We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Nashville Downtown

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Nashville Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Nashville Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   170 4th Avenue North, Nashville, TN 37219 (Downtown Nashville)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #37 of 150 hotels in Nashville
GreenLeadersBronze level
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Location, location, location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Just visited Nashville for the CMA Music Festival and stayed at this hotel for 5 nights. It was perfectly situated to enjoy the festival and be able to come back to the room for a break or a shower before heading back out for the nighttime activities. Yes, as others have stated the rooms are dated but everything was clean and I had the best water pressure I have ever had in a hotel (an important feature). And every person we encountered on staff was fabulous - friendly, helpful, and warm. Our room charge was part of our travel package so I can't speak to price but I would recommend this hotel based on the great staff and fabulous location.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    148
    155
    67
    17
    12
See reviews for
60
142
17
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

My husband and I have stayed at Courtyards before and weren't disappointed in this one. We stayed for 3 nights in May 2014. The location is great, near the honky-tonk of Broadway and Printers' Alley, and walking distance to the Ryman Auditorium and Museums. The Visitors' Center is 2 blocks away; stop in for maps and info. Our room was a "king whirlpool" and actually had a whirlpool bath in the bedroom! A little weird; the space could be better used for a small seating area. But the room was comfortable and clean. Instead of having breakfast in the Bistro, we went across the street to Dunn's Coffee. Thee valet parking is pricey (we could have found something cheaper), but convenient. The lobby and bar area is spacious and inviting. We definitely would stay here again.

Room Tip: When booking, ask the price difference between a "king" and "king whirlpool". I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We are Marriott Platinum and thought this Marriott Courtyard had a great location, but felt the rooms didn't quite match the high price. We initially were given a very oddly laid out long room and asked the front desk to be moved to another one. The nice lady at the front desk explained that the hotel was built inside what was one of the oldest banks in Nashville and all the rooms are very different because they were renovated offices. Our second room was definitely an improvement, but the furnishings seemed very worn out - especially the couch. Everything was very clean, though, and we enjoyed the 5 minute walk to the action on Broadway. Be sure to park in one of the self-parking lots to save yourself from having to use their super expensive valet.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danni W, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Nashville Downtown, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Thank you so very much for your recent comment regarding your stay.THis building was built in 1904 and you are correct in that most of our rooms are in different shapes and sizes.This presents an unique and different stay. I am happy to announce we will be receiving a guest rooms rennovation in December and we will have a fresh new rooms product next year. I hope you will return and experience not only the great city of Nashville , a newly remodel guest room!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Stayed in a king room, a little on the small side, but clean with a work desk and single seater armchair. Good sized bathroom. The bed and pillows were comfortable. The valets were excellent, friendly and welcoming. Hotel is in a good location with about a 5 min walk to Broadway. Printers Alley is just around the corner from the hotel. The breakfast, included in the rate, was a breakfast sandwich and coffee. The sandwich was unappealing and didn’t taste great. We went elsewhere for breakfast the next morning. At the time we stayed, unbeknown to us until arrival, Taylor Swift was in town. We didn’t have a lot of accommodation options available. The hotel rate was exorbitant and certainly not great value for what we paid for 2 nights. I certainly wouldn’t stay here again at those rates. Half the price and I might consider it, without breakfast included.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danni W, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Nashville Downtown, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Thank you so much for your recent stay in our great city of Nashville.Our hotel strives to meet the needs of each and every customer. I hope we will have a chance to host you again in the future. With all of the wonderful events in the city, the hotel offers competitive room rates during high demand seasons.I am happy to announce we will undergo a rooms renovation in December of this year. I look foward to a great new rooms product in 2015.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piscataway, New Jersey
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

My wife and I stayed at this hotel from May 12-16, 2014.The service provided by the hotel staff on our arrival was exceptional.Vale'ts Matt and Austin who we met on our arrival did their best to ensure our experience at the CourtYard Marriott was unforgettable.We rated the service they provided from the time we arrived to the time we left a 10+. The hotel should be proud to have Matt and Austin working as Valet's and the first ones customers see when they arrive!

Ron and Arlene
Rm307

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Great hotel! Comfortable beds, clean rooms and great service! When I was checking in I was served with courstesy and smile. Valet was very helpful. Bar service exceed my expectations. Food was fresh and tasty.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronkonkoma, NY
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

The hotel was conviently located, spotless, and the staff was very friendly and professional.
The room was spacious, lots of room for two women, the beds were sooooooo comfortable, and the linens were fantastic.
The morning buffet was FABULOUS! The omlet station was great and there was nothing lacking for breakfast. There was something for everyone and plenty of it.
Highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: NON Smoking was strickly inforced
See more room tips
Green Features: GREAT for the environment lots of recycle bins, water conservation, and lots of bars to hang wet, but clean towels. The pool was salt water and kept spotless. The exercise room was spotless. People were cleaning all the time and the public restrooms was always clean.
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Nashville Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Nashville Downtown

Address: 170 4th Avenue North, Nashville, TN 37219
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Nashville > Downtown Nashville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Nashville
#24 Romantic Hotel in Nashville
#30 Family Hotel in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Nashville Downtown 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique among hotels in downtown Nashville, TN, the Courtyard Nashville Downtown is a stunning, century-old high-rise set in the heart of the city. Our hotel features a new state-of-the-art lobby with flexible spaces to work or relax, free Wi-Fi As a top choice among Nashville hotels, the Courtyard Nashville Downtown is walking distance from all entertainment, major businesses, music and sports venues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Marriott, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Nashville Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Nashville Downtown Hotel Nashville
Courtyard Nashville Downtown
Nashville Marriott
Nashville Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Nashville Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.