We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room, good location, marginal bath & plumbing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Nashville-Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Nashville-Downtown to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Nashville-Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   315 4th Avenue North, Nashville, TN 37219-1693   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book and Save up to 20%
Ranked #41 of 149 Hotels in Nashville
Bloomington, IN, United States
1 review
“Nice room, good location, marginal bath & plumbing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

The lobby and other public spaces were clean and in good repair. The guest room was clean, quiet, well furnished and appointed. The bathroom was a little disappointing. It was small, not well ventilated, and we had a host of small plumbing problems. The tub would not drain water; a problem maintenance quickly addressed. Problems we did not report included a sink drain that would not stay closed, a loose/sloppy tub faucet, and a missing clothes hook on the door.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summer W, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Nashville-Downtown, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent visit. We appreciate your kind words regarding the hotel. Please know that we will quickly investigate the challenges you had and discuss them with the appropriate departments so that they do not happen again. We hope to see you again when your travels bring you to Nashville. Please feel free to contact me directly if there is anything I can do to assist with future reservations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,095 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    359
    386
    206
    90
    54
See reviews for
140
303
36
332
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southington, Connecticut
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

This was the best stay i have had at a hotel in a very long time. Immaculately clean rooms. We had the junior suite which was excellent. Pool and gym were great
The staff from the front desk to concierge made us feel so welcome everytime we walked into the hotel. Their service was beyond 5 stars. Every staff member was courteous friendly and sometimes downright entertaining. Even the valets provided above and beyond service Breakfast was awesome with fresh eggs omelet station and great service.
I highly recommend this hotel

Room Tip: Junior suite is worth it. Lots of room fridge microwave coffee maker etc. Walk in closet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summer W, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Nashville-Downtown, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent visit. We appreciate your kind words and I will certainly pass them along to everyone on the team. Exceeding our guests expectations is our number one goal! We look forward to being your home away from home when your travels bring you to Nashville. We promise to make you feel like a VIP each and every time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Great location within a few blocks walking distance to the honky tonks and bars on Broadway, Printers Alley, the District, Downtown, NHL arena, LP field and Ryman Auditorium. We arrived early before check in time. Our room was not ready yet, however the concierge stored our bags, the front desk took our ph # number and we headed out to enjoy Nashville right away. We were able to check in before the stated check in time. All the staff that we encountered were very polite and professional. The room was spacious, with fresh smelling linens and good air conditioning. A lingering musty smell from the bathroom came from the shower curtain, which I have also experienced in 5* hotels. An easy fix. We ate hot/cold buffet breakfast at the hotel restaurant which had a chef preparing your omelet from a choice of ingredients which was a nice touch. We would definitely stay here again. Felt very safe walking back up to the hotel at 1 am, after a night on Broadway.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summer W, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Nashville-Downtown, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent visit. We appreciate your kind words and I will certainly pass them along to the team. Exceeding our guests expectations is our number one goal! We look forward to being your home away from home when your travels bring you to Nashville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, MI, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Nice hotel with very friendly/helpful staff. Food was very good to excellent. I would have given this hotel an excellent rating if it weren't for some cosmetics and noise issues. I think they could have invested more funding into the design/construction to educe noise. I would also suggest the cleaning staff interact with the maintenance staff to help identify issues in need of repair.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summer W, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Nashville-Downtown, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent visit. We appreciate your kind words and I will certainly pass them along to the team. Exceeding our guests expectations is our number one goal! We are currently working to improve the cosmetics in the lobby area. I hope that you will visit us again to see the improvements when they are complete! We look forward to being your home away from home when your travels bring you to Nashville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a wedding, because we are Hilton Honors members and this hotel was holding a block of rooms for the wedding party. The location was great, the hotel; however, needs improvement.

The hotel has been well-loved by it's many guests. You can lower the thermostat in the room but the temperature never hits anywhere near the number on the unit. The fan also turns off, even if it is left on the continuous setting. Due to this a/c issue, the room smells musty.

The bathrooms, as well as the rooms, are small. There is no safe, and no mini-fridge.

Parking is valet service, only. At $25 a day, it is pricey but it affords in and out privileges. We knew this in advance but what we were not aware of, is that it takes 15 minutes for the valets to bring your car around. Even longer if you call down from the room.

The front desk staff is not very welcoming. Granted, summer weekends are very, very, busy but the person who checked us in forgot to even offer a cookie.

The groom dropped off welcome bags for the guests staying at the hotel, and they were not delivered to the room. The front desk staff became hostile and blamed it on the valet. Turns out, the valet stuck them in a closet, and locked them away. The best man had to retrieve the bags, and distribute them himself. This is unacceptable.

Additionally, watch out for taxes. EVERYTHING was taxed. Although not the fault of the hotel, the taxes were not clear in the e-mail confirmation that listed estimated charges. We were taxed for valet parking, and then sales tax, city tax, and maybe hotel tax (?) on the room. A $150 per night room ended up costing $200 per night with taxes and parking. That's a 33% up charge. Quite a difference.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summer W, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Nashville-Downtown, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your visit. Please accept my apologies that the service did not meet your expectations. Your feedback is truly appreciated, for it is one of the most important toolsin improving the quality of our products and services. All of your comments will be internally discussed with our management team for immediate action.

Again, I thank you for your review and assure you that your feedback has been taken into consideration. I sincerely hope you give us another opportunity to stay with us next time you’re in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birchwood, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Everthing we expected was met at every chance. The room was excellent and the staff was very helpfull. The valet was the best of all enjoyed not having to park. the cookies were to die for I love staying at Double Tree. I will diffentely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summer W, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Nashville-Downtown, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent visit. We appreciate your kind words and I will certainly pass them along to the team. Exceeding our guests expectations is our number one goal! We look forward to being your home away from home when your travels bring you to Nashville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Nice hotel within an easy walk to music row and other attractions. Clean, quiet. Bathroom is small but fine. No safe in room was a disappointment. Valets parking is convenient, but pricy. There is cheaper parking across the street and at a few other places. All in all it was a good choice for us.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summer W, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Nashville-Downtown, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel. I’m happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Our main priority is for all our guests to have a welcoming and rewarding stay with us. Our guests’ feedback is incredibly important to us and I appreciate your comments. Thank you very much for your business and I do hope that next time you are in town, you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Nashville-Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Nashville-Downtown

Address: 315 4th Avenue North, Nashville, TN 37219-1693
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Nashville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in Nashville
#36 Romantic Hotel in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Nashville-Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 337
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Nashville-Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Nashville-Downtown Hotel Nashville
Doubletree Nashville
Nashville Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Nashville-Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.