We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Customer Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Nashville Vanderbilt/West End

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Nashville Vanderbilt/West End to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Nashville Vanderbilt/West End
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1901 West End Avenue, Nashville, TN 37203   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #51 of 151 Hotels in Nashville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New Orleans, Louisiana
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent Customer Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We were in Nashville for the 4th of July. I highly recommend if you are in the area to attend the fireworks display. It was phenomenal! The hotel staff was extremely pleasant when answering my husband's 100 questions. Never rolled their eyes or sounded nasty. The shuttle dropped us near the festivities and took us back to the hotel afterwards. It was quite nice.

The rooms are clean, comfortable and deliver the Marriott expectations. One patron said they are noisy. Yes, we listened to a band in the near by restaurant, even opened our window to hear them better, after we got back to our room but it was a good band and not obnoxious. We enjoyed it. We could not hear anyone else in the hallways or in the room next to us though.

We enjoyed our stay very much.

Room Tip: If you want a room with less noise, ask for a room in Tower 2 facing the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    84
    29
    13
    6
See reviews for
41
39
4
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Augustine, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

As we were checking out this morning, another guest returned to the hotel with donuts for the hotel staff as a simply gesture to express her appreciation for the fine service she had received. I think that speaks volumes about the quality of the staff; everyone we encountered was committed to their company's motto: "whatever it takes."

This hotel is in a great location, offers a free shuttle in the downtown area, has Starbucks, a simple bar, and offers a basic food menu in the cafe. I prefer this business model to the "free breakfast" many other hotels provide. The free internet also worked fine.

We arrived on a Saturday afternoon and the place was very busy; I was worried it would be noisy, but that was not an issue. It was quiet all three nights we stayed here.

A couple of things could have been better. The air conditioning was either really cold or too warm; we regularly had to adjust it during the day. The television was inadequate. I think they stream the signal over the wifi (?); whatever they are doing it is not working. The room was smallest although we did have a small sofa which was appreciated.

Would I return to this hotel. Absolutely, but I would insist on a better TV!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

The hotel itself is a little tired but well worth the price paid. What stands out here is the high level of service provided by its employees from Lisa at the front desk to the maids and maintenance staff. Marriott should use this hotel as a model for its customer service training ... outstanding! The hotel is a little more than walking distance to downtown but the free hotel shuttle will get you there in minutes! We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conover, North Carolina
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Upon checking into the hotel we were warmly greeted by the staff! Our room was a king suite. Very large and decorated nicely. The problem was that the walls are apparently very thin as we could hear people in the rooms around especially in the bathrooms. This hotel is in the Vanderbilt
area and their are bars surrounding it. One of the bars had a rock band playing and it was almost like they were in our room. This was on a Wednesday night and went on until 12:00 am. Not the hotels fault but would not stay in the location again!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zsuzsa N, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Nashville Vanderbilt/West End, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you for taking the time and sharing your experience with the Courtyard Nashville Vanderbilt/West End. I apologize that your recent stay was not satisfactory. Some of our guests will chose our hotel due to the close proximity to live venues; however we understand that this may not be the most desirable atmosphere for all of our guests. We hope that you will give us another opportunity and stay with us again and for your future reference you can request a room in the tower that is not facing the street where the music is coming from.
Once again, thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Liked the location - close to downtown, The Gulch and Vanderbilt. Property is clean and well maintained - typical for a Courtyard. Layout is a little odd - two towers connected by an enclosed walkway so you have to pay attention to which elevator bank to use. We were in the back tower which was convenient since we had direct access to the parking garage via the back tower elevators. Staff was friendly. They do offer valet parking which is unique for most Courtyards.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

I stayed here at the West End Courtyard this past weekend for a business conference. I am a Marriott Rewards Platinum member, so I have come to know the brand well.

The rooms, lobby, bistro and business center are fairly standard for a Courtyard - clean and comfortable. There was not a lot of noise from inside or outside the hotel. The only thing keeping me from a 5-star rating was the elevator was really SLOW which could be frustrating when you're meeting customers or trying to catch the shuttle. Leave time for waiting!

The staff is what makes this hotel special. Everyone was friendly and eager to assist in any way. Our shuttle driver, Coach Bubba, was an absolute highlight and offered up suggestions for things to do and see. The desk staff was incredibly helpful as well....hailing cabs....calling restaurants....we wanted for nothing. I wish I could mention everyone by name.

I hope to come back to Nashville for fun in the near future and I'l be staying right here again.
Thanks y'all!

Room Tip: lower floor if you don't want to deal with the elevator wait....
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

I stayed here at the West End Courtyard this past weekend for a business conference. I am a Marriott Rewards Platinum member, so I have come to know the brand well.

The rooms, lobby, bistro and business center are fairly standard for a Courtyard - clean and comfortable. There was not a lot of noise from inside or outside the hotel. The only thing keeping me from a 5-star rating was the elevator was really SLOW which could be frustrating when you're meeting customers or trying to catch the shuttle. Leave time for waiting!

The staff is what makes this hotel special. Everyone was friendly and eager to assist in any way. Our shuttle driver, Coach Bubba, was an absolute highlight and offered up suggestions for things to do and see. The desk staff was incredibly helpful as well....hailing cabs....calling restaurants....we wanted for nothing. I wish I could mention everyone by name.

I hope to come back to Nashville for fun in the near future and I'l be staying right here again.
Thanks y'all!

Room Tip: lower floor if you don't want to wait for the slow elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Nashville Vanderbilt/West End? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Nashville Vanderbilt/West End

Address: 1901 West End Avenue, Nashville, TN 37203
Location: United States > Tennessee > Nashville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Romantic Hotel in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Nashville Vanderbilt/West End 3*
Number of rooms: 226
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly Renovated Rooms/Lobby/Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, EasyToBook, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Marriott, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Nashville Vanderbilt/West End reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Nashville Vanderbilt/West End Hotel Nashville
Courtyard Nashville Vanderbilt
Nashville Marriott
Nashville Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Nashville Vanderbilt/West End, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.