We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Loacation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Nashville Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Nashville Downtown to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Nashville Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   170 4th Avenue North, Nashville, TN 37219 (Downtown Nashville)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #43 of 149 Hotels in Nashville
GreenLeadersBronze level
Ohio
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great Loacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

There are lots of choices downtown but this location is grand to reach most everything.
The hotel has the feel that it was a grand property before with the Marriott touch and certainly is not the typical Courtyard experience.

The hotel and settings are on a grand scale and parking is not a problem if you are driving.
Not a better place to rest your bones.

whatmorecanyousay

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    172
    74
    21
    15
See reviews for
67
159
21
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Peoria, Illinois
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

The room I stayed in was like staying in the Bat Cave. The lighting was so poor that I had to go out into the hall and do my make up in front of the mirror by the elevator. There is no reason why a room should be that dark. For the price of the room, there is no reason why the hotel can't invest in brighter light bulbs.

The room itself was nothing special, but it was clean. I thought that the double beds seemed awfully small, but they were comfortable. There was plenty of hot water in the shower, but the water pressure was bad.

On a positive note, the location of the hotel is ideal. Everything we wanted to do was well within walking distance. The staff at the hotel was very nice. They made you feel welcome. I also liked the free computers in the lobby.

I am on the fence about staying there again. I did like the location and the staff, but the poor lighting will certainly play a factor in my decision. I like to be able to get ready in a room, not a hallway.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rimgr, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Nashville Downtown, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Satchel 21,

Thank you for the feedback and for choosing our hotel. We are sorry that some aspects of the room were a disappointment. As a historic building all rooms have different natural lighting and layouts. We are sorry that it became an inconvenience. We do offer the highest wattage energy efficient lighting for each fixture.

Our rooms are not laid out in a traditional sense becuase of the former offices that we have converted. Most guests share that this lends to character and a unique experience.

We thank you for highlighting the service and the location that we offer.

Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulf Breeze, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The Courtyard was located in the heart of Downtown Nashville. We were able to walk to so many places! The service and rooms were great. The valet guys were always very helpful with directions and recommendations of places to go. We had a king suite and it was very clean, comfortable, and spacious. Next time I visit Nashville I will be sure to stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgefield, Connecticut
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed here while visiting our niece who is at Belmont University. It's a great location - only a 2 block walk to Broadway/bars/restaurants and a short drive from most attractions. Rooms are nice, quiet, clean and comfortable. Staff was friendly. The hotel has valet service which is a little expensive but very convenient (just make sure to give them a call ahead if you're in a hurry!). Decent bar for a nightcap, but so many good bars nearby you may not need it!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winona, Mississippi, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Dont let the online pictures fool you into making reservations for this hotel. They dont even have full size pillows. It would take 3 or 4 pillows to make a regular size pillow. When we called and asked for real pillows, they said thats all they had. The hotel is old, rooms SMALL, bad decor, dirty, small bathrooms, sink inside bedroom instead of bathroom, bed old and uncomfortable and central air horrible. I could list several more cons. This is the ONLY hotel I paid $250 for and checked out after an hour of learning they couldn't accommodate any minor requests. Also, the views are horrible. The value of staying in this hotel should be one of those $25-$50 hotels tops.

Room Tip: Go to Loews Vanderbilt. Its worth the expense. Dont pay no more than $50 for a room at the Courtyard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rimgr, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Nashville Downtown, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Lois E.,

We are so sorry that you were disappointed with your brief stay and value at our location. We recall the issues and the requests that you made. This weekend was very busy with two SEC games almost back to back in Nashville.

To the tripadvisor travelers - we thought we made every attempt to accommodate them including allowing a departure prior to the original date without any additional charges. We try to highlight to all inquiring guests that we are a registered historic building. Some rooms are not as large as other hotels but we are told that our location and historic charm more than compensate for it.

Our photographs posted are current and are from our rooms and our public spaces.

Lois E, We are sorry that our hotel was not a match for you but would ask the tripadvisor followers to read the many contrasting reviews including one that arrived the same day as this review.

Happy travels everyone,

Dennis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tellico Plains, Tennessee
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed two nights while in Nashville for a wok conference. Very clean rooms and very comfortable. Front desk was very nice and helpful when I locked my key in my room. Valet parking was great, and each time offered help and directions. Walking distance to tons of restaurants! Great stay!

Green Features: There were "green" options for lotsa different areas.
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rimgr, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Nashville Downtown, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and rreceived terrific service from various members of our team. Thanks for noticing he service even when in need of a new key!
We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you in a future visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

It's not the best hotel you will ever stay in. However the customer service was great, nothing was an issue. Location Location just a short walk to 2nd Ave and likewise to Broadway.... Awesome!!! would easily recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Nashville Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Nashville Downtown

Address: 170 4th Avenue North, Nashville, TN 37219
Location: United States > Tennessee > Nashville > Downtown Nashville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Nashville
#25 Romantic Hotel in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Nashville Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique among hotels in downtown Nashville, TN, the Courtyard Nashville Downtown is a stunning, century-old high-rise set in the heart of the city. Our hotel features a new state-of-the-art lobby with flexible spaces to work or relax, free Wi-Fi As a top choice among Nashville hotels, the Courtyard Nashville Downtown is walking distance from all entertainment, major businesses, music and sports venues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Nashville Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Nashville Downtown Hotel Nashville
Courtyard Nashville Downtown
Nashville Marriott
Nashville Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Nashville Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.