We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for rewal country fans” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Country Music Hall of Fame and Museum

Country Music Hall of Fame and Museum
222 Fifth Avenue S, Nashville, TN 37203 (Downtown Nashville)
615-416-2001
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #15 of 122 Attractions in Nashville
Type: Specialty Museums, Museums
Activities: Leisure education
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: This museum highlights the history of country music from its birthplace in the Music City to present-day.
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Great for rewal country fans”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

A lovely building, slightly odd staff and three floors that are obviously great for real country music officiandos. We found it mildly interesting, the hall of fame was good and the wall of hits was impressive. Some interactive elements good on the second floor. It was very busy with coach parties of elderly fans who rather slowed the viewing poroicess, but who were really enjoying it. We felt it was expensive for the content, and would recommend the Johnny Cash museum about 5 mins away for an informative museum as a better and cheaper alternative.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AtTheHall, Ticketing Services Manager at Country Music Hall of Fame and Museum, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
We appreciate your recent visit and your feedback! Admission fees help ensure that we are able to bring the music to life, telling the story of country music from beginning to now, so we are grateful for each of our guests and will take your input into consideration.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,643 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,568
    792
    252
    28
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Country music lovers dream!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Loved most everything about this museum. I wasn't familiar with a lot of the old country, but still found the displays fascinating. My main reason for going was to see the Reba exhibit, which was so awesome! They also currently have a Miranda Lambert exhibit where you can see a lot of her clothes and other personal items. There are displays for old country and new country lovers. Something for everyone. We took a long time going thru the museum, so, we left for lunch and then came back. There is food downstairs in the museum, looked like sandwiches. Get your tickets online before you come or come early. Lucky for us, we came in the side entrance and it was not as crowded and we got thru pretty quick (15 min). The line at the main entrance was so incredibly long, I bet those people had to wait and hour just to purchase tickets. Plan ahead! Get there early and stay late! Cameras welcome. Gift shops available and also accesible without a museum ticket. Cost was around $21 I think. I found a coupon for a dollar off at visit nashville.com

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fort dodge
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Something for everyone”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

Not a big country fan, but was along for the ride with the group. Twenty five dollars for the base tour. I found it entertaining and informative. Lots of special exhibits i.e. Reba. Lots of history of country music with all the changes and variations over time. At the end of the tour is a large round room that has plaques of all the HOF inductees, was interesting to see them all. We were there three hours just to soak it all in.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A Lot Of Country Music History Under One Roof!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We really enjoyed our visit to the Country Music Hall of Fame & Museum. The Reba McEntire exhibit was going on when we visited and that was great! For those who haven't followed country music from it's roots (like me), there were a lot of exhibits for stars who I wasn't familiar with. We enjoyed the second floor the most since it focuses more on the stars of the last fifty to sixty years - most of whom we had heard of. We paid the extra money for the audio but, in hindsight, it wasn't worth it. Unless you plan to spend all day in the museum, it just takes too long to read all the information for the exhibits plus listen to the audio. In fact, allow a good three hours to visit. We arrived at 2:30 in the afternoon and the museum closes promptly (and I mean promptly) at 5:00. We and many others were practically run out - politely, of course - at 5:00 p.m. It's a must see if you are in Nashville.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice place to visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

It was nice but disappointing with the lack of coverage on certain artist. I expected to see more than a Johhny Cash outfit. I guess since he has his own museum. There wasn't much on Dolly Parton either. Nice to walk around though.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Country Music Hall of Fame and Museum also viewed

 

Been to Country Music Hall of Fame and Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Music Hall of Fame and Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;