We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Nashville Downtown

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Nashville Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Nashville Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   170 4th Avenue North, Nashville, TN 37219 (Downtown Nashville)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #36 of 150 Hotels in Nashville
GreenLeadersBronze level
Wauwatosa, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

We stopped in Nahville on our way back from Florida. This is a nice Courtyard in an old bank. Great Location. We went to the Ryman theater for a concert, which is a great venue, an old church with church pews for seats. Lots of restaurants and live music surrounding. Nashville is a cool vibrant city.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    160
    68
    17
    12
See reviews for
62
146
17
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Burbank, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

Second time staying here! Some nice updates. Close to the action and great restaurants. Best of all you can safely walk to all the action day and night. Have to check out Pucketts for breakfast. Its worth the wait? The weather was great. The company was awesome. Can't wait til I can come back again to this great city. Music and great food make any trip better. I also got my grits fix! Love Nashville

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Arrived at 2:30pm and the valet was ready to receive us. They unloaded our luggage and took it up to our room for us. Our room was spacious and clean. We had an obstructed view toward Printer's Alley, but that was fine because there wasn't any street noise. Everyone that worked there was friendly and helpful with restaurant recommendations. The hotel is within one block of the Ryman Auditorium and two blocks of the main drag, Broadway. I will most definitely stay here when I return to Nashville.

Green Features: Changed sheets every 3 nights, hang towels if you wanted to re-use
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern, North Carolina
Top Contributor
196 reviews 196 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

This hotel is in a ten story former art deco bank building and the first floor displays the style of that era. The Bistro café (bar and simple food) is in a 2 1/2 story atrium with nice art deco touches retained in the ceiling and walls. Even the elevator doors show the style. Our king bed room on the 8th floor was quite large and comfortable, though the furnishings did not match the style of the lobby. It was near the elevator, but as another reviewer said, there was no noise issue.
The prices are not cheap and you pay for parking, valet or on you own, but the best thing about the hotel, for us, was its location at 4th St. and Church. We were attending the NCAA Women's Final Four Tournament and the Bridgestone Arena where it was held was only a three block walk. On the way we crossed Broadway, which features rows of clubs and cafes showcasing country and rock music - a very lively area. Just down the street from that is the interestingly designed Country Music Hall of Fame. The tickets prices are a bit steep ($22 per adult), so if you are not really into that music and its stars you still might enjoy just strolling down the adjoining arcade which features the famous Hatch Print Shop and great displays of Country Western wear.

Room Tip: A king room gives you good size and a higher floor might give you a nice corner view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, TN
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

I like to say something good...so here goes. Location:walking distance to principle downtown attractions, Parking Valet: efficient and friendly. Beyond that it's not so good. We had a second floor room on the street side and dealt with noise all night long...not only from the street but late night revelers. The problem in my mind is virtually no sound proofing in the rooms as we could hear voices in all directions, and frankly hotel staff didn't seem to care very much. Never to return!

Room Tip: Try to get high and away from the elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rimgr, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Nashville Downtown, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Hello guests from Cleveland TN,

We are sorry that the stay was disappointing and the activity in the hotel and city was disturbing.

It is true that we are a very active hotel and downtown area. Most guests are choosing us to be so near Music City's signature activity. We apologize if this was an inconvenience during your visit. It appears you were here for the Women's final four and that was a particularly active weekend and week.

As a registered historic building with repurposed guestrooms, we do offer special and very interesting character in each room. As former Offices, each guest room is a different layout and design. Many guests find this to be a pleasant change from the typical Courtyard experience. Some rooms are smaller and others are larger. If there is a special need, our staff is very willing to serve and adjust the assignment..

Safe travels to everyone!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Elizabeth, Maine
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

My wife and I recently stayed at this hotel and were delighted with the location! We were in Nashville for the first week in April to see the sights and attend music shows at the Ryman and the Symphony. Both were just blocks down the street from our hotel - couldn't have been more convenient! A little grocery store was across the street, as well as a delightful restaurant featuring live music. Our room was on the 7th floor and across from the elevator, and to our surprise, was really quiet. Business area made for quiet streets, and we were able to easily walk down two blocks to the honky tonks on Broadway. The staff was courteous and very professional. We would absolutely recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Nashville, particularly if you want an easy walk to all the museums and music venues. Will definitely stay here if we return to Nashville!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

I was there for two nights and enjoyed my experience!

Advantages: It's hard to beat the location of this hotel; it's so close to everything. They have a mini-store with some canned foods, snack, water, beer, etc. in case need something late in the evening or just don't feel like leaving the hotel. FYI, there is also a fridge in the room. There is a recycling can in the room so you can place paper, glass, plastic, etc. all in one bin or don't have to lug it to the lobby. I love the architecture! It was an old bank from the early 20th century and it has so much character. Other perks: free Wi-Fi, a hair dryer in the closet (I couldn't find it at first) and an iron and ironing board also in the closet.

Disadvantages: I don't know if it was just for the particular weekend that I stayed, but there was a two-night minimum. In an ideal situation, I would have only stayed Saturday night. I don't know if it's like that all the time or not. You pay for location and the price reflects this. These rooms aren't cheap, especially if there is a two-night minimum stay. Parking is also over $20 a day. Yikes!

Overall, I had a good experience here and the bellhops and workers at the front desk couldn't have been any more friendly. I would stay here again, even if it is a bit pricey.

Green Features: I did like the single-stream recycling can in the room :)
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Nashville Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Nashville Downtown

Address: 170 4th Avenue North, Nashville, TN 37219
Location: United States > Tennessee > Nashville > Downtown Nashville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Nashville
#26 Romantic Hotel in Nashville
#28 Family Hotel in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Nashville Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique among hotels in downtown Nashville, TN, the Courtyard Nashville Downtown is a stunning, century-old high-rise set in the heart of the city. Our hotel features a new state-of-the-art lobby with flexible spaces to work or relax, free Wi-Fi As a top choice among Nashville hotels, the Courtyard Nashville Downtown is walking distance from all entertainment, major businesses, music and sports venues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Nashville Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Nashville Downtown Hotel Nashville
Courtyard Nashville Downtown
Nashville Marriott
Nashville Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Nashville Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.