We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Nashville Downtown

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Nashville Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Nashville Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   170 4th Avenue North, Nashville, TN 37219 (Downtown Nashville)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #31 of 150 hotels in Nashville
GreenLeadersBronze level
Gulf Breeze, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Location, Location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The Courtyard was located in the heart of Downtown Nashville. We were able to walk to so many places! The service and rooms were great. The valet guys were always very helpful with directions and recommendations of places to go. We had a king suite and it was very clean, comfortable, and spacious. Next time I visit Nashville I will be sure to stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    142
    147
    65
    15
    11
See reviews for
56
136
16
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ridgefield, Connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed here while visiting our niece who is at Belmont University. It's a great location - only a 2 block walk to Broadway/bars/restaurants and a short drive from most attractions. Rooms are nice, quiet, clean and comfortable. Staff was friendly. The hotel has valet service which is a little expensive but very convenient (just make sure to give them a call ahead if you're in a hurry!). Decent bar for a nightcap, but so many good bars nearby you may not need it!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winona, Mississippi, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Dont let the online pictures fool you into making reservations for this hotel. They dont even have full size pillows. It would take 3 or 4 pillows to make a regular size pillow. When we called and asked for real pillows, they said thats all they had. The hotel is old, rooms SMALL, bad decor, dirty, small bathrooms, sink inside bedroom instead of bathroom, bed old and uncomfortable and central air horrible. I could list several more cons. This is the ONLY hotel I paid $250 for and checked out after an hour of learning they couldn't accommodate any minor requests. Also, the views are horrible. The value of staying in this hotel should be one of those $25-$50 hotels tops.

Room Tip: Go to Loews Vanderbilt. Its worth the expense. Dont pay no more than $50 for a room at the Courtyard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rimgr, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Nashville Downtown, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Lois E.,

We are so sorry that you were disappointed with your brief stay and value at our location. We recall the issues and the requests that you made. This weekend was very busy with two SEC games almost back to back in Nashville.

To the tripadvisor travelers - we thought we made every attempt to accommodate them including allowing a departure prior to the original date without any additional charges. We try to highlight to all inquiring guests that we are a registered historic building. Some rooms are not as large as other hotels but we are told that our location and historic charm more than compensate for it.

Our photographs posted are current and are from our rooms and our public spaces.

Lois E, We are sorry that our hotel was not a match for you but would ask the tripadvisor followers to read the many contrasting reviews including one that arrived the same day as this review.

Happy travels everyone,

Dennis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tellico Plains, Tennessee
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed two nights while in Nashville for a wok conference. Very clean rooms and very comfortable. Front desk was very nice and helpful when I locked my key in my room. Valet parking was great, and each time offered help and directions. Walking distance to tons of restaurants! Great stay!

Green Features: There were "green" options for lotsa different areas.
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rimgr, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Nashville Downtown, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and rreceived terrific service from various members of our team. Thanks for noticing he service even when in need of a new key!
We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you in a future visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

It's not the best hotel you will ever stay in. However the customer service was great, nothing was an issue. Location Location just a short walk to 2nd Ave and likewise to Broadway.... Awesome!!! would easily recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenfield, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

This is the best downtown location. Everything a tourist could want in downtown is a few blocks away. The staf is very friendly & helpful. The room is clean, modern & includes free wifi. It even has a nice loveseat & coffee table so you don't always have to sit on the bed! The valet parking staff gives great directions. The Bistro restaurant is fast & efficient in the morning.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Counce, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

My wife and I attended a concert in the Bridgestone Arena on a Saturday night in Nashville, Tn. The downtown area was very busy as usual. It was great to have a valet park your car at the door and escape to the great room at this hotel. Check in was a snap and the room was comfy and spacious. We could walk to the concert which was only three blocks from the hotel. We will stay here again. Oh yeah, check out was even easier!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Nashville Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Nashville Downtown

Address: 170 4th Avenue North, Nashville, TN 37219
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Nashville > Downtown Nashville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Nashville
#24 Romantic Hotel in Nashville
#44 Business Hotel in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Nashville Downtown 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique among hotels in downtown Nashville, TN, the Courtyard Nashville Downtown is a stunning, century-old high-rise set in the heart of the city. Our hotel features a new state-of-the-art lobby with flexible spaces to work or relax, free Wi-Fi As a top choice among Nashville hotels, the Courtyard Nashville Downtown is walking distance from all entertainment, major businesses, music and sports venues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Nashville Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Nashville Downtown Hotel Nashville
Courtyard Nashville Downtown
Nashville Marriott
Nashville Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Nashville Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.