We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's free history” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fort Negley Park

Fort Negley Park
1100 Fort Negley Blvd., Nashville, TN 37203
615-862-8470
Improve this listing
Ranked #129 of 261 things to do in Nashville
Attraction details
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
82 attraction reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“It's free history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

This old fort is near the baseball stadium and Cumberland Science museum. It's free to walk around the grounds and enough of the foundations are standing to get a feel for what the fort looked like. There are plenty of historical items to read about. The small visitor center is loaded with things to read and the search device is neat to see if you had a relative on either side of the civil war.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    17
    5
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great place to capture the history of Nashville during the civil war”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

This was a quick but worthwhile attraction while visiting Nashville. We visited on a Thursday afternoon. The museum and park have limited hours (it was open noon-4PM) on the day we were there. It is only a 5 minute drive from downtown Nashville. You begin the self guided tour by going through the museum and then walk outside. There are paved paths around the fort with markers that provide historic information. There is a fair amount of walking to see the entire fort (1/2 mile or so). Nice views can be seen while at the top of the fort. The museum, fort, and parking are all FREE.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Juliet, Tennessee
Top Contributor
211 reviews 211 reviews
159 attraction reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
“Enjoyed it more”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

I thought there would be little of the fort left, but for the most part the walls our still there and you can read all kinds of information on the fort. Its not the biggest fort but it still stands there I thought it was interesting that it never took a direct hit at any point during the civil war even thought it could have taken one. Whats more is its free, also if you wanna go in the vistors center make sure you check the website it has odd hours. The fort itself is open from dawn to dusk. The day I went the vistors center didn't open til noon.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texarkana, Texas
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
53 attraction reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“Important Civil War fort on the south side of downtown Nashville”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

Fort Negley was built by Union troops in 1862 to defend Nashville from attack by Confederate forces once the Union army occupied the city in February 1862. It's located on a high hill, about a mile south of downtown Nashville, and was well designed. I arrived around 5:30 PM on Thursday, June 18, and was too late to visit the museum, because they had just closed. I noticed many people were arriving and parking their cars all around the park because it was within walking distance of the baseball field next to Fort Negley, where the Nashville Sounds baseball team was having a game. Everybody was headed for the baseball field, but I turned up the path leading up the hill to the fort, and had the place to myself. There were many signs along the trail which described the various parts of the fort. I had read the park had been neglected for years, and was just recently reopened by the City of Nashville. Signs advise you to stay on the trail because the slopes of the hill are dense with overgrown vegetation. Rabbits find shelter here, because they were hopping all around. Who would expect to see so many rabbits so close to downtown Nashville? The view from on top of the hill is noteworthy, and it's interesting going through the Sally Port of the fort, and reading the historical markers about what was the function of the various parts of Fort Negley. This is a great place to stop and visit for anyone who is interested in the Civil War.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great place to take a walk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

I have always wanted to go to Fort Negley and when it was opened to the public I went. We walked it and it is a really great walk and informative too.

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort Negley Park also viewed

 

Been to Fort Negley Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fort Negley Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.