We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Enjoyable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Belle Meade Plantation

Belle Meade Plantation
5025 Harding Pike, Nashville, TN 37205
+1 615-356-0501
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
and up
Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and...
Ranked #10 of 200 things to do in Nashville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Belle Meade Plantation is a non-profit historic site located in Nashville, TN. Established in 1807, Belle Meade was revered as the greatest thoroughbred stud farm in the United States. It was home to Iroquois,the first American bred horse to win the Epsom Derby and the great foundation sire,Bonnie Scotland,whose descendants include Secretariat, Seattle Slew, Native Dancer, Big Brown and California Chrome. Belle Meade was owned and operated by the Harding-Jackson family for nearly a century from 1807 until 1906. Today their home is restored to its turn of the century appearance along with several original outbuildings.
Jordanstown,N Ireland
Level Contributor
97 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Very Enjoyable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Good tour of a Greek Revival mansion with informative guides in period costume. The tour starts with the carriages, progresses through the mansion to the winery where samples are available. There is also a restaurant and a substantial gift shop. Would like to have stayed slightly longer than the time allowed by our tour company in order to explore the grounds more.

Visited May 2014
Thank Travelkidx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,698 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Appleton, WI
Level Contributor
242 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“WOW - Great History”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

What a great step back in time. The home and grounds are so beautiful. There is a nice winery on grounds. All purchases go back to the plantation.

Visited June 2014
Thank Wiscmom2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk River, Minnesota
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“worth the stop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

plan on spending a few hours here. the self guided tour of the out grounds gives you time to really enjoy all that there is to see.. the guided tour of the plantation house was awesome. our tour guide Jesse was great! could answer most question's and honest enough to admit when he could not. Would stop again, history of the usa is always something we love to learn about!

Visited June 2014
1 Thank char m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan Hill, California
Level Contributor
236 reviews
82 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Great Mansion Tour, Self Guided Grounds Tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

The mansion tour is well worth the $16 per person (less for seniors). Very informational and interesting considering they owned a horse who's lineage traces down to every Kentucky Derby winner since I don't know when (a long time ago). The mansion and furnishings are impeccable. The grounds aren't lush with flowers, but well groomed.
The winery was okay, but we didn't care for the wines.
Worh the visit.

Visited June 2014
Thank Donrosel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A lovely book tour!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Four friends and I toured the mansion and grounds after reading the book 'To Whisper Her Name' by Tamera Alexander. Belle Meade offers tours specific for readers of this book, which is based on Civil War facts based in and around Nashville. All four of us loved this book....and our guide, Margaret, did an outstanding job of answering all of our questions and showing us every nook and cranny related to the book that we wanted to see. After our tour, we visited the winery and the restaurant......and left the plantation agreeing that this was the best girl outing that we have ever had.

Visited June 2014
Thank JEP_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Belle Meade Plantation also viewed


Been to Belle Meade Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing