We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well Worth The Visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ryman Auditorium

Ryman Auditorium
116 Fifth Ave N, Nashville, TN 37219
615 889 3060
Website
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #4 of 121 attractions in Nashville
Type: Theaters, Concerts
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: One of the most famous concert halls in the history of country music, this auditorium still hosts live music events.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
McKinney, Texas
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Well Worth The Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We had wanted to stop by and wound up taking the back-stage tour. The guide was friendly and knowledgable. We thoroughly enjoyed the visit. The history of this place is really amazing.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,364 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,718
    518
    103
    16
    9
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“See a concert here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Great place to see and hear music. Not really great seating from a comfort perspective (can you say early church pew?), but that's what it is. Acoustics are really good and a more intimate setting to listen to musicians

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Soak It In...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

I have traveled all over the country, and spent a lot of time at concert halls and venues that have a history and charm that is palpable, but none, not even the Grizzly Rose or Gruene Hall can touch the cathedral that Captain Ryman built on 5th Avenue. Whether you sit on a front row pew or in the Confederate Gallery, every seat puts you in the perfect place to enjoy a show. Every winter The Grand Ole Opry makes a return to its home, and the performances make for a very enchanted Saturday night.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“To stand where Johnny Cash fell!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

A really great tour of the Ryman Auditorium where for years, the Grand Old Opry was performed and broadcast. I recomend the backstage tour, "Art" was the name of our tour guide, and he knew his stuff. This is the 2nd time I have visited and it was so much better. Our first trip to Nashville was a stop over, and we were pushed for time. This attraction deserves time to take in all the information available!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NL
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Alot of history at The Ryman”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

When visiting Nashville, be sure to tour the Ryman! You can do a self-guided tour or an organized tour, which we did. The staff is very friendly,and our tour guide was Nicole Unser who was very knowledgeable and so much fun! We toured the backstage dressing rooms and also went on stage - there is so much history in this building. It was very interesting and well worth the money!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ryman Auditorium also viewed

 

Been to Ryman Auditorium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ryman Auditorium, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Ryman Auditorium to your Saves list