We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW - Great History” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belle Meade Plantation

Belle Meade Plantation
5025 Harding Pike, Nashville, TN 37205
+1 615-356-0501
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #17 of 123 Attractions in Nashville
Type: Historic Sites
Activities: Leisure education, Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Belle Meade Plantation is a non-profit historic site located in Nashville, TN. Established in 1807, Belle Meade was revered as the greatest thoroughbred stud farm in the United States. It was home to Iroquois,the first American bred horse to win the Epsom Derby and the great foundation sire,Bonnie Scotland,whose descendants include Secretariat, Seattle Slew, Native Dancer, Big Brown and California Chrome. Belle Meade was owned and operated by the Harding-Jackson family for nearly a century from 1807 until 1906. Today their home is restored to its turn of the century appearance along with several original outbuildings.
Appleton, WI
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“WOW - Great History”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

What a great step back in time. The home and grounds are so beautiful. There is a nice winery on grounds. All purchases go back to the plantation.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,085 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    609
    373
    84
    14
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Elk River, Minnesota
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“worth the stop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

plan on spending a few hours here. the self guided tour of the out grounds gives you time to really enjoy all that there is to see.. the guided tour of the plantation house was awesome. our tour guide Jesse was great! could answer most question's and honest enough to admit when he could not. Would stop again, history of the usa is always something we love to learn about!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan Hill, California
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
69 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Great Mansion Tour, Self Guided Grounds Tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

The mansion tour is well worth the $16 per person (less for seniors). Very informational and interesting considering they owned a horse who's lineage traces down to every Kentucky Derby winner since I don't know when (a long time ago). The mansion and furnishings are impeccable. The grounds aren't lush with flowers, but well groomed.
The winery was okay, but we didn't care for the wines.
Worh the visit.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburgh,IN
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A lovely book tour!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Four friends and I toured the mansion and grounds after reading the book 'To Whisper Her Name' by Tamera Alexander. Belle Meade offers tours specific for readers of this book, which is based on Civil War facts based in and around Nashville. All four of us loved this book....and our guide, Margaret, did an outstanding job of answering all of our questions and showing us every nook and cranny related to the book that we wanted to see. After our tour, we visited the winery and the restaurant......and left the plantation agreeing that this was the best girl outing that we have ever had.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great Historical Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

My friend and I met someone at a bar and they told us we had to visit the Belle Meade Plantation, so we looked into it. We are both really glad we followed that person's advice because we had an awesome time. The tour was amazing. We had Michael as our tour guide and he was very impressive! He was able to answer everyone's questions and provide great detail about the plantation and its occupants. Outside of the tour, there are several other buildings to see on the grounds that are very interesting. At the end of the tour you can go to the winery for tastings. The employees have a few picked out, but once the tasting is over, you can request to taste any others you had wanted to sample. They also have chocolatiers! We each bought two bottles of wine and some chocolates. We had the best time here! We would recommend it for small children as you are in the mansion for an hour and you can't touch anything, plus, you have to go up and down the staircases. If children are a little older, it seems like a great family place. This is definitely and must see!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Belle Meade Plantation also viewed

 

Been to Belle Meade Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belle Meade Plantation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.