We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So much to see!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hermitage, Home of President Andrew Jackson

The Hermitage, Home of President Andrew Jackson
4580 Rachel's Lane, Nashville, TN 37076-1344
615-889-2941
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$62*
and up
Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and...
Ranked #11 of 96 Attractions in Nashville
Type: Historic Sites, Museums, History Museums, Landmarks
Activities: Arts and crafts, Leisure education
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Hermitage, Home of President Andrew Jackson, is one of the largest and most visited presidential homes in the United States. Today, The Hermitage is a 1,120-acre National Historic Landmark with over 30 historic buildings,that welcomes some 180,000 annual visitors, including 30,000 schoolchildren, from all 50 states and many foreign countries.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“So much to see!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

The grounds are beautiful and the tour through the house was amazing. What a great way to get a history lesson. Walking the property was like going back in time.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,475 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    921
    450
    88
    11
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Medina, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Do the Wagon Ride”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Took the wagon ride with Craig, the most interesting tour guide and story teller I have ever heard. The wagon is horse-drawn and covered the places were the slaves would be working and living. Went through fields where crops would have been and with a little bit of imagination you could be back in time. The house is filled with furnishings from the Jackson family.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very interesting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

We really enjoyed our visit here. Fascinating place! I would strongly urge anyone interested in history to come here.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice tour, rushed tour guides”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

Just came back from our tour. The home is beautiful and the wallpaper and furniture are original. We enjoyed the history and the audio tour guide and are invited back another day to see the film we missed because we ran out of time. The only negative is the tours are run very close together and only permit a couple of questions before the next tour group is encroaching into your space and the tour guide quickly escorts your group to the next section of the house.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Place to Visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

I spent a few hours exploring the grounds, but you could easily spend 4-5 hours here listening to the audio tour. The audio tour is one that you don't have to go in order but you can go to areas you want to go to. There is a wagon ride that will take you back to where the slave quarters were located. They are doing some archeological digging to learn more about the people who lived on the plantation. The mansion is air-conditioned and is a nice retreat from the heat. If you are going to be here during lunch you might want to bring a picnic lunch since they only have a few snacks available. I recommend this tour for all ages.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hermitage, Home of President Andrew Jackson also viewed

 

Been to The Hermitage, Home of President Andrew Jackson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hermitage, Home of President Andrew Jackson, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.