We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning Gardens and Sculptures” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cheekwood Botanical Gardens & Museum of Art

Cheekwood Botanical Gardens & Museum of Art
1200 Forrest Park Dr, Nashville, TN 37205
615-356-8000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 123 Attractions in Nashville
Type: Gardens, Art Museums
Activities: Getting married
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Experience Cheekwood, the 55-acre estate built by the Maxwell House Coffee fortune in Nashville, Tennessee, and one of the finest examples of an American Country Place Era Estate in the United States. The Botanical Garden is a spectacular showcase of color and horticultural diversity with eleven specialty display gardens and stunning natural landscape. The Museum of Art has collections of Painting, Sculpture and Decorative Arts. Visitors can enjoy year-round family-friendly activities with four distinct festivals held during the year. From Cheekwood in Bloom with more than 50,000 tulips in the Spring, to a children’s wonderland of Christmas trees, Trains, Santa, live reindeer, and more during Holiday at Cheekwood, Cheekwood celebrates the seasons in style with something for everyone!
Johnson CIty, TN
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Stunning Gardens and Sculptures”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Cheekwood Gardens are a wonderful place to spend an afternoon when you're visiting Nashville. Right now, there is a special exhibit of huge wooden bugs throughout the gardens. They are amazing! The Pineapple Restaurant is a lovely spot for lunch.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    285
    135
    37
    10
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Walk in the Gardens”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

I liked that they had a walk way to walk on and a bug statue special feature, along with a train set up when I was there.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Very nice!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

My sister and I stopped here while on a short trip in Nashville. The grounds were just beautiful. The drive here was nice; Cheekwood is in a very nice neighborhood. Loved seeing the little boys watching the outdoor train display and thought of how my son would've loved it years ago. Great place to go to to take a break from the country music overload!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Worth Every Dime!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

There is SO much to explore at Cheekwood. The exhibits change often enough that one could never get bored. The grounds are beautiful and unique. The home is a must see and so are the galleries. Cheekwood is located in a goregous part of Nashville which is an added bonus!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, United States
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Go early in the day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We visited early in the morning because it was going to be over 100 the day were explored and we picked the perfect time. There were very few other guests around and that was so nice to get to wander at your own pace and not worry about being in someone else's way while they were taking pictures of looking at the beautiful flowers. We weren't really sure about the large insect sculptures, they were unique and interesting but some beautiful art would have been better. We didn't visit the museum but instead drove up there to take pictures. If you have a garden lover in your family, this is a place you truly want to take time to visit.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cheekwood Botanical Gardens & Museum of Art also viewed

 

Been to Cheekwood Botanical Gardens & Museum of Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cheekwood Botanical Gardens & Museum of Art, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.