We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Remodeled hotel, friendly staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Nashville Vanderbilt/West End

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Orbitz.com Courtyard.com
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Nashville Vanderbilt/West End
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1901 West End Avenue, Nashville, TN 37203   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #37 of 150 hotels in Nashville
OHIO
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Remodeled hotel, friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Took a girls trip to Nashville in March 2013. Found a great rate at this Courtyard Marriott so we snatched it up!
This hotel is newly renovated and in a great location- between downtown and Vanderbilt. There are several restaurants/ bars in walking distance but there is also a complimentary shuttle to take you downtown. The staff is amazing- so helpful and welcoming. We got lots of recommendations from the front desk help and shuttle drivers.
The rooms were nice- plenty of room but the beds seemed small... nice vanity area separate from the shower/ toilet, so great for multiple people needing to get ready.
The rooms were very clean- we saw our housekeeper around ALL the time- she was quick to give us extra towels without us even asking!
The cafe area in the lobby has coffee and quick breakfast/ lunch options- perfect if you're on the go! There is also a cool interactive TV in the lobby that gives you information on the surrounding area, as well as news and weather.

Room Tip: Not sure the whole hotel is renovated, so ask for a renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    50
    17
    1
    2
See reviews for
23
18
2
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Every single staff member was impressive at this Courtyard property...kudos! I was really appreciative of the friendliness of all the employees, from front desk to housekeeping and valet-- and everyone who knows me knows I am a stickler for service quality. My room in tower two was comfortable and, as others have mentioned, recently refurbished with great results. Also enjoyed the location- walkable area, easy drive to bigger attractions, and a city bikeshare station is near the hotel. Absolutely no complaints-

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We stayed at this property for two nights, and, overall, are very disappointed. This property does not meet the standard of most Courtyard by Marriott facilities. On the positive side, the rooms have recently been remodeled. And, the front office staff touts the complementary shuttle service.

Unfortunately, the rooms still have many issues. The toilet did not flush properly, the shower ran out of hot water even before I washed my hair, the vanities are super tiny and it is hard to fit basic grooming accessories on the surface. And, of our two rooms, one had a nice big sliding glass door and small balcony and one had a tiny window and no balcony (making for a very dark room). The beds are very, very, very small (we had two rooms with two double beds) and very cot like.

The shuttle is not reliable. Some of us waited over an hour to be picked up and ended up taking a cab. It is very nice that they offer a shuttle. However, it's like a bait and switch routine. They over promise and under deliver. Bottom line, don't count on the shuttle if your really need to get anywhere on a schedule.

In terms of the staff, it's hot and cold. Some were nice, some were very aloof and rude. In particular, the check-in personnel at the front desk were rather unfriendly. During the course of our visit, they warmed up and became more welcoming and friendly.

We all agreed that we would never stay here again.

Room Tip: Don't stay here if your don't have to!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

The room was newly renovated,but alas,the bed quality was poor.
The girl at the front desk acted quite snobbish and lacked a hospitable attitude.
When we returned to our room that night,someone had vomited in front of the door across the hall from us. At 2am housekeeping was knocking on their door repeatedly and woke us up. I didn't think too much of it at the time because I knew the mess needed attended to. But the next morning much of the dried on mess was still there. So what was housekeeping doing at 2am?
We told the same front desk girl the next morning and she did not even apologize. I feel like she gives the good Marriott name a bad rap. I probably won't stay here again just because of her attitude.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSJohnston, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Nashville Vanderbilt/West End, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
First of all, thank you for taking the time to submit a review. Secondly, we pride ourselves on our customer service and it is apparent from your review that you did not receive the level of service we expect from our staff. In order to fully understand all details of the situation would you please contact the General Manager, Jeff Charo, either via the phone at (615) 327-9900 or email at jeff.charo@interstatehotels.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, NJ
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We were attending a medical conference at Vanderbilt and booked into the Courtyard Marriot West End property. As promised the hotel was freshly renovated. Our room had a brand new look and smell to it. Okay, it actually seemed as if someone had dropped a bottle of perfume in the room or had applied way too much room freshener.

But, instead of lip service ,the hotel staff was hospitable and addressed our concerns in a fashion that made it clear they took our concerns seriously - and the young gentleman at the front desk reduced our bill to make up for them. We didn't ask for the bill to be reduced the young gentleman at the desk did it on his own motion "to take the sting out of the unpleasant experience."

We had carried our own bags to the valet desk to retrieve our car and the young gentlemen there insisted on taking our bags (which really weren't that much of a burden) and asked my wife is we were returning home directly or if she wanted them arranged in the trunk of our car in any particular way to make things easier on a stopover.

We will go back to this property. Any hotel staff that tries this hard deserves the chance to make up for something they probably couldn't control anyway. Nashville certainly had its manners on display this weekend.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the elevators - for a better nights sleep. And don't be afraid to speak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tecumseh, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Southern hospitality at it's best. Week long stay was great in every way. We combined our Timbercraft Homes Log & Timber Home show weekend with a family trip and we were very happy with everything. The room was comfortable and the staff was very attentive friendly. Shuttle service into town was very convenient.

Room Tip: Tower One has balconies, ask for a room on an upper floor facing the street for a pretty city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Great location, great weekend, excellent service at the front desk, free shuttle to the downtown legendary bars, restaurants!!!! Rooms were clean and décor was nice. One neat thing, the headboards, which were a built in wall unit, were NOT on a shared wall. Needless to say, I did not have to hear the neighbors. Will definitely stay there again and will recommend to friends. I do have two suggestions: One of the two elevators was not working the entire time we were there, LOONNGG wait at the elevators....they do have a lobby bistro, but I really believe they would get more cocktail business if they more of a bar area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Nashville Vanderbilt/West End? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Nashville Vanderbilt/West End

Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Nashville Vanderbilt/West End Hotel Nashville
Courtyard By Marriott Nashville Vanderbilt/West End Hotel
Courtyard Nashville Vanderbilt
Courtyard Nashville
Nashville Courtyard
Nashville Marriott
Address: 1901 West End Avenue, Nashville, TN 37203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Nashville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Business Hotel in Nashville
#37 Family Hotel in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Nashville Vanderbilt/West End 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly Renovated Rooms/Lobby/Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Marriott, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Travelocity so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Nashville Vanderbilt/West End reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Nashville Vanderbilt/West End, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Nashville Vanderbilt/West End to your Saves list