We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOCATION AND STAFF OVERCOME DECOR ISSUES” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Nashville Downtown

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Nashville Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Nashville Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   170 4th Avenue North, Nashville, TN 37219 (Downtown Nashville)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #32 of 150 hotels in Nashville
GreenLeadersBronze level
Chicago
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“LOCATION AND STAFF OVERCOME DECOR ISSUES”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Very personable front desk greeting in this most hospitable of cities with excellent central location near Ryman Auditorium and other attractions. Curiously, on this early November Saturday evening, the streets were nearly rolled-up, with a curious lack of pedestrian activity and restaurants in the area. A former mid-twenties bank shows in its carved stone exterior THIRD NATIONAL BANK, and retention of two elaborately decorated gates leading to one-time main banking hall, now a convention breakout space and part of the lobby. Guest rooms are generously sized and well equipped but need updating of the once obligatory Marriott red furnishings, now faded and dated, to more modern decor. However, carpeting is of a high quality and may have ben replaced within past few years. Contrary to other TA opinions, the price can be advantageous if booked when no major conventions are in town, and free parking is available nearby on the street at night and on weekends. Easy walk to Ryman Auditorium, the reputed "mother church of coutry music" and the always satisfying Grand Ole Opry. Other music attractions easily reached on foot. A well-maintained and welcoming property in Music City USA.

Room Tip: Don't expect views so be content with a quiet location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    142
    146
    65
    15
    11
See reviews for
56
135
16
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

I have now stayed at this hotel both times while visiting Nashville. It is in prime location as it is only 2 blocks from the main strip. It is a very nice hotel with very good rooms and a nice bar/cafe downstairs. I will be sure to book this hotel again when I visit Nashville!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Top Contributor
215 reviews 215 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

For real! This one is top notch. The staff were all so friendly and helpful! From check in to valet to directions to late night food ordering they helped every way they could! Plus you cannot beat the location! An easy walk to all the bars, the Ryman, great restaurants, and museums. When my daughter moves here, this is where I will be staying!

Room Tip: We were in 1103, not that great of a view. Ask if they have a room facing Broadway. Or the Ryman.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rimgr, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Nashville Downtown, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Thank you so much for such glowing and honest feedback. We have a terrific team of people and we thank their families who raised them with love and values. They represent our hotel and Nashville very well. We look forward to seeing you during the next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Great location, helpful and friendly staff and excellent bar and breakfast. We stayed here as an overnight location during a long road trip and even had time to visit the Johnny Cash museum and walk around the area. The location cannot be beat. We plan to make a longer visit to Nashville based at this Courtyard.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rimgr, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Nashville Downtown, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear visitors from Brooklyn,
Thank you for your feedback and we are delighted that you enjoyed your brief layover at our hotel and in our terrific city. The Johnny Cash Museum is a new attraction and a must-see for Music fans. We look forward to a longer visit with us in the future. All the best in 2014!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

We usually stay in lower-priced hotels, but we wanted to be in the downtown area of Nashville and all of the hotels are pricey...

This hotel is convenient for visiting the downtown area or for going to a NFL Titans game across the river. It is a few blocks from all of the honky-tonks on Broadway and 2nd Avenue and the Ryman Auditorium (where we watched the Grand Ole' Opry where they perform every Christmas season). Even if you don't particularly like country music, I strongly suggest everyone goes to a Grand Ole' Opry performance if they can! Each performer gets to sing 2 songs (so if you don't like a performer, they aren't there too long!) and it is fun to see the old-timers and hear a song or two from the past. Plus, they never seem to forget that the audience is the important factor....they let you take all the photos you want, you can bring a drink or food (which they sell) into the auditorium. I've been to the Grand Ole' Opry 5-6 times and it is always a fun time!

To attend the NFL Titans game, it is an easy walk a few blocks to the Woodland Street Bridge, cross the bridge (which they close off and dedicate to game attendees) and go to LP Field.

The hotel: the free wi-fi was fast and stable, however, the digital HD TV channel signal kept going "out" where the TV would freeze with those annoying pixels and the sound gets "choppy". There was a coffee pot and small frig but no microwave. The bed and pillows were very comfortable. They have a nice lounge area downstairs with a small bar open sometimes, but not really much food to offer. They had a little "store" area selling a few items which was handy...we ended up buying a soda and a bottle of Nashville beer to sit in the lounge area (which has little TV screens at each 'couch' area to watch). For breakfast, we'd walk across the street to have coffee and pastry at the Dunn Bros Coffee shop.

The Marriott doesn't have parking available (except valet for 24$). We decided to park in one of the adjourning parking garages available & just leave our car parked for the entire weekend (the rates start new again once you leave the garage). From Friday evening to Monday morning, our parking fee was a total of $42.

The only downside (other than the higher price) was that we were on the 8th floor facing Printer's Alley and I could hear party revelers all night long once we went to bed and turned off our own TV. It wasn't really too loud/bad, but I was surprised to hear them all the way on the 8th floor.

I have no problem recommending this hotel to anyone for a short or long stay. It was quite nice and great to be able to walk downtown so easily from our hotel.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Ga.
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

Hotel was located in great place, easy walking distance to everything. Staff was friendly and room was clean and comfortable. Parking was a little pricy but worth it. Parking is hard to find downtown and they kept your car in a secure place. Easy to get if you needed it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rimgr, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Nashville Downtown, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience and reminding our readers that our location is terrific. Our hotel and valet teams are very informed and delighted to serve our guests! Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Marriott in Nashville over the Thanksgiving holiday. You really can't beat the location. You can pretty much walk to all the main attractions such as the Ryman, Country Music Hall of Fame, all the famous bars and restaurants, and Printers Alley.

Upon check in, we realized my husband had inadvertently booked a queen size bed rather than a king. They kindly upgraded us to a suite with a king bed at no extra charge. The room decor could use an update, but the room itself was very clean and spacious! The lobby and restaurant are beautiful especially as they already had it decorated for the holidays.

If we ever get a chance to visit Nashville again, we would absolutely stay here.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Nashville Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Nashville Downtown

Address: 170 4th Avenue North, Nashville, TN 37219
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Nashville > Downtown Nashville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Nashville
#25 Romantic Hotel in Nashville
#44 Business Hotel in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Nashville Downtown 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique among hotels in downtown Nashville, TN, the Courtyard Nashville Downtown is a stunning, century-old high-rise set in the heart of the city. Our hotel features a new state-of-the-art lobby with flexible spaces to work or relax, free Wi-Fi As a top choice among Nashville hotels, the Courtyard Nashville Downtown is walking distance from all entertainment, major businesses, music and sports venues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Marriott, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Nashville Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Nashville Downtown Hotel Nashville
Courtyard Nashville Downtown
Nashville Marriott
Nashville Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Nashville Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.