We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful attraction” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cheekwood Botanical Gardens & Museum of Art

Cheekwood Botanical Gardens & Museum of Art
1200 Forrest Park Dr, Nashville, TN 37205
615-356-8000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 96 Attractions in Nashville
Type: Art Museums, Gardens, Museums
Activities: Getting married
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Experience Cheekwood, the 55-acre estate built by the Maxwell House Coffee fortune in Nashville, Tennessee, and one of the finest examples of an American Country Place Era Estate in the United States. The Botanical Garden is a spectacular showcase of color and horticultural diversity with eleven specialty display gardens and stunning natural landscape. The Museum of Art has collections of Painting, Sculpture and Decorative Arts. Visitors can enjoy year-round family-friendly activities with four distinct festivals held during the year. From Cheekwood in Bloom with more than 50,000 tulips in the Spring, to a children’s wonderland of Christmas trees, Trains, Santa, live reindeer, and more during Holiday at Cheekwood, Cheekwood celebrates the seasons in style with something for everyone!
Sudbury, MA
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Beautiful attraction”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

This was a second visit to Cheekwood and we were able to use our membership pass from another botanical garden to gain free admittance. Unfortunately both times we have been here it has rained and for this last visit, the rain also affected the dog show that was underway. On the positive side, the gardens are just coming into bloom as the cold weather sees to have slowed down the tulips. On the day we were there, there was a 12 o'clock tour of the main greenhouses and a 1 PM tour of the mansion. Both were excellent and worth the visit. Of course, the grounds are impressive including a miniature train setup and wonderful walkways. We thought we would be there two hours but spent over three and could have stayed more.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    299
    135
    39
    10
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Visit Often”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Each time we visit Cheekwood Botanical Gardens and Museum of Art we are reminded of what giving back to the community means - in a grand way. The entire estate is a huge gift to Nashville and holds lovely grounds, art inside and out - actually it's a place to find peace, inner peace and allow the creative part of your soul to sing.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, USA
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
52 attraction reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Come for the Botanical Gardens”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We arrived the day before the tulips were supposed to be in bloom. Wait until the end of March when many of them should be in bloom. However, the gardens were superb and we enjoyed the Sculpture Walk--especially the Girdled Figure and Glass Bridge. For me, the highlight was seeing Red Grooms' work--especially the installation of The Rembrandts.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windham, Connecticut, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A Must See in Nashville”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We fully enjoyed this estate and art museum! Even in March when the gardens were not fully in bloom Cheekwood is a 'do not miss' site. The gardens are innovative and beautiful! The mansion itself was interesting with a variety of artwork and period pieces of china, silver, etc.
Cheekwood is also easy to access and was a welcome change to the hustle and bustle of downtown. The estate and gardens are extensive and well organized; well maintained walking trails make it thoroughly enjoyable.
We didn't have children, but if you do they have a treehouse approx. 4 ft off the ground where children were having fun running around and through.
This was the type of place I would visit often if I lived in the area. There is a fee, but we pre-purchased the 'Music City Access Pass' and received a discount.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Simply Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Saw an amazing exhibit and was able to explore the museum and gargens. It was absolutely gorgoeus!! I look forward to a return visit this Spring!!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cheekwood Botanical Gardens & Museum of Art also viewed

 

Been to Cheekwood Botanical Gardens & Museum of Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cheekwood Botanical Gardens & Museum of Art, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.