We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The good and the bad....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Nashville-Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Nashville-Downtown to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Nashville-Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   315 4th Avenue North, Nashville, TN 37219-1693   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book and Save up to 20%
Ranked #41 of 149 Hotels in Nashville
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“The good and the bad....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

I booked two rooms at this hotel for a convention in town. Upon arrival we were treated very well and received a warm cookie. We booked a king room and a room with 2 queen beds. The room wtih the 2 queen beds was a decent size. Our king room was on the corner and it was literally cut in half. There were only two of us so we figured we would manage. But it was very tight and on an angle. Sleeping was difficult (and that is very rare for me) but we were very close to the elevator area and the walls were paper thin so we heard every person coming and going. And there were many people coming and going - late at night and early in the morning. Another issue we had was that it felt "seedy" walking from the hotel to the main strip where the bars were. We usually stay at the Renaissance and the walk from that hotel to the strip is much nicer and cleaner. Unfortunately, we did not get a great feel from this hotel all in all and will go back to staying at the Renaissance next year.

Room Tip: As to be located far from the elevators!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveBo14, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Nashville-Downtown, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thank you for your comments. We take the feedback from our clients very seriously. I assure you that we always do everything possible for our guest to have an outstanding stay in Nashville. We look forward to hosting you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,095 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    359
    386
    206
    90
    54
See reviews for
140
303
36
332
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christiana, Tennessee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We came to Nashville to celebrate my 2 daughters birthday. This was the only hotel available for that night. I now understand why they had rooms available. We booked this room in order not to drive after a night out in downtown Nashville. We arrived back at hotel around 2 am and proceeded to our room. We had not shut the door good when security knocked and informed us we were too loud. They had had problems on that floor the night before and they would not tolerate it again. This escalated to the point we finally packed our bags and left after no help from the night manager. We paid out $339.00 to party in downtown Nashville and have a good and safe time. Little good that did. Horrible experience for all involved and would not recommend this highly overrated and overpriced hotel to anyone! Very rude staff!!!!

Room Tip: Don't choose a room here at all.....they are very rude!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveBo14, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Nashville-Downtown, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your evening in Nashville. Our first priority is the wellbeing and safety of our guests, and we work hard to ensure these for all guests. Please contact us directly at 615-747-4803 so we can speak in person with you about this experience.

Thank you,
[
Steve Bohannon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, UK
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We stayed here for two nights and no serious issues except that the indoor pool was really quite cold! It took about five minutes to be brave enough to get in!

We mentioned it to the front desk but they didn't seem too fussed.

Valet parking is standard with the inconvenience that brings, the valet team were pretty good, however.

We were given breakfast and so became part of the 'Breakfast Club' this meant that we had access to a decent hot buffet and cold selection but we had to go in a room at the back and it was all a little odd with the staff watching TV or texting as they had little to do, it felt intimidating as if they were watching us, the second morning we asked to be seated in the 'a la carte' area and it was less oppressive.

Location is good, only a five or so minute stroll from all the action at night and they seem to be working on the decor and furniture inside.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveBo14, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Nashville-Downtown, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you for your comments. We take the feedback from our clients very seriously. I assure you that we always do everything possible for our guest to have an outstanding stay in Nashville. We look forward to hosting you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Check-in was very efficient. We arrived at 9:30PM and were quickly on the way to our room. The person checking us in explained the area to us and was VERY helpful.

The bed was uncomfortable and sagged toward the middle. Not exactly comfortable to me. The room and hotel were clean and well kept. The staff was always polite and would say Hi.

The location is pretty good. It is a 4 block walk from the hotel to Broadway. It is also a 4 block walk to 1st Ave. Bad part is up hill to return to the hotel. Plenty to do on those streets. The hotel has a shuttle that will take you "6 to 8 blocks". Return is also available.

Lots and lots of close and reasonable places to eat.

There is also a free bus that runs early AM to 6PM that stops on both sides (4th and 5th) of the hotel. Hopped on it a few times to come back to the hotel. It also gave us more sights to to see.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveBo14, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Nashville-Downtown, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
We take the feedback from our clients very seriously. We are planning replacement of our bedding in December. We are also installing new room carpet and lighting package. I will share your comments with our staff. Our commitment is to offer the very best in hotel accommodation and services. Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

We checked in after 10 pm. At 1230am we started to get ready for bed. A couple next to us starting fighting. It scared us for the girls safety so we called security. It took them 5 min to get there. Security warned them. About 30 min later the couple started to fight again. We had to call security again. At 555 am we had to leave for the airport. As we were leaving a man in his underwear was knocking at our door. We had to call security again. They did come up in minutes and found the man in the hallway "looking" for his room. We had valet bring our car up. We went outside the car the was there no valet person around but the doors were left unlock and unattended. People were hanging out on streets. Easily could have taking stuff out of car. We had to wait 3 minutes for valet to arrive with keys. Not a safe hotel at all.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveBo14, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Nashville-Downtown, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent experience with us. Please accept our sincere apologies for the issues you experience with neighboring guests, the misstep made by our valet team and for any questions of safety they caused. We take comments like these very seriously and we have discussed the incident with our employees and our security team to prevent similar occurrences in the future. Your feedback will help us improve guest safety at our property. Again, please accept our apologies for the inconvenience you experienced.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Thank you Double Tree for going out of your way to accomodate five out of towners. We appreciated the upgrade to a suite, it made our first trip to Nashville an even better experience. The hotel had everything we needed. Valet parking was a plus and the guys down there are top-notch. Thanks!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveBo14, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Nashville-Downtown, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind comments regarding your recent stay in Nashville. It is always are mission to accommodate our guest with the very best in quality product and services. We look forward to hosting you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niles, Michigan
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

I am a big fan of Hilton but this hotel is 10 times better than any other Hilton that I have stayed at. The food was great, the room was clean and comfortable and it was close to everything downtown. I attended a conference and everything was perfect. I will definately be back.

Room Tip: You can hear the church chimes at 6am. Ask to be on the other side of the hotel if this is going to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveBo14, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Nashville-Downtown, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind comments regarding your recent stay in Nashville. We have a great team that is dedicated to customer service. We look forward to hosting you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Nashville-Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Nashville-Downtown

Address: 315 4th Avenue North, Nashville, TN 37219-1693
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Nashville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in Nashville
#35 Romantic Hotel in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Nashville-Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 337
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Nashville-Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Nashville-Downtown Hotel Nashville
Doubletree Nashville
Nashville Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Nashville-Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.