We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very interesting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hermitage, Home of President Andrew Jackson

The Hermitage, Home of President Andrew Jackson
4580 Rachel's Lane, Nashville, TN 37076-1344
615-889-2941
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #10 of 122 Attractions in Nashville
Type: Historic Sites, Museums, History Museums
Activities: Arts and crafts, Leisure education
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: The Hermitage, Home of President Andrew Jackson, is one of the largest and most visited presidential homes in the United States. Today, The Hermitage is a 1,120-acre National Historic Landmark with over 30 historic buildings,that welcomes some 180,000 annual visitors, including 30,000 schoolchildren, from all 50 states and many foreign countries.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Santa Barbara, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very interesting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

We really enjoyed our visit here. Fascinating place! I would strongly urge anyone interested in history to come here.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,292 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    814
    392
    73
    10
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice tour, rushed tour guides”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

Just came back from our tour. The home is beautiful and the wallpaper and furniture are original. We enjoyed the history and the audio tour guide and are invited back another day to see the film we missed because we ran out of time. The only negative is the tours are run very close together and only permit a couple of questions before the next tour group is encroaching into your space and the tour guide quickly escorts your group to the next section of the house.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Place to Visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

I spent a few hours exploring the grounds, but you could easily spend 4-5 hours here listening to the audio tour. The audio tour is one that you don't have to go in order but you can go to areas you want to go to. There is a wagon ride that will take you back to where the slave quarters were located. They are doing some archeological digging to learn more about the people who lived on the plantation. The mansion is air-conditioned and is a nice retreat from the heat. If you are going to be here during lunch you might want to bring a picnic lunch since they only have a few snacks available. I recommend this tour for all ages.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Afternoon, Time Well Spent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Plan on at least a 3 hour stay when you visit the Hermitage. The walking tour alone takes a good 2 hours. We also took the horse-drawn carriage tour around the grounds.

If you are at all interested in history or the government or how folks lived in the old days, this tour is for you. Plenty of information about Andrew Jackson before, during and after his presidency, as well as his family. It was very much like walking back in time. But there's a lot of ground to cover on this walk back in time, so bring comfortable shoes!

The grounds are beautiful and the staff is helpful and knowledgeable.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cadiz, Kentucky, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Wonderful walk through History”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

This was a wonderful day spent on great grounds. The film prior to the tour was quite informative. The audio tour was a bit hard to deal with but one the the equipment was handled was ok. Bring your walking shoes as this is about 2.5 to 3 hours of walking. Wish we could have went into rooms of the Mansion like another Mansion tour in the area but you could see the rooms well through the glass. Air conditioning was working well as it was a warm day when I visited. Would highly recommend this tour to all ages.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hermitage, Home of President Andrew Jackson also viewed

 

Been to The Hermitage, Home of President Andrew Jackson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hermitage, Home of President Andrew Jackson, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.