We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably better in Spring/Summer/Fall not Winter!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Hermitage, Home of President Andrew Jackson

The Hermitage, Home of President Andrew Jackson
4580 Rachel's Lane, Nashville, TN 37076-1344
615-889-2941
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$62*
and up
Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and...
Ranked #11 of 96 Attractions in Nashville
Type: Historic Sites, Museums, History Museums, Landmarks
Activities: Arts and crafts, Leisure education
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Hermitage, Home of President Andrew Jackson, is one of the largest and most visited presidential homes in the United States. Today, The Hermitage is a 1,120-acre National Historic Landmark with over 30 historic buildings,that welcomes some 180,000 annual visitors, including 30,000 schoolchildren, from all 50 states and many foreign countries.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
VA
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Probably better in Spring/Summer/Fall not Winter!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I went to see the Home of President Andrew Jackson in February! Unless you really like the COLD I would recommend going during another season of the year. Plus, I am sure that the grounds have more beauty during other seasons and especially the Spring and Summer. The Fall is probably nice! We were a little disappointed in how quick the tour was through the house. We went back to where we came in and asked for someone to help and give us more information about the hermitage. One lady, in a wheelchair, came to help us and was very good. Overall this was okay; however, I may not go back because of the cost and defiantly not during the Winter. I was visiting Nashville and thought that this attraction would be good; however, I was a little disappointed.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,501 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    934
    463
    88
    11
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mpls, MN
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A fair portrayal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

The Hermitage is a large acreage and you could easily spend a full day there. Unlike many historic visits, they have gone out of their way to provide a fair portrayal of Andrew Jackson - a very interesting character! While it doesn't give you full details on the many background details - it doesn't ignore them completely either. The audio tour is OK; the movie and actual live tour of the house are very good and provide plenty of opportunities for questions.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful House and Interesting Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

I visited the Hermitage on President's Day which I thought quite fitting. The Hermitage is unique from similar sights because it has been preserved in its original condition. The tour guides were knowledgable and shared several interesting insights into the Jackson household.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Historic and Beautiful grounds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

The docents were knowledgeable. The grounds are immaculate. The wallcovering in the home is stunning and over 125 years old, ask about the wallcovering on the second floor as the story will amaze you. Plush and beautiful!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyles, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Visit with Mom & Dad.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We took my parents to the Hermitage on one of their visits to Nashville. It was a very nice day & we enjoyed the visit very much. My parents are no longer with us but I have pictures of that visit are some of my favorite memories.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hermitage, Home of President Andrew Jackson also viewed

 

Been to The Hermitage, Home of President Andrew Jackson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hermitage, Home of President Andrew Jackson, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.