We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, nice rooms, good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Nashville Vanderbilt/West End

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Nashville Vanderbilt/West End to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Nashville Vanderbilt/West End
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1901 West End Avenue, Nashville, TN 37203   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #53 of 151 Hotels in Nashville
Coral Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
98 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, nice rooms, good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel on a 3 day business trip to Nashville. Luckily I didn't need the provided earplugs, the room was quiet on Monday and Tuesday nights. The staff were very friendly and warm and the room seemed updated and clean. My only gripe was the lighting for the sink, it takes a while for the fluorescent fixture to 'warm up' and even then it's dark even for a guy. A lighted swing-arm mirror might be in order for this area. And the elevators are horribly slow. Apparently I had two gripes. Apart from those minor inconveniences, my stay was very pleasant.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    97
    34
    14
    6
See reviews for
49
45
5
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

We had to stay unexpectedly overnight in Nashville because my husband needed a biopsy and we were unable to get into the regular Marriott because it was graduation night for Vanderbilt. The hotel was kind enough to call just 6 blocks down the street to the Courtyard and they had plenty of room.
The check-in was quick and everyone was very friendly. Valet parking was expensive at $30 per night but my husband was unable to navigate very well and we took it anyway. The room was half the price of the other Marriott at $159 so that was a good thing.
The room itself was acceptable; nice sheets, nice television, quiet a/c. BUT the room was so noisy! The valet parking circle creates an echo and cars pulled in and out all night. The valet staff was laughing and joking and because of the acoustics we could hear every word. West End, the street outside, is very busy, too and because of the hotel's proximity to the hospital district we heard constant sirens.
The hotel sits on a corner and one one corner there is a gas station (noisy) and on the other corner there is a new office building going up.
The hotel has a "Bistro" that we ordered from (no room service) and the food was reasonable if limited. See my review, separate from this review.
If you want to wash your hair bring your own shampoo and creme rinse because the complimentary one is about the size of your index finger.
The hotel is a good value if you want a clean, upgraded room with nice sheets and tv. We did not have any blankets in the room, but when I called downstairs and asked for a blanket a man was dispatched immediately (less that 2 or 3 minutes) with both the blanket and the menu, which was not in the room to order from.
Good value but a little noisy.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the BACK of the hotel and nowhere near the valet parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

Spent 4 nights for the Women's Final 4. Location is approximately 1 mile from downtown area - Broadway - The District, Convention Center and Arena. Hotel has courtesy shuttle within 2 miles of hotel. There's also a great scene of other restaurants and bars right next to the hotel. The lobby has been updated and is comfy. The room needs updating - dated and tired. The staff was friendly and helpful and NO attitude. We saved over $1K for the 4 nights by selecting this hotel vs ones located closer in to downtown. I would still make this decision if I ever made my way back to Nashville.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zsuzsa N, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Nashville Vanderbilt/West End, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Thank you for taking the time and sharing your experience with the Courtyard Nashville Vanderbilt/West
End.
We truly appreciate your positive feedback and glad to hear that our team left a positive impression.
We are looking forward to welcome you back on your next trip to Nashville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

We were in town for a family event. Several family members were staying at the hotel and we found it easy to socialize and spend time together. Nice breakfast cafe with plenty of seating, several nice seating areas throughout the hotel, easy self-parking connected to the hotel, comfortable rooms, convenient location.

Room Tip: Windows can open so upper floors are less noisy.
See more room tips
Green Features: Standard practice on re-using linens. No recycle bin in room.
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zsuzsa N, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Nashville Vanderbilt/West End, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Thank you for taking time to post your positive feedback from your recent visit to our hotel. We're pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope that when your plans bring you back to Nashville, you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back!
Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level Contributor
127 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

As mentioned elsewhere, the staff was very accommodating, and the room was well suited to conducting business/working on line. The shuttle was great - we left our car valet parked for our 24 hour visit, using the shuttle to get to dinner and to meetings downtown the next morning. We only had to wait a few minutes each time and were dropped off right at the door, which was much faster and less hassle than trying to park somewhere. Just allow extra time in case they're busy. Our room on the fourth floor overlooked the gas station next door, which was actually a rather interesting view, and wasn't noisy for sleeping. Street noise was loud when trying to work in the room during the day, however. Overall a pretty good experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

Pros - Location, Service consistent with Marriott standards, Great staff, Bistro Cafe

Cons - Can be noisy, very limited parking.

Tips - If you're a light sleeper, ask for a room in tower 2, away from the front of the hotel. Valet park your car. It's worth the $22/day to avoid parking hassles.

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Bluff, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

I was there on a business trip. Gary J. was wonderful. He welcomed us at the end of a long day, and went out of his way to make our experience great. There was a lot of construction ongoing around the property, but all the staff could not have been more helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Nashville Vanderbilt/West End? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Nashville Vanderbilt/West End

Address: 1901 West End Avenue, Nashville, TN 37203
Location: United States > Tennessee > Nashville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Romantic Hotel in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Nashville Vanderbilt/West End 3*
Number of rooms: 226
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly Renovated Rooms/Lobby/Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Marriott and Hotels.com so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Nashville Vanderbilt/West End reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Nashville Vanderbilt/West End Hotel Nashville
Courtyard Nashville Vanderbilt
Nashville Courtyard
Nashville Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Nashville Vanderbilt/West End, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.