We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Lot Of Country Music History Under One Roof!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Music Hall of Fame and Museum

Country Music Hall of Fame and Museum
222 Fifth Avenue S, Nashville, TN 37203 (Downtown Nashville)
615-416-2001
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #16 of 123 Attractions in Nashville
Type: Specialty Museums, Museums
Activities: Leisure education
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: This museum highlights the history of country music from its birthplace in the Music City to present-day.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A Lot Of Country Music History Under One Roof!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We really enjoyed our visit to the Country Music Hall of Fame & Museum. The Reba McEntire exhibit was going on when we visited and that was great! For those who haven't followed country music from it's roots (like me), there were a lot of exhibits for stars who I wasn't familiar with. We enjoyed the second floor the most since it focuses more on the stars of the last fifty to sixty years - most of whom we had heard of. We paid the extra money for the audio but, in hindsight, it wasn't worth it. Unless you plan to spend all day in the museum, it just takes too long to read all the information for the exhibits plus listen to the audio. In fact, allow a good three hours to visit. We arrived at 2:30 in the afternoon and the museum closes promptly (and I mean promptly) at 5:00. We and many others were practically run out - politely, of course - at 5:00 p.m. It's a must see if you are in Nashville.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,800 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,673
    831
    264
    29
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice place to visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

It was nice but disappointing with the lack of coverage on certain artist. I expected to see more than a Johhny Cash outfit. I guess since he has his own museum. There wasn't much on Dolly Parton either. Nice to walk around though.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, IL
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Country Music Hall of Fame Pretty Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

If you love music, you'll like the Country Music Hall of Fame. I booked the Platinum package to be able to take the Studio B tour (the only way it's offered). The recorders that came with the package were such a waste of money though. When we first started the tour, everyone was trying to use them, but the recordings at each numbered stop are just too long & it wasn't long until we noticed that very few people were listening to them anymore. It's a shame that you can't book the Studio B tour by itself---all four of us agreed that it was the highlight of the trip.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barry wales
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“interesting museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Well worth a visit to see memorabila of the stars and some of its history. And to get out of the heat of the city.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nashville
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Country Music at its Finest!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

I was entertaining a couple from Australia and took them to the Country Music Hall of Fame.
Impressive from the very beginning, I was sorry I didn't allow more time for the whole exhibit. I didn't realize you could sit and listen or sit and watch video of any entertainer you could think of. We watched old reels of Johnny Cash and Merle Haggard. Reba's All the Women that I am was very heartwarming. Don't miss out on sitting in the recording booth and singing over a track and listening to your recording. You will think you are the star. Our friends were very impressed and so were we. Well worth the money.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Country Music Hall of Fame and Museum also viewed

 

Been to Country Music Hall of Fame and Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Music Hall of Fame and Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.