We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful plantation tour” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belle Meade Plantation

Belle Meade Plantation
5025 Harding Pike, Nashville, TN 37205
+1 615-356-0501
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #17 of 122 Attractions in Nashville
Type: Historic Sites
Activities: Leisure education, Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Belle Meade Plantation is a non-profit historic site located in Nashville, TN. Established in 1807, Belle Meade was revered as the greatest thoroughbred stud farm in the United States. It was home to Iroquois,the first American bred horse to win the Epsom Derby and the great foundation sire,Bonnie Scotland,whose descendants include Secretariat, Seattle Slew, Native Dancer, Big Brown and California Chrome. Belle Meade was owned and operated by the Harding-Jackson family for nearly a century from 1807 until 1906. Today their home is restored to its turn of the century appearance along with several original outbuildings.
Clear Lake, Iowa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful plantation tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Beautiful grounds. Fascinating history of the plantation, the people and the horses that lived there. Our tour guide for the plantation house was excellent. She was able to answer all of our questions. Even our 14 year old granddaughter enjoyed the tour of the house and grounds. This was a great start to our Tennessee vacation.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

996 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    557
    347
    74
    13
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Evergreen Park, Illinois
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Toured the Belle Meade last weekend with my husband and 21 and 23 year old daughters. We all really enjoyed it. Great tour guides, so much history! The wine tasting at the end of the tour is an added bonus :) We brought home some wine for ourselves and as gifts. Would definitely recommend it.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jordanstown,N Ireland
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Very Enjoyable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Good tour of a Greek Revival mansion with informative guides in period costume. The tour starts with the carriages, progresses through the mansion to the winery where samples are available. There is also a restaurant and a substantial gift shop. Would like to have stayed slightly longer than the time allowed by our tour company in order to explore the grounds more.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, WI
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“WOW - Great History”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

What a great step back in time. The home and grounds are so beautiful. There is a nice winery on grounds. All purchases go back to the plantation.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk River, Minnesota
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“worth the stop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

plan on spending a few hours here. the self guided tour of the out grounds gives you time to really enjoy all that there is to see.. the guided tour of the plantation house was awesome. our tour guide Jesse was great! could answer most question's and honest enough to admit when he could not. Would stop again, history of the usa is always something we love to learn about!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Belle Meade Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belle Meade Plantation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.