel. I would like to say we are a great surprise, but good is good!

The hotel has the largest guestrooms in all of Nashville-Davidson County. We are teh only hotel where each guestroom has either a baclony or patio. No other hotel in Nashville has this advantage.

Sincerely,

Jim Morrissey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

764 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    243
    323
    123
    54
    21
See reviews for
160
172
47
210
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mississippi
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

This is a top notch hotel. One of my favorites. I stay in hotels 200 nights a year.
I have had an occasional snafu, but nothing big. They have always worked to try resolve any issue. The front desk staff generally are a weak link here, however I attribute it to poor training or lack of a quality policy and guidelines or poor customer service training. Rather than listening and trying to understand the needs of customers, they offer excuses. But I have not met a blatant rude CSR.
Other than that...

This hotel has a nice lobby area and restaurant & bar and the food is very good. The rooms are roomy, nice furniture, TVs, comfy beds complete from mattresses to linens.
This hotel is pet friendly which I find nice though I have never brought my pets. I have never had a bad pet odor in a room here. I have had a bad smoking room which the hotel remedied. The bathrooms are very nice, showers, towels, stone countertops, ect.
This hotel is refurbished regularly and is clean. I have never found the pet friendly thing to be an issue here and I see lots of pets coming in and out often.
This hotels is in a good and safe location!
It is a short 10 min drive to Opry Mills mall and 5 mins from the airport and about 20 mins from downtown.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmorrissey, General Manager at Sheraton Music City Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
We are a top notch hotel, thank you!

Your response was very flattering and I shared it with the management team responsible for executing the service culture.

Thank you, again, for your comments regarding your experience!

Sincerely,

Jim Morrissey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

3 night stay. First day we were given a room that did not smell right... Musty, pet odors not sure. They moved us. Next room was decent and they brought keys to us. Next morning we asked for a wakeup call as we were attending a graduation. Call never came but we woke up on time. We arrived at 3 pm and 2 of 3 rooms were not clean. They say that rooms are cleaned until 6 pm. Needed towels and asked for delivery, did not arrive timely . I was able to get dressed take and go to the lobby and finish showering before it arrived. We did hotwire as i was traveling with someone who booked a couple of rooms and we wanted to book together. Im a spg member but this was one of the worst for a Starwood. Locatiobn is not great. Tricky to get to the hotel and airport traffic (?) makes 5 mile trips 30 plus min. Adding all together stay somewhere else

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmorrissey, General Manager at Sheraton Music City Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
I thank the guest for their feedback regarding their experience at the hotel.

While it appears the hotel did attempt to recover from some service issues, we failed on several others. Please accept our sincere apologies for the lack of execution and attention to detail. This is certainly the exception, and not the rule.

Please contact me at your convenience. I would like to review the issues a little more in detail as the review was somewhat choppy, touch to follow. I would also like to take this opportunity to, "Right the wrongs" committed.

Sincerely,

Jim Morrissey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We chose Sheraton Music City because it was the only featured hotel through our points we were hoping to use that had a pool and was approximately half way from point A to point B. Boy, we were thrilled! The lobby is grand and beautiful! You almost feel as though you are driving up to an estate when you arrive, not a hotel. Check in was a little difficult and not as pleasant as it often is at a hotel lobby desk but we did get settled and were able to get the adjoining rooms we had requested. The rooms were spacious, clean and comfortable and the bedding was divine. I was able to make a wonderful little "nest" amongst the pillows and blankets and slept better that night than I had on our entire vacation. We were not one of the lucky ones with a beautiful view. We had a balcony (it was raining so it went unused) but it was more a cement box you could sit out on. I suppose it would offer supreme privacy! A nice addition would have been a little bar fridge which is nice when you're traveling and have things to keep cold. We did not eat at the hotel but we did use the indoor pool and jacuzzi. I wish I had my gym clothing handy though. The fitness facilities were the best I'd ever seen. My husband agreed and he travels a lot for work and sees a lot of hotel fitness centres. We will definitely stay at the Sheraton Music City again and will most definitely pack our gym clothes when we stay!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the side with the outdoor pool.
See more room tips
Green Features: There was a door hanger to request more environmentally friendly practice but only staying one night didn't apply to us so much.
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmorrissey, General Manager at Sheraton Music City Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
We are very happy you were able to find your thrill, up on the hill at SMC!

Thank you for your kind words and detail of your experience at the hotel. It is greatly appreciated.

Sincerely,

Jim Morrissey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

When I checked in, I was given room 2093 and when I went to bed, I found it was very noisy. There was a large air conditioning device a few metres outside my window. The next morning, I went to Reception and they were able to move me across the hall to a spacious suite that was very nice and overlooked the pool and patio.

Our meats were provided with the conference. We had some meals on the 'Veranda'. All the food was very good.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmorrissey, General Manager at Sheraton Music City Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you for your feedbacj regarding your experience at the hotel.

It is great to see we were able to upgrade your room after your first room was not to expectation. And there was really no travel involved to the new room!

We are a group/convention hotel and Revelation Software was a successful event! For both Revelation and the hotel! Our banquet food and beverage product is the best in Nashville. This is more than confidence speaking, it is fact. Our competitors do not have the F&B product and service attention to detail SMC does!

Sincerely,

Jim Morrissey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruston
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We had to make a last-minute, quick trip to Nashville, and booked this hotel late in the evening. What a good decision--the Sheraton Music City was everything you want in a hotel stay--convenient, clean, and comfy. All that, and we got a really good rate! Would stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmorrissey, General Manager at Sheraton Music City Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
We are a great last minute, first minute and anywhere in between hotel!

Thank you for your comments and we look forward to being of service in the future.

Sincerely,

Jim Morrissey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Very good room room with view of well landscaped courtyard. Excellent indoor pool/spa/gym. Lovely lobby and dining room where we had dinner. Normally we would have found a nearby restaurant with good reviews but we were tired and the hotel was too comfy to leave. What a surprise! The food and service were much better than we have come to expect from chain hotel dining rooms and just a touch more expensive than reasonably priced. We will likely stop at this hotel on our next stay in Nashville. There was only one negative: a tall, bald desk clerk who was cold, unfriendly and less than helpful to members of our family who were checking in beside us. He seemed to be very unhappy. By contrast, the woman who checked us in projected all the warmth and helpful hospitality you could ask for. Perhaps the unhappy fellow was just having a bad day. Or maybe he should consider a career in a less people-sensitive industry like, say, lawn care.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmorrissey, General Manager at Sheraton Music City Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
I thank the guest for their feedback regarding their experience at the hotel.

We are very happy to see we exceeded the expectation. Our apologies regarding the desk agent referenced. This has been addressed and I want to personally thank you for your candid comments. It does make a difference to us and our ability to rectify issues immediately.

Sincerely,

Jim Morrissey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sheraton Music City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Music City Hotel

Address: 777 McGavock Pike, Nashville, TN 37214
Location: United States > Tennessee > Nashville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Nashville
#25 Family Hotel in Nashville
#29 Business Hotel in Nashville
#37 Romantic Hotel in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Music City Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Starwood, BookIt.com, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Sheraton Music City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Hotel Nashville
Sheraton Nashville
Nashville Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Music City Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.