We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning Gardens and Sculptures” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cheekwood Botanical Gardens & Museum of Art

Cheekwood Botanical Gardens & Museum of Art
1200 Forrest Park Dr, Nashville, TN 37205
615-356-8000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 197 things to do in Nashville
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: Getting married
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Experience Cheekwood, the 55-acre estate built by the Maxwell House Coffee fortune in Nashville, Tennessee, and one of the finest examples of an American Country Place Era Estate in the United States. The Botanical Garden is a spectacular showcase of color and horticultural diversity with eleven specialty display gardens and stunning natural landscape. The Museum of Art has collections of Painting, Sculpture and Decorative Arts. Visitors can enjoy year-round family-friendly activities with four distinct festivals held during the year. From Cheekwood in Bloom with more than 50,000 tulips in the Spring, to a children’s wonderland of Christmas trees, Trains, Santa, live reindeer, and more during Holiday at Cheekwood, Cheekwood celebrates the seasons in style with something for everyone!
Johnson CIty, TN
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Stunning Gardens and Sculptures”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Cheekwood Gardens are a wonderful place to spend an afternoon when you're visiting Nashville. Right now, there is a special exhibit of huge wooden bugs throughout the gardens. They are amazing! The Pineapple Restaurant is a lovely spot for lunch.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

633 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    393
    175
    47
    12
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
69 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Walk in the Gardens”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

I liked that they had a walk way to walk on and a bug statue special feature, along with a train set up when I was there.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
Level Contributor
202 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Very nice!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

My sister and I stopped here while on a short trip in Nashville. The grounds were just beautiful. The drive here was nice; Cheekwood is in a very nice neighborhood. Loved seeing the little boys watching the outdoor train display and thought of how my son would've loved it years ago. Great place to go to to take a break from the country music overload!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Worth Every Dime!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

There is SO much to explore at Cheekwood. The exhibits change often enough that one could never get bored. The grounds are beautiful and unique. The home is a must see and so are the galleries. Cheekwood is located in a goregous part of Nashville which is an added bonus!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
40 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Go early in the day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We visited early in the morning because it was going to be over 100 the day were explored and we picked the perfect time. There were very few other guests around and that was so nice to get to wander at your own pace and not worry about being in someone else's way while they were taking pictures of looking at the beautiful flowers. We weren't really sure about the large insect sculptures, they were unique and interesting but some beautiful art would have been better. We didn't visit the museum but instead drove up there to take pictures. If you have a garden lover in your family, this is a place you truly want to take time to visit.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cheekwood Botanical Gardens & Museum of Art also viewed

 

Been to Cheekwood Botanical Gardens & Museum of Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cheekwood Botanical Gardens & Museum of Art, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.