We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Music Row” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Music Row

Music Row
16th/17th Ave. South - Division Street and Music Square, Nashville, TN
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$53*
and up
Ranked #62 of 96 Attractions in Nashville
Type: Historic Walking Areas, Neighborhoods, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This section of 16th Ave. serves as the headquarters of America's country music industry.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Music Row”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

I drive down Music Row at least once a week. There are recording studios that you can see from your car, but except for the park there is what you can see as you drive by.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    22
    26
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Smyrna, Tennessee
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Perhaps it deserved a better rating”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

If you're really into music, like so many folks are, this would probably rate at least a "GOOD". Not being too much into history, for me it was entertaining to a point, but not something I'd choose to do often. I believe there are a lot of folks that would find it entertaining; some might even find it exciting.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 attraction reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Proud to be a part of the "Music Row Music Makers" - the place where legends are made!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I came to Nashville 8 years ago and drove down Music Row in awe, knowing this is the street where legends have been made. Elvis, Patsy Cline, Johnny Cash, all the "Who's Who" of yesterday & today have recorded here. Then in 2005 I got my turn & recorded my songs at EMI Music on Music Row! It helps to have someone local or take a guided tour to tell you what places or what or who has recorded where and there are some great stories about some of the places too. (The hotel with the guitar shaped swimming pool that Elvis and The Beatles have both taken a swim in!) Or the bar that a country singer went to meet her lover that caused a big scandal in town! (Got you curious now?)

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Music Happens Here”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

You'll find lots of buildings and the offices and studios of most of the major stars and music labels here. Just don't expect to actually see much. It's a bunch of renovated houses and office buildings. The real excitement is when you get through the front doors!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cda, id
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Too much about party not enough about music”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

The only night we could go was a Sat. nite, and that may have been part of the problem, but Music Row was more about partying than music. The emergency vehicles lit up the street as much as the neon, too many places were standing room only and lines out the door. It seemed a tough gig for hard working musicians and business owners and just wasn't a place where I could enjoy an evening.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Music Row also viewed

 

Been to Music Row? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Music Row, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.