We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Style and Convenience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Nashville Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Nashville Downtown to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Nashville Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   170 4th Avenue North, Nashville, TN 37219 (Downtown Nashville)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #40 of 151 Hotels in Nashville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
New Bern, North Carolina
Top Contributor
204 reviews 204 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“Style and Convenience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

This hotel is in a ten story former art deco bank building and the first floor displays the style of that era. The Bistro café (bar and simple food) is in a 2 1/2 story atrium with nice art deco touches retained in the ceiling and walls. Even the elevator doors show the style. Our king bed room on the 8th floor was quite large and comfortable, though the furnishings did not match the style of the lobby. It was near the elevator, but as another reviewer said, there was no noise issue.
The prices are not cheap and you pay for parking, valet or on you own, but the best thing about the hotel, for us, was its location at 4th St. and Church. We were attending the NCAA Women's Final Four Tournament and the Bridgestone Arena where it was held was only a three block walk. On the way we crossed Broadway, which features rows of clubs and cafes showcasing country and rock music - a very lively area. Just down the street from that is the interestingly designed Country Music Hall of Fame. The tickets prices are a bit steep ($22 per adult), so if you are not really into that music and its stars you still might enjoy just strolling down the adjoining arcade which features the famous Hatch Print Shop and great displays of Country Western wear.

Room Tip: A king room gives you good size and a higher floor might give you a nice corner view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    183
    77
    21
    15
See reviews for
72
168
21
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, TN
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

I like to say something good...so here goes. Location:walking distance to principle downtown attractions, Parking Valet: efficient and friendly. Beyond that it's not so good. We had a second floor room on the street side and dealt with noise all night long...not only from the street but late night revelers. The problem in my mind is virtually no sound proofing in the rooms as we could hear voices in all directions, and frankly hotel staff didn't seem to care very much. Never to return!

Room Tip: Try to get high and away from the elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rimgr, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Nashville Downtown, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Hello guests from Cleveland TN,

We are sorry that the stay was disappointing and the activity in the hotel and city was disturbing.

It is true that we are a very active hotel and downtown area. Most guests are choosing us to be so near Music City's signature activity. We apologize if this was an inconvenience during your visit. It appears you were here for the Women's final four and that was a particularly active weekend and week.

As a registered historic building with repurposed guestrooms, we do offer special and very interesting character in each room. As former Offices, each guest room is a different layout and design. Many guests find this to be a pleasant change from the typical Courtyard experience. Some rooms are smaller and others are larger. If there is a special need, our staff is very willing to serve and adjust the assignment..

Safe travels to everyone!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Elizabeth, Maine
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

My wife and I recently stayed at this hotel and were delighted with the location! We were in Nashville for the first week in April to see the sights and attend music shows at the Ryman and the Symphony. Both were just blocks down the street from our hotel - couldn't have been more convenient! A little grocery store was across the street, as well as a delightful restaurant featuring live music. Our room was on the 7th floor and across from the elevator, and to our surprise, was really quiet. Business area made for quiet streets, and we were able to easily walk down two blocks to the honky tonks on Broadway. The staff was courteous and very professional. We would absolutely recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Nashville, particularly if you want an easy walk to all the museums and music venues. Will definitely stay here if we return to Nashville!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

I was there for two nights and enjoyed my experience!

Advantages: It's hard to beat the location of this hotel; it's so close to everything. They have a mini-store with some canned foods, snack, water, beer, etc. in case need something late in the evening or just don't feel like leaving the hotel. FYI, there is also a fridge in the room. There is a recycling can in the room so you can place paper, glass, plastic, etc. all in one bin or don't have to lug it to the lobby. I love the architecture! It was an old bank from the early 20th century and it has so much character. Other perks: free Wi-Fi, a hair dryer in the closet (I couldn't find it at first) and an iron and ironing board also in the closet.

Disadvantages: I don't know if it was just for the particular weekend that I stayed, but there was a two-night minimum. In an ideal situation, I would have only stayed Saturday night. I don't know if it's like that all the time or not. You pay for location and the price reflects this. These rooms aren't cheap, especially if there is a two-night minimum stay. Parking is also over $20 a day. Yikes!

Overall, I had a good experience here and the bellhops and workers at the front desk couldn't have been any more friendly. I would stay here again, even if it is a bit pricey.

Green Features: I did like the single-stream recycling can in the room :)
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, UK
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Stayed here first few days of a week tour, it was one of four hotels we stayed in, the most expensive and have got to say least impressive
Good location yes, but after that can't really praise anything everything else was just average, and considering the price we paid I'm amazed
Staff .... well yeah they were ok, nothing bad, nothing exceptional
Room ...... again nothing bad, nothing good, just ok

In summary if you want to pay a lot of money to stay in an average hotel, this is the place

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rimgr, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Nashville Downtown, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Friends and visitors from the UK,

Thank you for staying with us on your tour and choosing our hotel. I am sorry that you were somewhat disappointed with the stay and value after departing. It appears you stayed during one of our recent special events, quite possibly the Women's final four week. Nashville is an incredibly poplular US city to visit and this has increased hotel occupancy and room rates. A special event adds to that demand.

I promise you and all tripadvisor readers that we are very considerate in our pricing and we are priced lower than most hotels in our immediate area. We are committed to providing exceptional service in a carefully maintained hotel with wonderful historic charm and character.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

My friends and I stayed at this hotel for a weekend bachelorette party getaway. The location was within close walking distance of downtown, bars, restaurants, etc. There was also a liquor store and a grocery store right next door to the hotel.

The service at the hotel was great! We had 16 people in our group, all of which were arriving at different times. The front desk was able to organize check in very efficiently, and assign rooms according to our plan. They even delivered water bottles to our room upon request (usually you have to go down to the front desk and buy them there).

The rooms were clean, not super modern, but they were fine for us. The lobby was updated very nicely, and the bellhops were especially helpful in transporting all of our luggage, getting us taxis, and recommending a location for brunch within walking distance (417 union).

I think the nightly rate was pretty steep for a Courtyard, and especially one that did not have updated rooms, but I think that is because of the great location.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rimgr, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Nashville Downtown, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Carlinin,

Thank you for your feedback and glowing comments! We are delighted that you chose to stay with us and your experience was so memorable.

Thank you for sharing your comments about our staff and the assistance they offered to you and your group.

We hope to see you during your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nomad
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Considering how hectic the town is, a corner room on an upper floor makes all the difference in the world! Fantastically clean, thoughtfully laid out - very spacious - definitely worth the serenity. Friday night beer spillage in the elevator wasn't a highlight, but that could have happened at any hotel in the area; at least it was only beer.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Nashville Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Nashville Downtown

Address: 170 4th Avenue North, Nashville, TN 37219
Location: United States > Tennessee > Nashville > Downtown Nashville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Nashville
#28 Romantic Hotel in Nashville
#36 Family Hotel in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Nashville Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique among hotels in downtown Nashville, TN, the Courtyard Nashville Downtown is a stunning, century-old high-rise set in the heart of the city. Our hotel features a new state-of-the-art lobby with flexible spaces to work or relax, free Wi-Fi As a top choice among Nashville hotels, the Courtyard Nashville Downtown is walking distance from all entertainment, major businesses, music and sports venues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Marriott, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Nashville Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Nashville Downtown Hotel Nashville
Courtyard Nashville Downtown
Nashville Marriott
Nashville Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Nashville Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.